• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Champs;cueillette;Femmes;Travailleuse;sri lanka
PROPARCO is providing technical assistance to a program including 18 Sri Lankan financial institutions. This initiative is promoting and operationalizing the good practices to be applied for sustainable bank financing and improving their environmental and social risk management.
Client presentation

Amana Bank, Bank of Ceylon, Cargills Bank, Commercial Bank of Ceylon, DFCC Bank, Habib Bank, Hatton National Bank, MCB Bank, National Development Bank, Nations Trust Bank, Pan Asia Bank, Peoples Bank, Regional Development Bank, Sampath Bank, Sanasa Development Bank, Seylan Bank, Sri Lanka Savings Bank and Union Bank

    Project description

    In 2015, the Sri Lanka Banks’ Association (SLBA) developed and signed the “11 Sustainable  Banking Principles for Sri Lanka”.
    In this context, PROPARCO and its German, Austrian and Dutch counterparts, DEG, OeEB and FMO, in partnership with SLBA, launched a joint initiative in order to operationalize these principles and strengthen the capacities of financial institutions (FIs) on environmental and social (E&S) subjects. The aim is to:

    • Raise the awareness of the teams of FIs and train them in the E&S issues and risks, as well as in their management,
    • Train a network of consultants to allow FIs to have access to a network of skills and contacts with local E&S experts,
    • Create dynamics on these subjects within the community of FIs in Sri Lanka. 
    Project impact

    The project will contribute to improving environmental and social (E&S) practices in financial institutions (FIs), in line with international standards. It will also build the capacities of the staff of FIs thanks to the training given to credit analysts, risk analysts, managers and E&S analysts, i.e. some 80 people, as well as the training of a network of local experts. Thanks to the catalytic role of the E&S good practices of FIs in Sri Lanka’s economic base, the project will also contribute to improving the local economy.

    21/06/2017
    Date of signature of the project
    Financing tool
    71 589 Euros
    Amount of funding
    EUR 71,589 of technical assistance
    Financing details
    18 Sri Lankan financial institutions
    Client

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Champs;cueillette;Femmes;Travailleuse;sri lanka
Proparco accompagne techniquement un programme intégrant 18 institutions financières sri lankaises. Cette initiative permet de promouvoir et d'opérationnaliser les bonnes pratiques à appliquer en matière de financement bancaire durable et d'améliorer leur gestion des risques environnementaux et sociaux.
Présentation du client

18 institutions financières : Amana Bank, Bank of Ceylon, Cargills Bank, Commercial Bank of Ceylon, DFCC Bank, Habib Bank, Hatton National Bank, MCB Bank, National Development Bank, Nations Trust Bank, Pan Asia Bank, Peoples Bank, Regional Development Bank, Sampath Bank, Sanasa Development Bank, Seylan Bank, Sri Lanka Savings Bank et Union Bank

Description du projet

En 2015, l’Association des Banques Sri Lankaises (SLBA) a élaboré et signé les « 11 Sustainable  Banking Principles for Sri Lanka ». 
Dans ce contexte Proparco et ses homologues allemands, autrichiens et hollandais, DEG, OeEB, FMO, en partenariat avec la SLBA ont lancé une initiative conjointe  afin d’opérationnaliser ces principes et de renforcer les capacités des institutions financières (IFs) sur les sujets environnementaux et sociaux (E&S) dans le but de :

  • sensibiliser et former les équipes des IFs aux enjeux et risques E&S ainsi qu’à leur gestion,
  • former un réseau de consultants pour permettre aux IFs d’avoir accès un réseau de compétences et de contacts avec des experts E&S locaux,
  • créer une dynamique sur ces sujets au sein de la communauté des IFs au Sri Lanka. 
Impact du projet

Le projet permettra de contribuer à l'amélioration des pratiques environnementales et sociales (E&S) au sein des institutions financières (IFs),  en conformité avec les standards internationaux. Il permettra également de renforcer les capacités du personnel des IFs grâce à des formations délivrées aux analystes crédits, analystes risques, managers et analystes E&S  soit environ 80 personnes, ainsi qu'à la formation d'un réseau d'expert locaux.  Grâce au rôle de catalyseur de bonnes pratiques E&S des IFs dans le tissu économique sri lankais, le projet permettra également de contribuer à l’amélioration de l’économie locale. 

21/06/2017
Date de signature du projet
Outils de financement
71 589 Euros
Montant du financement
Accompagnement technique de 71 589 EUR
Details du financement
18 institutions financières sri lankaises membres de l’Association des Banques Sri Lankaises (SLBA)
Client