Meridiam Infrastructure Africa Fund: Equity investment to finance infrastructure in Africa

Senegal Multi-country Africa
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Nos solutions ...
In Africa, infrastructure development is essential, especially in the energy, transport, housing and health sectors. The Meridiam Infrastructure Africa Fund is financing infrastructure construction and management.
Client presentation

Meridiam is an independent investment company specialized in the development, financing and management of long-term public infrastructure projects. Meridiam is a world leader in public infrastructure investments, with a portfolio under management of EUR 3.5bn and an investment in 44 projects to date. Meridiam obtained the ISO 9001 certification for its responsible investment process in January 2012. Meridiam is a founding member of the Long-Term Infrastructure Investors Association (LTIIA).      

Project description

Meridiam Infrastructure Africa Fund will target financing for essential infrastructure, with the priority being energy (supply, generation, transmission and distribution), transport (roads, rail, ports and airports), water and sanitation (irrigation, water treatment and distribution, desalinization) and health. Its specificity will be its financing for greenfield projects or projects at an early stage of development – which traditional investors take little interest in – and its offer of long investment maturities of around 15 years – which are not readily available locally. The fund has a target size of EUR 300m and its investments will include majority interests. An additional EUR 10m subscription was allocated in 2019 following the reopening of the fund. This project meets the significant need for investment in high-quality infrastructure in Sub-Saharan Africa. 

Project impact

This operation will support the development of essential infrastructure in the fields of energy, transport, housing and health in Africa. It will also contribute to creating jobs and additional tax revenues through the construction and operation of this new infrastructure.

30/09/2015
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Senegal Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
20 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of EUR 20m
Financing details
MERIDIAM INFRASTRUCTURE AFRICA FUND
Client
CES

Fonds Meridiam Infrastructure Africa : prise de participation pour financer les infrastructures en Afrique

Sénégal Multi-Pays Afrique
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
PRO-AFRIQUE-OFFGRID-2015
En Afrique, le développement des infrastructures est essentiel, en particulier dans les secteurs de l’énergie, des transports, du logement et de la santé. Le fonds Meridiam Infrastructure Africa finance leur réalisation et leur gestion.
Présentation du client

Meridiam est une société d’investissement indépendante spécialisée dans le développement, le financement et la gestion de projets d’infrastructures publiques à long terme. Meridiam est un leader mondial de l’investissement dans les infrastructures publiques avec un portefeuille sous gestion de 3,5 milliards d’euros, et un investissement dans 44 projets à ce jour. Meridiam a obtenu la certification ISO 9001 pour son processus d’investissement responsable en janvier 2012. Meridiam est membre fondateur de la Long Term Infrastructure Investors Association (LTIIA).

Description du projet

Le fonds Meridiam Infrastructure Africa Fund ciblera le financement d’infrastructures essentielles, en priorité dans l’énergie (approvisionnement, production, transmission et distribution), les transports (routes, rails, ports et aéroports), l’eau et l’assainissement (irrigation, traitement et distribution des eaux, désalinisation) et la santé. Sa spécificité sera d’intervenir sur des projets dits « greenfields » ou à un stade amont de développement 2   – auxquels les investisseurs traditionnels s’intéressent peu – et d’offrir des durées d’investissement longues d’environ 15 ans – peu disponibles localement.  D’une taille cible de 300 M€, le fonds interviendra notamment sous forme de participation majoritaire. Une souscription complémentaire de 10 000 000 EUR a été accordée en 2019 à la suite de la réouverture du fonds. Ce projet répond au besoin significatif d’investissement dans des infrastructures de qualité en Afrique sub-saharienne.

Impact du projet

Cette opération permettra de soutenir le développement d’infrastructures essentielles dans le domaine de l'énergie, des transports, du logement et de la santé en Afrique.  Elle participera par ailleurs  à créer des emplois et des recettes fiscales supplémentaires grâce à la construction et l’exploitation de ces nouvelles infrastructures.

30/09/2015
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Sénégal Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
20 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 20 MEUR
Details du financement
MERIDIAM INFRASTRUCTURE AFRICA FUND
Client
CES
Gros plans sur les élèves en tenu de cuisine en train de regarder ce que fait le cuisinier