• logo linkedin
  • logo email
SER SAN ANTONIO
NSEL is a regional model for sustainable and responsible sugar production. PROPARCO’s support to NSEL is contributing to the development of high-quality local production and to supporting employment. The project also includes a cogeneration unit to produce clean energy for both the company and the national grid.
Client presentation

Nicaragua Sugar Estates Limited (NSEL, also sometimes known as SER San Antonio) was set up in Nicaragua in 1890 and is the leading sugar player in the country. It produces and distributes sugar and other related products, such as molasses and energy.

Project description

Long-term debt from PROPARCO to finance investments in sugarcane plantations and the refinery and refinance current short-term debt in order to improve the company's balance sheet, by better matching the maturities of its assets and liabilities.

Project impact

PROPARCO's support to NSEL is contributing to the development of value chains for high-quality local production.

NSEL has become a regional model for sustainable development in sugar production. It was the first Nicaraguan company to receive the “Bonsucro” label for its refinery, which allows it to produce the quality required to meet the needs of certain clients in agribusiness and the pharmaceutical sector. It also received the Fair Trade label in 2017.

Sugar is one of the main sources of employment in Nicaragua. The project is expected to create or maintain over 4,500 direct or indirect jobs, in particular thanks to NSEL’s partnership with independent producers and small growers.

Finally, NSEL is actively involved in a number of activities which benefit the community. For example, the project includes a cogeneration unit with an installed capacity of 79.3 MW, generating 234 GWh of electricity, only 40% of which is used for self-consumption. 60% of energy production therefore returns to the grid, allowing the community to benefit from it.  

The project thereby contributes to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals “Decent Work and Economic Growth” and “Responsible Consumption and Production”.

03/05/2018
Date of signature of the project
Nicaragua
Location
Financing tool
15 410 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 18.20m
Financing details
Nicaragua Sugar Estates Limited S. A.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
SER SAN ANTONIO
NSEL est un modèle régional de production sucrière durable et responsable. Le soutien de Proparco à NSEL contribue à développer une production locale de qualité et à soutenir l'emploi. Le projet inclut également une unité de cogénération permettant de produire une énergie propre pour l'entreprise mais aussi pour le réseau national.
Présentation du client

Premier acteur du pays dans le secteur du sucre, la société Nicaragua Sugar Estates Limited (NSEL, parfois appelée également SER San Antonio) a été fondée en 1890 au Nicaragua. Elle produit et distribue du sucre mais aussi d’autres produits qui lui sont liés, comme des mélasses ou de l’énergie. 

Description du projet

Prêt à long terme de Proparco pour financer l’investissement dans les plantations de canne à sucre et dans les sucreries  et pour refinancer la dette à court terme existante, afin d’améliorer le bilan de la société en faisant mieux correspondre les maturités de ses actifs et de ses passifs.

 

Impact du projet

Le soutien de Proparco à NSEL contribue à développer des chaines de valeurs de production locale de qualité.

NSEL est devenue un modèle régional en matière de développement durable dans la production sucrière. Elle a été la première entreprise nicaraguayenne à recevoir le label « Bonsucro » pour sa raffinerie, ce qui lui permet de produire la qualité nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins de certains clients de l'agroindustrie et du secteur pharmaceutique. Elle a également reçu le label Fair Trade en 2017.

Le sucre est l'un des principaux pourvoyeurs d'emplois au Nicaragua. Le projet devrait permettre de créer ou maintenir plus de 4 500 emplois directs et indirects, notamment grâce à la collaboration de NSEL avec des producteurs indépendants et des petits planteurs.

Enfin, NSEL est très impliquée dans un certain nombre
d'actions bénéficiant à la communauté. Par exemple, le projet inclut une unité de cogénération de 79,3 MW installée, produisant 234 GWh d'électricité dont seulement 40% sont utilisés pour l'autoconsommation. 60% de la production d'énergie retourne donc dans le réseau, permettant à la communauté d'en bénéficier.

Le projet contribue ainsi à la réalisation des objectifs de développement durable "Travail décent et croissance économique" et "Consommation et production responsables".

03/05/2018
Date de signature du projet
Nicaragua
Localisation
Outils de financement
15 410 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 18,20 MUSD
Details du financement
Nicaragua Sugar Estates Limited S. A.
Client
CES