Proparco is supporting higher education in Africa

Uganda Senegal Zambia Multi-country Africa
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Etudiant diplômé
African Education Holdings (AEH) is set to acquire other universities thanks to a EUR 6.3m equity investment by Proparco. The objective is to increase the capacity and help these universities strengthen their education provision.
Client presentation

AEH was set up in 2014 at the initiative of the manager Emerging Capital Partners and holds three universities in Zambia (CUZ), Uganda (CUU) and Senegal (IAM), with a total of over 6,000 students. With strong growth in demand for higher education, AEH aims to offer training that matches career opportunities (accounting, information technology, medicine, law…) and make it widely available via distance learning.

Project description

The project aims to allow other universities to be acquired, not only to increase their capacity by refurbishing campuses or building new ones, but also to help these universities strengthen their education provision and implement the highest management and governance standards.

Project impact

By supporting the growth of universities in Sub-Saharan African, the project will have significant impacts on the development of higher education, a driver of growth and economic and social development. This project meets a need for quality education in the target countries, which are marked by strongly growing demand and a public service which may not have a sufficient intake capacity. The training given is geared towards the employability of students and focuses on the qualifications sought by the market (e.g. information technology). In addition, the tariffs charged by the group are aligned with market prices and are affordable for the middle classes. Scholarship programs will also allow students from low-income families to access the education services offered by AEH.

30/07/2019
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Uganda Senegal Zambia Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
6 300 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 7m Equity investment
Financing details
African Education Holdings
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Etudiant diplômé
Proparco, via une prise de participation de 6.3 millions d'euros dans African Education Holdings (AEH), permet l’acquisition d'autres universités afin d'augmenter les capacités d’accueil et accompagne ces universités dans le renforcement de leur offre éducative.
Présentation du client

Créée en 2014 à l’initiative du gestionnaire Emerging Capital Partners, AEH consolide trois universités en Zambie (CUZ), Ouganda (CUU) et Sénégal (IAM) qui comptent au total plus de 6 000 étudiants. Dans un contexte de forte croissance de la demande en éducation supérieure, AEH vise à offrir des formations en lien avec les débouchés professionels (comptabilité, informatique, médecine, droit...) et à les rendre accessible au plus grand nombre via de l'enseignement à distance. 

Description du projet

Le projet vise à permettre l’acquisition d'autres universités afin non seulement d'en augmenter les capacités d’accueil en rénovant ou construisant de nouveaux campus, mais également d'accompagner ces universités dans le renforcement de leur offre éducative et la mise-en-place des meilleurs standards de gestion et de gouvernance.

Impact du projet

En soutenant la croissance d’universités en Afrique sub-saharienne, le projet aura des effets significatifs sur le développement de l’éducation supérieure, élément moteur de la croissance et du développement économique et social. Ce projet répond à un besoin d'éducation de qualité dans les pays cibles, marqués par une demande en forte croissance et un service public qui peut être en sous-capacité d'accueil. La formation apportée est tournée vers l'employabilité des élèves et met en avant des qualifications recherchées par le marché (e.g. informatique) et les tarifs pratiqués par le groupe sont alignés avec les prix du marché et sont accessibles à la classe moyenne. Des programmes de bourses permettront également à des étudiants issus de familles à bas revenus d'accéder aux services éducatifs proposés par AEH.

30/07/2019
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Ouganda Sénégal Zambie Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
6 300 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 7 MUSD
Details du financement
African Education Holdings
Client
CES