• logo linkedin
  • logo email
The loan allocated to Sonibank, the country’s leading commercial bank, will allow it to develop its range of medium and long-term financing for SMEs and create new products to meet their specific needs. This financing underscores PROPARCO’s commitment to support the private sector in fragile countries.
Client presentation

SONIBANK is the leading bank in Niger in terms of the size of its balance sheet. It mainly works with private enterprises (SMEs, individual companies, large corporates). The bank has been experiencing growth since 2013 and wants to strengthen its presence in the territory and expand in the region (opening of a branch in Cotonou and plan to set up in Lomé).

Project description

It is Proparco’s first loan to the banking sector in Niger. 
This EUR 10m loan will allow SONIBANK to extend the maturity of its resources in order to meet the medium and long-term credit demand of its clients and thereby support the country’s SMEs and SMIs. 

This financing demonstrates Proparco’s commitment to support the private sector in developing countries, and in particular fragile countries, with the aim of earmarking EUR 1bn for them between 2017 and 2020.
It also demonstrates AFD Group’s strong ambition to scale up its support to African small and medium-sized enterprises, which materialized in March 2019 with the launch of the French Choose Africa initiative to speed up the growth of start-ups, microenterprises and SMEs in Africa.

Project impact

Proparco’s operation should directly support the banking sector in Niger and indirectly the country’s SMEs/SMIs. It aims to assist a key player in Niger’s economy in the expansion of its activities and will therefore make a significant contribution to financing Niger’s private sector.

This operation is fully in line with PROPARCO’s strategy for operations:

  • one of the rare opportunities to operate in the banking sector in Niger, one of the world’s least developed countries (187/188 in the HDI ranking of UNDP) and one of the least industrialized countries in West Africa.
  • a high level of subsidiarity, in a local context where bank loans have maturities that are too short.
27/03/2019
Date of signature of the project
Niger
Location
Financing tool
10 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 10m loan
Financing details
SOCIETE NIGERIENNE DE BANQUE
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Le prêt accordé à Sonibank, première banque commerciale du pays, lui permettra de développer son offre de financement à moyen et long terme auprès des PME et de créer de nouveaux produits pour répondre à leurs besoins spécifiques. Ce financement confirme l’engagement de Proparco de soutenir le secteur privé dans les pays fragiles.
Présentation du client

SONIBANK est la première banque nigérienne en termes de taille de bilan. Elle travaille principalement avec des entreprises privées (PME, entreprises individuelles, grandes entreprises). En croissance depuis 2013, la banque souhaite conforter sa présence sur le territoire et s’étendre dans la région (ouverture d’une succursale à Cotonou en cours et projet d’implantation à Lomé).

Description du projet

Ce prêt, d’un montant de 10 MEUR, permettra à SONIBANK d’allonger la maturité de ses ressources pour pouvoir faire face à la demande de crédit à moyen long terme de ses clients et ainsi de soutenir les PME et PMI du pays. 

Ce financement témoigne de l’engagement de Proparco à soutenir le secteur privé dans les pays en voie de développement, et notamment dans les pays fragiles avec pour objectif d’y consacrer 1 milliard d’euros entre 2017 et 2020.
Il témoigne également de l’ambition forte du Groupe AFD d’accentuer son soutien aux petites et moyennes entreprises  africaines concrétisée en mars 2019 par le lancement de l’initiative française Choose Africa pour accélérer la croissance des Start up, TPE et PME en Afrique.
 

Impact du projet

L’intervention de Proparco devrait permettre de soutenir directement le secteur bancaire nigérien et indirectement les PME/PMIs du pays. Elle vise à accompagner un acteur clef de l’économie nigérienne dans l’expansion de ses activités et contribuerait donc significativement au financement du secteur privé nigérien.

Cette opération s’inscrit bien dans la stratégie d’intervention de Proparco :

  • l’une des rares opportunités d’intervenir dans le secteur bancaire du Niger, l'un des pays les moins développés du monde (187/188 sur le classement IDH du PNUD) et les moins industrialisés d’Afrique de l’Ouest.
  • une forte subsidiarité, dans un contexte local où les prêts bancaires présentent des maturités trop courtes.
27/03/2019
Date de signature du projet
Niger
Localisation
Outils de financement
10 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 10 MEUR
Details du financement
SOCIETE NIGERIENNE DE BANQUE
Client
CES