• logo linkedin
  • logo email
RAMCO PLEXUS, homme, machine
Ramco is the leader in the packaging and printing sectors in East Africa. PROPARCO’s support will contribute to developing high-quality local production, supporting employment and improving the competitiveness of regional markets.
Client presentation

Ramco Plexus, a consortium of 10 companies based in Nairobi (9) and Kampala (1), is the leader in the sectors of packaging (plastic, cardboard, polystyrene...) and printing (ink, engraving, flexo, digital) in East Africa. The company employs some 1,200 people.

Project description

PROPARCO’s long-term loan will finance the upgrading of certain production lines, the group’s external growth strategy and needs for day-to-day operations.
As the group currently mainly has access to short-term financing, the refinancing of the existing debt will improve the company’s balance sheet by better aligning the maturities of its assets and liabilities.

Project impact

The project, which targets manufacturing and industrial development in Kenya, will have positive impacts on the market and production structures by supplying high-quality and reliable products and services tailored to client companies.

The company is also developing more environmentally friendly products, such as the production of paper bags (following the ban on plastic bags) and the production of cardboard pallets, which are better alternatives to existing products.

This financing should allow Ramco to hire 300 additional employees over the next 5 years. Ramco indirectly helps create and maintain jobs in its thousands of client companies.

PROPARCO will be playing an advisory role in this operation by helping Ramco improve the environmental and social risks related to its activity.

27/08/2018
Date of signature of the project
Kenya
Location
Financing tool
12 815 036 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 15m loan
Financing details
Polythene Industries Ltd / RAMCO PRINTING WORKS LTD / RAMCO PLEXUS / PRESSMASTER AFRICA LTD
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
RAMCO PLEXUS, homme, machine
Ramco est le leader dans les secteurs de l'emballage et de l'imprimerie en Afrique de l'Est. Le soutien de Proparco contribuera à développer une production locale de qualité, à soutenir l'emploi et à améliorer la compétitivité des marchés régionaux.
Présentation du client

Ramco Plexus est un groupement de 10 entreprises basées à Nairobi (9) et Kampala (1), leader dans les secteurs de l'emballage (plastique, carton, polystyrène…) et de  l'imprimerie (encre, gravure, flexo, digital…) en Afrique de l'Est. L'entreprise emploie près de 1 200 personnes. 

Description du projet

Le prêt à long terme de Proparco permettra de financer la modernisation de certaines lignes de production, la stratégie de croissance externe du groupe et les besoins pour les activités courantes.  
Le groupe ayant pour le moment principalement accès à des financement à court terme, le refinancement de la dette existante permettra d’améliorer le bilan de la société en faisant mieux correspondre les maturités de ses actifs et de ses passifs.

Impact du projet

Le projet, qui vise au développement manufacturier et industriel du Kenya, aura des effets positifs sur le marché et les structures de production grâce à la fourniture de produits et de services de qualité, fiables et adaptés aux entreprises clientes.

La société développe aussi des produits plus respectueux de l'environnement, tels que la production de sacs en papier (suite à l'interdiction des sacs en plastiques) et la production de palettes en carton qui sont de meilleurs alternatives aux produits existants.

Ce financement devrait permettre à Ramco d'embaucher 300 employés supplémentaires dans les 5 prochaines années. Ramco soutient également de manière indirecte la création et le maintien des employés de ses milliers d’entreprises clientes.

Proparco jouera un rôle de conseil sur cette opération en accompagnant Ramco dans l’amélioration des risques environnementaux et sociaux associés à son activité.

27/08/2018
Date de signature du projet
Kenya
Localisation
Outils de financement
12 815 036 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 15 MUSD
Details du financement
Polythene Industries Ltd / RAMCO PRINTING WORKS LTD / RAMCO PLEXUS / PRESSMASTER AFRICA LTD
Client
CES