• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco and FDN are financing a fleet of electric buses in Bogotá. The objective is to improve mobility for residents by providing a better quality and eco-friendly service in a capital affected by air pollution.
Client presentation

Green Movil is a concession with 50% held by Transdev (a global leader in the public transport market) and 50% by Fanalca, a leading local transport operator. These two sponsors have enjoyed a successful partnership in Colombia since 2000 through the Transdev-Fanalca joint venture.

Project description

With this project, Proparco and Financiera de Desarollo Nacional (FDN) are financing a fleet of 406 electric buses and their batteries, as well as the associated support infrastructure (stations and charging points). The constructor of the buses and batteries is BYD, the second largest global manufacturer of electric buses. The project’s CAPEX requirements stand at COP 575bn (USD 150m) over the 15-year concession, with 90% financed by debt (50% for Proparco, 50% for FDN).

Project impact

The expected effects and impacts of this project on development are as follows: 

  • 99,000 passengers a day should benefit from an improved public transport service (better quality travel conditions, transport 100% wheelchair accessible) 
  • 100% of the energy supply of buses from renewable energies, 23,500 tCO2e should be avoided every year through the project, which will contribute to climate change mitigation. The project will also have a positive impact on public health, as the use of electric buses will improve air quality by limiting emissions of sulfur and nitrogen oxides, as well as particulate matter
  • 2,700 jobs will be maintained over the next 5 years. 

The project will contribute to the achievement of SDGs 9 “Industry, innovation and infrastructure”, 11 “Sustainable cities and communities” and 13 “Climate action”.  

06/23/2022
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Colombia
Location
Financing tool
65 237 651 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 34;2m loan and USD 35.8m loan
Financing details
Fideicomiso ZMP Fontibón III SAS
Client
Head office country
PCO1020 / PCO1023
Project number
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
A Bogotá, Proparco et la FDN financent une flotte de bus électriques. Objectif : permettre une meilleure mobilité aux habitants grâce à une qualité de service améliorée, respectueuse de l'environnement dans une capitale impactée par la pollution de l'air.
Présentation du client

Green Movil est une concession détenue à 50% par Transdev (un des leaders mondiaux du marché des transports publics) et à 50% par Fanalca, un opérateur de transport local de premier plan. A travers de la Joint Venture Transdev-Fanalca, ces deux sponsors collaborent avec succès depuis 2000 en Colombie.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en un financement par Proparco et la Financiera de Desarollo Nacional (FDN) d'une flotte de 406 bus électriques et de leurs batteries, ainsi que les infrastructures de support associées (stations et bornes de recharge). Le constructeur des bus et des batteries est BYD, second fabricant mondial de bus électriques. Les besoins du projet en CAPEX s'élèvent à 575 Bn COP (soit 150 MUSD) sur les 15 ans de concession, qui sont financés à 90% par de la dette (50% pour Proparco, 50% pour FDN). 

Impact du projet

Les effets et impacts attendus de ce projet sur le développement sont les suivants : 

  • 99 000 passagers journaliers devraient bénéficier d'un service de transport public amélioré (meilleure qualité de voyage, transport 100% accessible en fauteuil roulant) 
  • 100 % de l'énergie fournie aux bus provenant d'énergies renouvelables, 23 500 tCO2e devraient être évitées chaque année grâce au projet qui contribuera ainsi à l'atténuation du changement climatique. Le projet aura également un impact positif sur la santé publique puisque l'utilisation de bus électriques permettra d'améliorer la qualité de l'air en limitant les émissions d'oxydes de soufre et d'azote ainsi que de particules fines.
  • 2 700 emplois seront maintenus d'ici cinq ans. 

Le projet contribuera à la réalisation de l'ODD 9 "Industrie, Innovation et Infrastructure", 11 "Villes et communautés durables" et 13 "Lutte contre les changements climatiques".  

23/06/2022
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Colombie
Localisation
Outils de financement
65 237 651 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 34,2 MUSD et un Prêt de 35,8 MUSD
Details du financement
Fideicomiso ZMP Fontibón III SAS
Client
Pays du siège social
PCO1020 / PCO1023
Numéro de projet
CES