• logo linkedin
  • logo email
LatAM GEF CLIMATE FUND
Proparco has partnered once again with GEF by investing in its GEF LatAm III fund.
Client presentation

GEF is a global player in private equity dedicated to investment in the USA, South Asia and Latin America in medium-sized and midcap companies that generate climate co-benefits and/or are resource efficient. Proparco has been a partner of GEF since 2019 for the South Asia Growth Fund II dedicated to South Asia (mainly India).

Project description

Proparco has invested in the first closing of the GEF LatAm III fund which has a target size of USD 200m. It is GEF’s third vehicle dedicated to Latin America (mainly Brazil). Its objective will be to invest in tickets ranging between EUR 10m and EUR 20m in SMEs and midcaps that generate climate co-benefits or promote an efficient and rational use of natural resources.

Project impact

On the environmental front and based on the performance of the predecessor fund, the GEF LatAm III fund should avoid a significant volume of tCO2e emissions. On the economic and social front, the fund should support some 2,800 jobs in Brazil. 
The project should thereby contribute to the achievement of SDGs 8 (“Decent work and economic growth”) and 13 (“Climate action”). 

04/22/2022
Date of signature of the project
Brazil
Location
Financing tool
23 600 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 25m Equity Investment
Financing details
GEF Latam Climate Solutions Fund III, LP
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
LatAM GEF CLIMATE FUND
Proparco s'associt une nouvelle fois à GEF en investissant dans son fonds GEF LatAm III.
Présentation du client

GEF est un acteur global du capital investissement dédié à l'investissement aux USA, en Asie du Sud et en Amérique Latine dans des entreprises de tailles moyennes ou intermédiaires génératrices de co-bénéfices climat et/ou d'utilisation efficace des ressources naturelles (resource efficiency). Proparco est partenaire de GEF depuis 2019 sur le fonds Sowth Asia Growth Fund II dédié à l'Asie du Sud (essentiellement l'Inde ).

Description du projet

Proparco a investi en premier closing dans le fonds GEF Latam III d'une taille cible de 200 MUSD. Il s'agit du troisième véhicule de GEF dédié à l'Amérique Latine (essentiellement  le Brésil). Son objectif sera d'investir des tickets de 10-20M€ dans des PME et ETI  génératrices de co-bénéfices climats ou promouvant une utilisation efficace et raisonnée des ressources naturelles.

Impact du projet

Sur le plan environnemental et sur la base de la performance du fonds prédécesseur, le fonds GEF Latam III devrait permettre d'éviter un volume important d'émissions de tCO2e. Sur le plan économique et social, le fonds devrait permettre le soutien de près de 2 800 emplois au Brésil. 
Le projet devrait ainsi permettre de contribuer à la réalisation de l'ODD 8 ("Travail décent et croissance économique") et 13 ("Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques").   

22/04/2022
Date de signature du projet
Brésil
Localisation
Outils de financement
23 600 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 25 MUSD
Details du financement
GEF Latam Climate Solutions Fund III, LP
Client
CES