• logo linkedin
  • logo email
chantier, homme, Brésil
The Brazilian group RIMA is one of the leaders in the production of silicon, which is mainly used to manufacture solar panels. With this loan, PROPARCO is helping the company increase its production capacity and install filters to reduce air emissions.
Client presentation

RIMA, a Brazilian family-run group, was set up in 1974 and employs some 3,650 people. It has developed in the metal industry via an integrated model on the value chain. The company mainly manufactures silicon, which is used in industries such as the production of photovoltaic panels, for which there is strong growth in global demand. 
RIMA is also a major player in Brazil’s production of magnesium, alloys and automotive parts for the local market.  


RIMA stands out for its integrated production process, which has lower emissions than most market players, thanks to its own production of charcoal made from its FSC certified eucalyptus plantations and its consumption of hydropower-generated electricity. 

Project description

The project involves financing the increase in RIMA’s silicon production capacity, which is mainly to be used for the manufacturing of photovoltaic panels, thanks to a new kiln and the installation of equipment to improve its environmental performance (installation of dust filters in order to reduce air emissions). 

Project impact

PROPARCO’s operation will support a key player for the socioeconomic development of the disadvantaged region of Minas Gerais. The project will contribute an average of EUR 34.8m a year to public revenues and an average of EUR 33.7m a year to Brazil’s GDP (via salaries paid and profits generated). 

It will also support a player with an integrated production model with lower emissions than its peers and will contribute to improving the environmental and social standards of a group which is sensitive to these issues (use of FSC charcoal as a fuel for the kilns, which reduces emissions in the production process, and no use of coking coal, for example). 

Finally, the project will have societal effects: RIMA is financing a number of projects that benefit communities via its foundation, such as the construction and maintenance of medical centers, support to local schools via financing and the provision of equipment and rainwater harvesting.

20/08/2018
Date of signature of the project
Brazil
Location
Financing tool
38 445 109 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 45m
Financing details
RIMA INDUSTRIAL S.A.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
chantier, homme, Brésil
Le groupe brésilien RIMA est l’un des leaders dans la production de silicium, utilisé majoritairement dans la fabrication de panneaux solaires. Avec ce prêt, Proparco accomagne l'entreprise dans l'augmentation de ses capacités de production et dans la mise en place de filtres destinés à réduire les émissions atmosphériques.
Présentation du client

Créé en 1974 et employant environ 3 650 personnes, RIMA est un groupe familial brésilien qui s’est développé dans l’industrie métallurgique à travers un modèle intégré sur la chaîne de valeur. L'entreprise produit principalement du silicium, utilisé dans des industries telles que la production de panneaux photovoltaïques, dont la demande mondiale est en forte croissance.
RIMA est également un acteur majeur de la production brésilienne de magnésium, d’alliages et de pièces automobiles à destination du marché local. 

RIMA se différencie notamment par son processus de production intégré moins émissif que la plupart des acteurs du marché, grâce à sa propre production de charbon de bois à partir de ses plantations d’eucalyptus certifiées FSC et par sa consommation d’électricité d’origine hydraulique.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste à financer l'augmentation des capacités de production de silicium de RIMA, destinées majoritairement à la fabrication de panneaux photovoltaïques, grâce à un nouveau fourneau et la mise en place d'équipements d’amélioration de sa performance environnementale  (installation de filtres à poussières sur des fourneaux afin de limiter les émissions atmosphériques).

Impact du projet

L'intervention de Proparco permettra de soutenir un acteur clé pour le développement socio-économique de la région défavorisée du Minas Gerais. Le projet contribuera aux recettes publiques à hauteur de 34.8 MEUR en moyenne par an et au PIB brésilien à hauteur de 33.7 MEUR en moyenne par an (via les salaires versés et les profits générés). 

Il permettra également de soutenir un acteur ayant un modèle de production intégré moins émissif que ses pairs et de contribuer à l’amélioration des standards environnementaux et sociaux d’un groupe sensible à ces problématiques (utilisation de charbon de bois FSC comme combustible des fourneaux rendant le processus de production moins émissif et non de charbon coke notamment). 

Enfin le projet aura des effets sociétaux : via sa fondation, RIMA finance de nombreux projets bénéficiant aux communautés, notamment la construction et la maintenance de centres de soins médicaux, le soutien via des financements et la fourniture d'équipements aux écoles locales, ou encore la récupération d'eau de pluie.

20/08/2018
Date de signature du projet
Brésil
Localisation
Outils de financement
38 445 109 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 45 MUSD
Details du financement
RIMA INDUSTRIAL S.A.
Client
CES