• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Camion, Hysacam
HYSACAM is the leading waste management company in Cameroon. To finance the renewal of its trucks and improve access to household waste collection – an essential service –, PROPARCO has guaranteed the loan allocated to HYSACAM by three local banks.
Client presentation

Today, 15 million people benefit from HYSACAM’s services in Cameroon, which is held up as a model by its West and Central African neighbors. There is, indeed, in Cameroon a strong political will to address an exponential growth in waste due to population growth and a particularly high urbanization rate.
The company Hygiène et Salubrité du Cameroun (HYSACAM), which was set up in 1969, is the main player in private waste management in the country and operates the household waste collection and treatment service in 17 cities in the country under a public service delegation. HYSACAM collects over 1.5 million tons of waste a year, i.e. over 4,000 tons a day (out of about 16,000 tons a day produced in the country). The company operates throughout the waste management chain, from collection to treatment, employs 4,000 people and already has a fleet of several hundred trucks. The service is mainly paid for by the Cameroonian State, which finances up to 90% of the contractual amounts in certain municipalities (including Douala and Yaoundé).
To adapt to the strong growth in Cameroon’s cities and optimize the waste collection service, HYSACAM is renewing part of its vehicles, i.e. some 200 trucks and machines, for an amount totaling FCFA 24.5bn. 

Project description

A consortium of three local banks led by Société Générale Cameroun and Ecobank has just allocated an FCFA (XAF) 24.5bn loan, equivalent to EUR 37.35bn, to HYSACAM. PROPARCO is providing a joint and several guarantee of XAF 11,025bn (equivalent to EUR 16.81m) for this first project in the waste collection sector, which is guaranteeing 45% of the loan allocated to HYSACAM by the banks. PROPARCO is thereby facilitating the banks’ operation with HYSACAM and is allowing the local banks to extend the loan maturity to 7 years at a competitive rate for the market.

Project impact

PROPARCO is helping HYSACAM improve the management of environmental and social risks by participating in financing an audit and in monitoring the plan to improve practices.
The project will ensure the sustainability of 3,700 existing jobs and create 700 new jobs over the next 5 years, with training programs for all HYSACAM employees. The renewal of the fleet with more recent and more efficient vehicles, as well as the dedicated training, will improve the quality of collection, secure the waste collection service and also contribute to improving working conditions for HYSACAM’s employees. 
It is estimated that 6 million Cameroonians will be able to benefit from HYSACAM’s services over the next 5 years. In practical terms, the access to waste collection – an essential service – , will lead to an improvement in health and public health, as well as in the quality of life. 

12/03/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Cameroon
Location
Financing tool
16 810 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 16.81m guarantee (i.e. a guarantee of 45% of the total amount of the senior loan)
Financing details
SOCIETE HYGIENE ET SALUBRITE DU CAMEROUN
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Camion, Hysacam
Hysacam est l'entreprise de référence de gestion des déchets au Cameroun. Pour financer le renouvellement de ses camions et améliorer l'accès à la collecte des ordures ménagères, qui est un service essentiel, Proparco a garanti le prêt occtroyé par trois banques locales à Hysacam.
Présentation du client

Aujourd’hui, 15 millions de personnes bénéficient des services d’HYSACAM au Cameroun qui fait figure de modèle pour ses voisins d’Afrique de l’Ouest et Centrale. Il existe en effet au Cameroun une volonté politique forte de faire face à une croissance exponentielle des déchets du fait d’une croissance démographique et d’un taux d’urbanisation particulièrement élevés. 
Fondée en 1969, la société Hygiène et salubrité du Cameroun (HYSACAM) est le principal acteur privé de gestion des déchets du pays et opère sous délégation de service public le service de collecte et de traitement des déchets ménagers dans 17 villes du pays. HYSACAM collecte plus de 1,5 millions de tonnes de déchets par an soit plus de 4 000 tonnes par jour (sur les 16 000 tonnes par jour env. produites dans le pays). Présente sur toute la chaîne de gestion des déchets, de la collecte au traitement, l’entreprise emploie 4 000 personnes et dispose déjà d’une flotte de plusieurs centaines de camions. Le service est majoritairement payé par l’Etat camerounais qui abonde jusqu’à 90% des montants contractuels sur certaines municipalités (Douala et Yaoundé notamment).
Afin de s’adapter à la forte croissance des villes camerounaises et d’optimiser le service de collecte de déchets, HYSACAM renouvèle une partie de ses véhicules soit environ 200 camions et engins, pour un montant de 24,5 milliards de Francs CFA.

Description du projet

Un consortium de trois banques locales conduit par Société Générale Cameroun et Ecobank viennent d’accorder un prêt de 24,5 milliards de Francs CFA (XAF), équivalent à 37,35 millions d’euros, à HYSACAM. PROPARCO apporte une caution solidaire de 11,025 milliards de XAF (équivalent à 16,81 millions d’euros) sur ce premier projet dans le secteur de la collecte des déchets, permettant de garantir 45% du crédit accordé par les banques à HYSACAM. PROPARCO facilite ainsi l’intervention des banques auprès d’HYSACAM et permet aux banques locales d’allonger la maturité du prêt à 7 ans et à un taux compétitif pour le marché.

Impact du projet

PROPARCO accompagne HYSACAM dans l'amélioration de la gestion des risques environnementaux et sociaux en participant au financement d’un audit ainsi qu’au suivi du plan d’amélioration des pratiques. 
Le projet permettra de pérenniser les 3 700 emplois existants et de créer 700 nouveaux emplois dans les 5 prochaines années avec des programmes de formation pour l’ensemble des employés d’HYSACAM. Le renouvellement de la flotte par des véhicules plus récents et plus performants ainsi que des formations dédiées améliorera la qualité du ramassage, sécurisera le service de collecte des déchets et contribuera à améliorer également les conditions de travail des employés d’Hysacam.
On estime que 6 millions de Camerounais pourront bénéficier des services d’HYSACAM dans les 5 prochaines années. L’accès à la collecte des déchets, qui est un service essentiel, se traduira concrètement par une amélioration de la santé et de la salubrité publique ainsi que de la qualité de vie. 

12/03/2018
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Cameroun
Localisation
Outils de financement
16 810 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Garantie donnée de 16,81 M EUROS (soit un garantie de 45% du montant total du prêt senior)
Details du financement
SOCIETE HYGIENE ET SALUBRITE DU CAMEROUN
Client
CES