• logo linkedin
  • logo email
BANCO PICHINCHA
In Ecuador, Proparco has subscribed to a green bond issue by the bank “Banco Pichincha” to support the financing of projects that improve the energy efficiency of its clients. The project should help Ecuador achieve its objectives for a low-carbon path set out in the Paris Agreement.
Client presentation

The bank “Banco Pichincha” is Ecuador’s leading bank. It has been a client of Proparco since 2012. It is a universal bank and the leader on the microfinance market. It is a private bank, the majority shareholder being Fidel Egas Grijalva, which holds over 90% of the capital.  

Project description

The project involves Proparco’s subscription to a “green” bond issued by Banco Pichincha. The financing will go towards projects that improve the energy efficiency of its clients. The project should help Ecuador achieve its objectives for a low-carbon path set out in the Paris Agreement.

The issue is listed on the Quito Stock Exchange and has a 5-year maturity. It is structured for a maximum amount of USD 250m. Tranche A (USD 150m), which was issued on 20/12/2019, was subscribed to by Proparco with USD 50m (including a 50% AFD subparticipation), alongside IFC (USD 50m), IDB and IDB Invest (USD 25m each).

Project impact

Two-thirds of the green bond issue by Banco Pichincha should go towards financing new projects, mainly in the renewable energies, energy efficiency and water saving sectors. 

While the projects could have major impacts in terms of reducing the carbon footprint of SMEs and effects on the indirect jobs of these companies, it will only be possible to accurately estimate them when the portfolio has been put together. The eligibility criteria for underlying projects have been defined collectively by the 4 investors and BP. Furthermore, each project financed by the bank will be assessed by an independent expert who will confirm that the operation complies with the Green Bond Principles. 

Impacts are also expected in terms of effects on the private sector through training on the health, safety and environmental aspects which BP offers to some of its clients.

12/12/2019
Date of signature of the project
Ecuador
Location
Financing tool
47 376 168 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 50m loan
Financing details
BANCO PICHINCHA
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
BANCO PICHINCHA
En Equateur, Proparco a souscrit à une obligation « verte » ( Green bonds) émise par la banque "Banco Pichincha" pour soutenir le financement de projets qui améliorent l’efficacité énergétique de ses clients. Le projet devrait aider l’Equateur à atteindre ses objectifs de trajectoire bas-carbone inscrits dans l’Accord de Paris.
Présentation du client

La banque "Banco Pichincha" est la première banque équatorienne. Elle est cliente de Proparco depuis 2012. C'est une banque universelle qui est leader sur le marché de la Microfinance. La banque est privée, l’actionnaire majoritaire est Fidel Egas Grijalva qui possède plus de 90% du capital.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en la souscription par proparco à une obligation « verte » émise par Banco Pichincha. Le financement est destiné à des projets améliorant l’efficacité énergétique de ses clients. Le projet devrait contribuer à ce que  l’Equateur atteigne ses objectifs de trajectoire bas-carbone inscrits dans l’Accord de Paris.

L’émission, cotée à la bourse de Quito est d’une maturité de 5 ans, elle est structurée pour un montant maximal de 250 MUSD. La tranche A (150 MUSD), émise le 20/12/2019 a été souscrite par Proparco à hauteur de 50 MUSD (dont 50% en sous participation AFD) aux côtés de IFC (50 MUSD), IDB et IDB Invest (25 MUSD chacun).

Impact du projet

Deux tiers de l’émission de Green Bonds par Banco Pichincha devrait être dédiée au financement de nouveaux projets, principalement dans les secteurs des énergies renouvelables, de l’efficacité énergétique et de l’économie d’eau. 

Si les impacts des projets pourraient être importants en termes de réduction de l’empreinte carbone des PMEs et d’effets sur les emplois indirects dans ces entreprises, ils ne pourront être estimés précisément qu’après constitution du portefeuille de projets. Les critères d’éligibilité des projets sous-jacents ont été définis collectivement par les 4 investisseurs et BP. Par ailleurs, chaque projet financé par la banque fera l’objet d’une évaluation par un expert indépendant qui validera que l’opération est conforme aux Green Bond Principles. 

Des impacts sont également attendus en termes d'effets sur le secteur privé via les formations sur les aspects santé, sécurité et environnement que propose la banque BP à certains de ses clients. 

12/12/2019
Date de signature du projet
Equateur
Localisation
Outils de financement
47 376 168 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 50 MUSD
Details du financement
BANCO PICHINCHA
Client
CES