• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Employées de Kenya Nut
Proparco has allocated a loan to support Kenya Nut Company, a family-run company that has diversified and has been operating in the nut sector (macadamia and cashew nuts) in Kenya for over 40 years. The company sources from over 30,000 small-scale nut producers. Over a thousand full-time equivalent jobs should be supported at KNC over the next five years, including 90 jobs created and 585 jobs held by women.
Client presentation

Kenya Nut Company (“Kenya Nut”, “KNC”) is a Kenyan family-run company set up in 1974 and a subsidiary of the International Controls Limited (ICL) Group. It mainly produces macadamia nuts and wants to strengthen this activity and develop new side activities for cashew nut production, cattle breeding and wine production.

Project description

Proparco’s long-term financing will mainly finance the company’s 2019-2021 development plan. To help Kenya Nut cope with the health crisis, part of Proparco’s financing will also be earmarked for short-term cashflow needs to give Kenya Nut flexibility in this particular period.
Proparco will also help meet Kenya Nut’s request to improve corporate governance and environmental performance, which are key areas of development for this company experiencing strong growth. This project is thereby supporting a developing agriculture sector that creates jobs and is a source of diversification for Kenya’s export revenues, which are still too dependent on coffee and tea. The project is also contributing to improving living conditions for the most vulnerable farmers (<2 ha) and to their professionalization. In addition, it is strengthening Kenya’s industrial fabric and, finally, has a climate change adaptation dimension by generating water savings in an area sensitive to water stress.

Project impact

The expected impacts of this financing are as follows:

  • The project should support over 1,000 full-time equivalent jobs at KNC over the next five years, including 90 jobs created and 585 jobs held by women. In addition, the project should support some 8,200 indirect jobs, mainly for macadamia nut producers.
  • The project should also contribute to strengthening KNC’s adaptation to climate change, as USD 4m will be invested in a drip irrigation system. This will allow KNC to save water and will reduce its vulnerability to water stress, as droughts are increasingly frequent in the Thika region due to climate change. 
05/28/2020
Date of signature of the project
Kenya
Location
Financing tool
15 859 553 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 18.7m loan
Financing details
Kenya Nut Company Limited
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Employées de Kenya Nut
Via un prêt, Proparco soutient Kenya Nut Company, une entreprise familiale qui a su se diversifier et qui est active depuis plus de 40 ans sur la filière noix (macadamia et cajou) au Kenya. Une société qui s’approvisionne auprès de plus de 30 000 petits producteurs de noix et qui devrait permettre le soutien de plus d'un millier d'emplois équivalent temps plein au sein de KNC d'ici cinq ans, dont 90 emplois créés et 585 emplois occupés par des femmes.
Présentation du client

Créée en 1974 Kenya Nut Company (‘Kenya Nut’, ‘KNC’) est une entreprise familiale kenyane, filiale du groupe International Controls Limited (ICL), dédiée principalement à la production de noix de macadamia souhaitant renforcer cette activité et développer de nouvelles activités annexes, de production de noix de cajou, d’élevage bovin et de production de vin.

Description du projet

Le financement long terme de Proparco servira principalement à financer le plan de développement 2019 – 2021 de la société. Pour accompagner Kenya Nut face à la crise sanitaire, le financement de Proparco sera également dédié en partie aux besoins de trésorerie à court terme, pour offrir de la souplesse à Kenya Nut dans cette période particulière.
Proparco accompagnera par ailleurs Kenya Nut pour répondre à sa demande d’améliorer la gouvernance d’entreprise et la performance environnementale, des axes de développement clés pour cette société en croissance forte.Ainsi, ce projet soutient une filière agricole en développement, pourvoyeuse d’emplois et source de diversification des revenus d’export du Kenya, encore trop dépendants du café et du thé. Ce projet contribue aussi à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des agriculteurs les plus vulnérables (<2ha) et à leur professionnalisation. I permet, également, de renforcer le tissu industriel kenyan et enfin il présente une dimension adaptation au changement climatique en générant des économies d’eau dans une zone sensible au stress hydrique.

Impact du projet

Les impacts attendus de ce financement sont les suivants :

  • Le projet devrait permettre le soutien de plus d'un millier d'emplois équivalent temps plein au sein de KNC d'ici cinq ans, dont 90 emplois créés et 585 emplois occupés par des femmes.  En complément, le projet devrait soutenir environ 8 200 emplois indirects, principalement des producteurs de noix de macadamia.
  • Le projet devrait également contribuer à renforcer l'adaptation de KNC au changement climatique, puisque 4 millions de dollars seront investis dans un système d'irrigation goutte à goutte qui permettra à KNC de réaliser des économies d'eau et réduire sa vlnérabilité au stress hydrique, les épisodes de sécheresse étant de plus en plus fréquents dans la région de Thika du fait du changement climatique.
28/05/2020
Date de signature du projet
Kenya
Localisation
Outils de financement
15 859 553 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 18,7 MUSD
Details du financement
Kenya Nut Company Limited
Client
CES