Supporting the growth of companies domiciled in France that operate in Africa

Multi-country Global FranceCôte d'Ivoire Kenya Morocco Nigeria Senegal Tunisia
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is supporting companies domiciled in France that operate in Africa via its participation in the FFA II fund. This project follows on from the FFA I fund. In addition to financial support, AfricInvest is assisting these French companies with their strategic development in Africa. The fund also attaches great importance to the impacts of its investments, corporate governance, transparency, job creation and respect for social and environmental values.
Client presentation

AfricInvest Europe is a French asset management company regulated by the French market authority. A subsidiary of Africinvest Group, AfricInvest Europe manages the Franco-African Fund, a EUR 77m private equity fund. It is the first cross-border fund dedicated to French small and medium-sized enterprises seeking to invest and expand in Africa. AfricInvest aims to support the investee companies with its experience, financing capacity, extensive network and the expertise of its teams in France and Africa in an effort to help them accelerate their growth and access new markets. It will also seek to facilitate partnerships with relevant business, financial, industrial and technological partners on each market.

Project description

The project targeting companies domiciled in France that operate in Africa will follow on from the predecessor fund FFA I in which Proparco and BPI invested in 2016. The fund’s strategy is to invest its capital in French mid-cap companies with strong growth potential based on an entrepreneurial approach to create medium and long-term value. In addition to providing financial support, AfricInvest will assist these French companies with their strategic development in Africa. The investments in French SMEs seeking growth opportunities in Africa will be in the form of equity investments, generally minority investments. In addition to the financial returns, the fund will focus on the impact of its investments on corporate governance, transparency, job creation and respect for social and environmental values. 

Project impact

Based on the impact of the FFA I fund, we estimate that the expected impacts of FFA II are:

  • Support for some 3,000 indirect jobs in the investee companies, including 10% of women employees;
  • An improvement in the consideration of the environmental and social risks associated with the activities of the investee companies of FFA II by mobilizing Proparco’s E&S experts to ensure that these companies adopt the highest international standards (the regulations a priori only oblige them to apply local standards). 

Through these impacts, the project is supporting SDG 8 “Decent work and economic growth”. 

12/23/2020
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Multi-country Global FranceCôte d'Ivoire Kenya Morocco Nigeria Senegal Tunisia
Location
Financing tool
10 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 10m Equity Investment
Financing details
Fonds franco-africain 2 FPCI
Client
CES

Soutenir la croissance d'entreprises domiciliées en France et actives sur le continent Africain

Multi-Pays Etranger FranceCôte d'Ivoire Kenya Maroc Nigéria Sénégal Tunisie
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
AfricInvest
Proparco, via sa participation dans le fonds FFA II, soutient des entreprises domiciliées en France et actives sur le continent Africain. Ce projet s'inscrit dans la continuité du fonds FFA I. En plus du soutien financier, AfricInvest accompagne ces entreprises françaises dans leur développement stratégique en Afrique. Le fonds accorde également une grande importance aux impacts de ses investissements, à la gouvernance des entreprises, à la transparence, la création d’emplois et le respect des valeurs sociales et environnementales.
Présentation du client

AfricInvest Europe est une société française de gestion d'actifs réglementée par l'Autorité du marché français Filiale du Groupe Africinvest, AfricInvest Europe gère le Fonds Franco-Africain, un Fonds de Capital Investissement de 77 M €, premier fonds transfrontalier dédié aux petites et moyennes entreprises françaises désireuses d'investir et grandir en Afrique.AfricInvest vise à soutenir les entreprises investies par son expérience, ses capacités de financement, son réseau étendu et l'expertise de ses équipes en France et en Afrique dans un effort pour les aider à accélérer leur croissance et à accéder à de nouveaux marchés. Il cherchera également à faciliter les partenariats avec les partenaires commerciaux, financiers, industriels et technologiques pertinents sur chaque marché.

Description du projet

Le projet ciblant des entreprises domiciliées en France actives sur le continent Africain s'inscrira dans la continuité du fonds prédécesseur FFA I dans lequel Proparco et BPI ont investi en 2016. La stratégie du fonds est d’investir son capital dans des sociétés françaises de moyenne capitalisation à fort potentiel de croissance, en utilisant une approche entrepreneuriale de création de valeur à moyen et long terme. En plus d'apporter un soutien financier, AfricInvest accompagnera ces entreprises françaises dans leur développement stratégique en Afrique. Les investissements dans les PME françaises à la recherche d'opportunités de croissance vers l'Afrique prendront la forme de prises de participation, généralement sous forme de participations minoritaires. Outre les rendements financiers, le fonds se concentrera sur l’impact de ses investissements sur la gouvernance des entreprises, la transparence, la création d’emplois et le respect des valeurs sociales et environnementales

Impact du projet

D’après l’impact observé du fonds I, nous estimons que les impacts attendus de FFA II sont :

  • Le soutien de près de 3 000 emplois indirects au sein des  entreprises sous-jacentes, dont 10% de femmes employées ; 
  • Une amélioration de la prise en compte des risques environnementaux et sociaux associés aux activités des sous-jacents de FFA II à travers la mobilisation des experts E&S de Proparco afin que ces entreprises adoptent les meilleurs standards internationaux (la réglementation ne les contraignant a priori qu‘à appliquer les standards locaux).

A travers ces effets, le projet soutient l’ODD 8 « Travail décent et croissance économique ».

23/12/2020
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Multi-Pays Etranger FranceCôte d'Ivoire Kenya Maroc Nigéria Sénégal Tunisie
Localisation
Outils de financement
10 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 10 MEUR
Details du financement
Fonds franco-africain 2 FPCI
Client
CES