ETHOS MEZZANINE PARTNERS III: An equity investment to support SMEs in East and Southern Africa

South Africa Botswana Burundi Ethiopia Kenya Lesotho Malawi Mozambique Namibia Uganda Rwanda Tanzania Zambia Multi-country Africa
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
projet
Ethos Mezzanine Partners 3 is one of the very first mezzanine funds in Sub-Saharan Africa. It provides SMEs and midcaps in East and Southern Africa with access to long-term financing and helps them improve their environmental, social and governance practices. Through this equity investment, PROPARCO is supporting the development of sustainable companies and the diversification of capital markets on the continent.
Client presentation

Ethos Mezzanine Partners 3 is a mezzanine fund focused on East and Southern Africa. The manager, Ethos Mezzanine Partners, came about through the integration in June 2016 of Mezzanine Partners, a specialized South African manager and a pioneer in mezzanine debt, into Ethos Private Equity Group, a leading African private equity firm.

Project description

EMP 3 has a target size of USD 150m and aims to provide mezzanine financing to 10 to 15 SMEs/midcaps in East and Southern Africa. The fund will partner with established companies, which are expanding and profitable, but suffer from the lack of depth of banking markets and therefore from limited access to long-term financing. The fund will be able to operate in all types of sectors, with a preference for sectors which drive the economy in Sub-Saharan Africa (consumer goods, agribusiness, health…)

Project impact

Through this equity investment in one of the very first mezzanine funds in Sub-Saharan Africa, PROPARCO aims to support the growth and diversification of capital markets on the continent. EMP 3, through its innovative range of long-term financing and the attention it pays to the evaluation and monitoring of the environmental, social and governance performance of its investments, will contribute to the development of sustainable companies and will stimulate the creation of sustainable jobs in its regions of operation.
Furthermore, the fund has set up a Human Resources Department which encourages training for the teams (all local) and offers training to the companies invested in on CSR subjects, such as E&S management and the governance aspects. Some fifty employees from the underlying companies should be trained thanks to the fund’s support, meaning a total of 500 employees.

16/05/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
South Africa Botswana Burundi Ethiopia Kenya Lesotho Malawi Mozambique Namibia Uganda Rwanda Tanzania Zambia Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
ETHOS MEZZANINE PARTNERS 3
Client
CES

ETHOS MEZZANINE PARTNERS III : une prise de participation pour soutenir les PME d'Afrique de l'Est et Australe

Afrique du Sud Botswana Burundi Ethiopie Kenya Lesotho Malawi Mozambique Namibie Ouganda Rwanda Tanzanie Zambie Multi-Pays Afrique
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
projet
Ethos Mezzanine Partners 3 est l'un des tous premiers fonds de mezzanine d'Afrique sub-saharienne. Il permet à des PME et ETI d'Afrique de l'Est et Australe d'accéder à des financements de long terme et les accompagne dans l'amélioration de leurs pratiques environnementales, sociales et de gouvernance. A travers cette prise de participation, Proparco accompagne le développement d'entreprises durables et la diversification des marchés de capitaux sur le continent.
Présentation du client

Ethos Mezzanine Partners 3 est un fonds de mezzanine centré sur l’Afrique de l’Est et Australe. Le gestionnaire, Ethos Mezzanine Partners, est issu de l’intégration en juin 2016 de Mezzanine Partners, gestionnaire sud-africain spécialisé et pionnier en dette mezzanine, dans le groupe Ethos Private Equity, société de private equity africaine de premier plan.

Description du projet

D’une taille cible de 150 MUSD, EMP 3 vise à fournir des financements "mezzanine" à 10 à 15 PME/ETI d'Afrique de l'Est et Australe. Le fonds s'associera à des sociétés établies, en croissance et rentables, mais qui souffrent de la faible profondeur des marchés bancaires et donc d'un accès limité aux financements de long-terme. Le fonds pourra intervenir dans tous types de secteurs, avec une préférence pour les secteurs moteurs de l'économie d'Afrique subsaharienne (biens de consommation, agro-industrie, santé...).

Impact du projet

A travers cette prise de participation dans l'un des tous premiers fonds de mezzanine d'Afrique sub-saharienne, Proparco vise à accompagner la croissance et la diversification des marchés de capitaux sur le continent. Par son offre innovante de financements long-terme et son attention portée à l'évaluation et au suivi de la performance environnementale, sociale et de gouvernance de ses investissements, EMP 3 contribuera au développement d'entreprises durables et stimulera la création d'emplois pérennes dans ses régions d'intervention.
Par ailleurs, le fonds s'est doté d'un département RH qui encourage la formation des équipes (toutes locales) et propose des formations pour les sociétés investies sur des sujets de RSE comme la gestion E&S et les aspects gouvernance. Une cinquantaine d'employés des sociétés sous-jacentes devrait être formée grâce à l'appui du fonds, soit 500 employés au total.

16/05/2018
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Afrique du Sud Botswana Burundi Ethiopie Kenya Lesotho Malawi Mozambique Namibie Ouganda Rwanda Tanzanie Zambie Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
ETHOS MEZZANINE PARTNERS 3
Client
CES