• logo linkedin
  • logo email
homme, panneaus solaires, Bangladesh
OBL is one of the leading banks for financing SMEs in Bangladesh and aims to become one of the country’s leading green banks. By supporting OBL, PROPARCO is contributing to developing the local economic base and renewable energy projects.
Client presentation

ONE Bank Limited (“OBL”) was set up in May 1999 and is a medium-sized private commercial bank, with total assets of USD 2,61bn at the end of September 2017, some 2,030 employees and 90 branches. 
OBL is classified as a “third generation” bank (private commercial banks established between 1999 and 2001, characterized by a medium to large balance sheet and relatively moderate trade finance operations). In Bangladesh, it is a well-performing tier II bank experiencing strong growth. It is listed on the Dhaka and Chittagong Stock Exchanges with a market capitalization of USD 241m (at 4 October 2017). Based on solid fundamentals, OBL’s management forecasts continuing growth in the coming years. 
 
OBL was initially established as a corporate bank (76% of the loan portfolio) and has also developed its SME activity, by focusing on the manufacturing sector and small industries. In OBL’s loan portfolio, SMEs accounted for 13.5% of the total according to the definition of the Central Bank of Bangladesh and 43% according to IFC and FMO criteria. For the industrial sector as a whole, the bank’s activity focuses on textiles and garments, which account for 22% of its loan portfolio. This reflects the dominant share in the country’s exports of this sector, which is the main economic driving force for Bangladesh. 
 

Project description

The USD 25m of financing will be earmarked for its SME loan portfolio (by IFC definitions), green finance (including renewable energy projects) and general loans. The funds will mainly be deployed through the bank’s Offshore Banking Unit (OBU).  

The green finance aims to reduce the carbon footprint and improve the environmental impact in various sectors. The financing could be used to finance OBL’s pipeline of projects, in line with its ambition to become one of the leading “green banks” in Bangladesh. 
So far, the projects financed by OBL have concerned solar energy and biogas, wastewater treatment plants, renewable energy projects and real estate investments in buildings benefiting from the environmental label LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design).  

The objective is to support OBL’s long-term lending activity in US dollars for its clients whose revenues are denominated in USD, for green finance and renewable energy projects, as well as for SMEs and the general lending activity.
 

Project impact

“Green” projects account for 3% the bank’s loan portfolio and are expected to increase from USD 17m in 2015 to over USD 75m in 2019. OBL has set up a specific Sustainable Finance Unit dedicated to green banking and marketing green products. Thanks to PROPARCO’s loan, OBL will be able to further invest in these green projects. It is estimated that PROPARCO will contribute to financing approximately 5 renewable energy and energy efficiency (REn/EE) projects in the country. This project will thereby contribute to:
- Supplying clean and reliable energy to the population and
- Reducing energy consumption and CO2 emissions by increasing financing for projects related to renewable energies and energy efficiency. 

As OBL is one of the leading SME banks, the project will also support economic development by increasing access to financing for SMEs. In Bangladesh, SMEs are a major engine for growth and are essential for the creation of jobs and revenues. These medium-sized companies increasingly need financing in USD (mainly for long-term investments in machinery and capital goods for USD-generating activities). It is still difficult to meet this need in Bangladesh. Thanks to PROPARCO’s loan, OBL will be able to scale up its action for SMEs and offer longer maturities to its clients. The banks plans to substantially increase its SME financing to USD 450m by 2021. These SMEs mainly operate in the manufacturing and industry sectors. 
In addition, OBL supports women’s entrepreneurship, in particular via a new product currently being launched, which focuses on financing SMEs set up and led by women (with a current portfolio of USD 10m).
 
Finally, the project will have positive impacts on the economy by creating or maintaining direct and indirect jobs. OBL currently employs 2,030 people and is planning to increase its headcount to 2,350 employees over the next 5 years. Approximately 20% of the bank’s employees are women. The majority of staff have access to training on behavioral issues and related to their functions. In addition, PROPARCO’s financing earmarked for green projects is expected to contribute to maintaining or creating 8,400 indirect jobs over the next 5 years at the beneficiary clients of green finance. 
 

11/04/2018
Date of signature of the project
Bangladesh
Location
Financing tool
20 336 777 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 25m
Financing details
One Bank Limited
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
homme, panneaus solaires, Bangladesh
OBL est l'une des principales banques finançant les PME au Bangladesh et ambitionne de devenir l'une des premières banques vertes du pays. En soutenant OBL, Proparco contribue à développer le tissu économique local et des projets d'énergie renouvelable.
Présentation du client

Fondée en mai 1999, ONE Bank Limited (« OBL ») est une banque commerciale privée de taille moyenne, dont le total de bilan s’élevait à 2,61 milliards  de dollars à fin septembre 2017, pour environ 2 030 salariés et 90 succursales. 
Classée dans la catégorie des banques dites de « troisième génération » (banques commerciales privées établies entre 1999 et 2001, caractérisées par une taille de bilan moyenne ou significative et par des opérations relativement modestes en financement du négoce), OBL est au Bangladesh une banque de « niveau 2 » (Tier 2), dont les performances sont bonnes et qui connaît une croissance solide. Elle est cotée en bourse à Dhaka et à Chittagong, avec une capitalisation boursière de 241 millions de dollars (au 4 octobre 2017 ). Sur la base de fondamentaux solides, les dirigeants d’OBL prévoient une poursuite de sa croissance dans les années à venir. 

Créé à l’origine comme une banque corporate de service aux entreprises (76% du portefeuille de crédits), OBL a également développé son activité auprès des PME, en mettant notamment l’accent sur le secteur manufacturier et la petite industrie. Dans le portefeuille de crédits d’OBL, les PME représentaient 13,5% du total selon la définition de la Banque centrale du Bangladesh, et 43% selon les critères IFC et FMO . Pour le secteur industriel dans son ensemble, l’activité de la banque se concentre sur le textile et la confection, qui représentent 22% de son portefeuille de crédits. Cela reflète la part dominante dans les exportations du pays de ce secteur,  principal moteur économique du Bangladesh. 

Description du projet

Le financement de 25 millions de dollars sera destiné à son portefeuille de crédit aux PME (selon les définitions de l’IFC), de financements verts (notamment pour des projets d’énergie renouvelable), ainsi que de prêts d’ordre général. Le déploiement des fonds se fera principalement au travers de l’unité « OBU » (Offshore Banking Unit) de la banque.

Les financements verts visent à la réduction de l’empreinte carbone et à l’amélioration de l’impact environnemental dans différents secteurs. Les financements pourront servir à financer la réserve de projets en attente dont dispose OBL, conformément à son ambition de devenir l’une des principales « banques vertes » du Bangladesh. 
Jusqu’ici, les projets financés par OBL ont concerné notamment l’énergie solaire et les biogaz, des stations d’épuration, des projets d’énergie renouvelable et des investissements immobiliers dans des bâtiments bénéficiant du label environnemental LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design).

L’objectif est de soutenir l’activité de prêts à long terme en dollars d’OBL auprès de ses clients dont les revenus sont libellés en dollars, pour des financements verts et des projets d’énergie renouvelable, ainsi qu’auprès des PME et pour l’activité générale de crédit. 

Impact du projet

Les projets dits « verts » représentent 3% du portefeuille de prêts de la banque et devraient continuer de progresser, pour passer de 17 millions de dollars en 2015 à plus de 75 millions de dollars en 2019.  OBL a mis en place une unité spécifique dite « Sustainable Finance », consacrée au green banking et à la commercialisation de produits verts. Grâce au prêt de PROPARCO, OBL pourra poursuivre son investissement dans ces projets verts. On estime que PROPARCO contribuera au financement d’environ 5 projets d’énergies renouvelables et efficacité énergétique (ER/EE) dans le pays. Ce projet contribuera ainsi à :

  • fournir une énergie propre et fiable à la population et à
  • limiter la consommation énergétique et les émissions de CO2 en augmentant le financement de projets liés aux énergies renouvelables et à l’efficacité énergétique. 

OBL étant l’une des principales banques pour les PME, le projet permettra également d’accompagner le développement économique en améliorant l’accès des PME au financement. Au Bangladesh, les PME sont un important vecteur de croissance, et sont essentielles à la création d’emplois et de revenus. Ces entreprises de taille moyenne ont de plus en plus besoin de financements en dollars (principalement en vue d’investissements à long terme dans des machines et des biens d’équipement, pour des activités générant des revenus en dollars). Ce besoin reste difficile à satisfaire au Bangladesh. Grâce au prêt de PROPARCO, OBL pourra renforcer son action auprès des PME et proposer des maturités plus longues à ses clients. La banque prévoit d’augmenter de façon significative son financement aux PME, pour atteindre 450 millions de dollars à l’horizon 2021. Ces PME sont majoritairement actives dans les secteurs manufacturiers et industriels. 
En outre, OBL apporte son soutien à l’entreprenariat féminin, notamment au travers d’un nouveau produit en cours de lancement, qui se concentre sur le financement des PME créées et dirigées par des femmes (avec un portefeuille de 10 millions de dollars actuellement). 

Enfin, le projet aura des répercussions favorables sur l’économie, par la création ou le maintien d’emplois directs et indirects. OBL emploie actuellement 2 030  personnes et prévoit d’augmenter ses effectifs pour atteindre 2 350 salariés d’ici 5 ans. Parmi les salariés de la banque, 20% environ sont des femmes. La majorité des salariés ont accès à des formations , à la fois sur des sujets comportementaux et liés à leurs fonctions. En outre, les financements de PROPARCO consacrés aux projets verts devraient contribuer sur 5 ans au maintien ou à la création de 8 400 emplois indirects chez les clients bénéficiaires des financements verts. 

11/04/2018
Date de signature du projet
Bangladesh
Localisation
Outils de financement
20 336 777 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 25 MUSD
Details du financement
One Bank Limited
Client
CES