Equity investment in MPEF IV: Supporting SME development in the Maghreb region and Egypt

Multi-country Global Algeria Egypt Morocco Tunisia
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
primary school, enfants, tunisie
The MPEF IV fund supports SMEs operating in sectors such as education or health in North Africa and encourages them to develop regionally.
Client presentation

MPEF IV is a venture capital/buyout fund in North Africa raised by the manager AfricInvest, a pioneering player in the region. Building on its experience in Africa, and particularly in the Maghreb region where it has raised 12 of its 17 investment vehicles, the team now wants to pursue the strategy of the previous MPEF III fund by opening its geographical scope to Egypt.

Project description

This equity investment will aim to support the economic base of small and medium-sized enterprises by getting them to go regional and develop trade links with border economic zones (Sub-Saharan Africa and Europe). This investment will more specifically:

  • Support the emergence and growth of SMEs in focus sectors for AFD Group, such as education or health, in geographical areas in North Africa where companies find it difficult to access long-term financing;
  • Encourage a manager whose investment strategy will contribute to the creation of multi-country groups, which play a key role in the development of regional economic zones and cross-border trade;
  • Strengthen the institutionalization of companies in the portfolio with governance and E&S best practices.
Project impact

This project will contribute to:

  • The development of the private sector and SMEs in the Maghreb region and Egypt, in a wide range of sectors such as agribusiness, logistics and transport, education and health. The manager is actively involved in the management and governance of companies, by systematically having a seat on the Board of Directors, and helps the companies invested in improve the transparency of their management and obtain certifications.
  • Employment and training for local populations: the manager currently employs 60 people, including 19 women, and is planning to recruit 10 additional people, half being women, over the next 5 years. As AfricInvest attaches importance to training and improving the skills of the employees of both the fund and underlying companies, the project should allow 2,700 people to receive training.
28/02/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Multi-country Global Algeria Egypt Morocco Tunisia
Location
Financing tool
10 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of EUR 10m
Financing details
Maghreb Private Equity Fund IV
Client
CES

Prise de participation dans MPEF IV : accompagner le développement des PME au Maghreb et en Égypte

Multi-Pays Etranger Algérie Egypte Maroc Tunisie
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
primary school, enfants, tunisie
Le fonds MPEF IV soutient des PME intervenant notamment dans l'éducation ou la santé en Afrique du Nord et les encourage à se développer régionalement.
Présentation du client

MPEF IV est un fonds de capital-développement/transmission en Afrique du Nord levé par le gestionnaire AfricInvest, acteur pionnierdu capital investissement dans la région. Fort de son expérience sur le continent africain, et plus particulièrement au Maghreb où il a levé 12 de ses 17 véhicules d’investissement, l’équipe souhaite aujourd’hui poursuivre la stratégie du fonds précédent MPEF III en ouvrant son champ géographique à l’Egypte. 

Description du projet

Cette participation visera à soutenir le tissu économique des petites et moyennes entreprises en les amenant à se régionaliser et développer des liens commerciaux avec des zones économiques frontalières (Afrique sub-saharienne et Europe). Cet accompagnement permettra plus particulièrement :

  • de soutenir l’émergence et la croissance de PME dans des secteurs privilégiés par le Groupe AFD, comme l’éducation ou la santé, dans des zones géographiques en Afrique du Nord où les entreprises ont des difficultés d’accès à des financements long-terme
  • d’encourager un gestionnaire dont la stratégie d’investissement contribuera à l’émergence de groupes multi-pays, qui jouent un rôle critique dans le développement des zones économiques régionales et du commerce transfrontalier ;
  • de renforcer l’institutionnalisation des entreprises en portefeuille avec les meilleurs pratiques en termes de gouvernance et d’E&S.
Impact du projet

Ce projet contribuera

  • au développement du secteur privé et des PME au Maghreb et en Egypte, dans des secteurs diversifiés tels que l'agrobusiness, la logistique et les transports, l'éducation, et la santé. Le gestionnaire est très impliqué dans la gestion et la gouvernance des entreprises, en ayant systématiquement une place au conseil d'administration, et appuie les entreprises investies dans l'amélioration de la transparence dans leur gestion et l'obtention de certifications.
  • à l'emploi et à la formation des populations locales : le gestionnaire emploie actuellement 60 personnes dont 19 femmes et envisage d'embaucher 10 personnes de plus dont la moitié de femmes d'ici 5 ans. Le projet soutiendra également la création ou le maintien de plus de 8 600 emplois indirects d'ici 5 ans. AfricInvest  attachant de l'importance à la formation et à l'amélioration des compétences des employés du fonds mais également des sociétés sous-jacentes, le projet devrait permettra à 2 700 personnes de suivre des formations.
28/02/2018
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Multi-Pays Etranger Algérie Egypte Maroc Tunisie
Localisation
Outils de financement
10 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 10 MEUROS
Details du financement
Maghreb Private Equity Fund IV
Client
CES