• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is providing a loan to support the growth of T&C Garments by financing a doubling of its production capacity. It is also helping the Group launch two green initiatives: to improve water filtration combined with the installation of a wastewater recycling system, and install solar panels on the roofs of two of the factory’s buildings.
Client presentation

T&C Garments is one of the leading jeans manufacturers in Egypt. It is specialized in high-quality products that are mainly exported to the USA for major international brands, including the leading brand Levi’s, its longstanding partner. Despite launching its activities during the Arab Spring, T&C has managed to grow steadily and in 8 years has become Egypt’s 5th largest exporter of garments to the USA, with 7 million jeans produced in 2019.

Project description

The project involves supporting the growth of T&C Garments by financing a doubling of the factory’s production capacity through the acquisition of machines and equipment with the highest standards. It will also help the Group launch two green initiatives: to improve water filtration combined with the installation of a wastewater recycling system, and install solar panels on the roofs of two of the factory’s buildings.

Project impact

In addition to supporting growth in Egypt’s textile industry, we estimate that the project will:

  • Support some 6,000 jobs from now until 2023, including some 2,000 jobs created by the increased production capacity and 4,000 jobs maintained;
  • Contribute to preserving the country’s water resources, as the project will recycle 90% of the site’s wastewater;
  • Increase local green energy generation, with 30% of the electricity consumed by the factory generated from solar energy.  
22/05/2020
Date of signature of the project
Egypt
Location
Financing tool
18 021 265 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 20m loan
Financing details
T & C Garments S.A.E.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Via un prêt, Proparco accompagne la croissance de T&C Garments en finançant le doublement des capacités de production et en soutenant le Groupe dans le lancement de deux initiatives vertes : l’amélioration de la filtration des eaux couplée à la mise en place d’un système de recyclage des eaux usées et l’installation de panneaux solaires sur les toits des deux bâtiments de l’usine.
Présentation du client

T&C Garments est l’un des premiers producteurs de jeans d’Egypte, spécialisé sur des produits de haute qualité exportés principalement aux Etats-Unis pour le compte de grandes marques internationales dont notamment la marque leader Levi’s, son partenaire historique. Malgré un lancement des activités pendant le printemps arabe, T&C a réussi à croître régulièrement pour devenir en huit ans le 5ème exportateur vers les Etats-Unis de vêtements en Egypte avec sept millions de jeans produits en 2019.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste à accompagner la croissance de T&C Garments en finançant le doublement des capacités de production de l’usine par l’acquisition de machines et équipements aux meilleurs standards et en soutenant le Groupe dans le lancement de deux initiatives vertes : l’amélioration de la filtration des eaux couplée à la mise en place d’un système de recyclage des eaux usées et l’installation de panneaux solaires sur les toits des deux bâtiments de l’usine.

Impact du projet

Au delà du soutien de la croissance du secteur textile égyptien, nous estimons que le projet devrait permettre :

  • Le soutien d'environ 6 000 emplois d'ici 2023, dont environ 2 000 emplois créés dans le cadre de l’expansion des capacités de production et 4 000 emplois maintenus ;
  • La contribution à la préservation des ressources en eau du pays, puisque le projet permettra le recyclage de 90% des eaux usées du site ;
  • L'augmentation de la production d’énergie verte locale, avec 30% de l’électricité consommée par l’usine qui sera générée via de l’énergie solaire.
22/05/2020
Date de signature du projet
Egypte
Localisation
Outils de financement
18 021 265 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 20 MUSD
Details du financement
T & C Garments S.A.E.
Client
CES