• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Signature du prêt accordé à Equity Bank
Equity Bank, the leader in SME financing and the second largest bank in Kenya, is committed to small and medium-sized enterprises, women entrepreneurs and rural areas through dedicated services and products. PROPARCO’s loan will particularly support agriculture, as well as companies that contribute to the country’s “Big 4” development agenda: manufacturing, affordable housing, health and food security. This project is part of the French Choose Africa initiative. USD 20m out of the USD 100m loan will be earmarked to finance projects with climate co-benefits.
This project is expected to support a total of some 240 MSMEs and over 5,000 direct and indirect jobs in the coming years.
Client presentation

Equity Bank, the second largest bank in Kenya, stands out for its continued support to the private sector and its commitment to small and medium-sized enterprises, women entrepreneurs and rural areas through its dedicated services and products. It is today the leader in SME financing in Kenya.

Project description

The operation will allow the bank to scale up its support for SMEs and climate change adaptation projects and fight gender inequality. It will also finance sectors with high social impacts as defined by the Kenyan Government’s “Big 4 Agenda” (manufacturing, affordable housing, health and food security).

This project will thereby contribute to the French Choose Africa initiative implemented by AFD Group and its private sector financing arm Proparco. Its objective is to earmark EUR 2.5bn to finance start-ups, microenterprises and SMEs in Africa between 2018 and 2022.  

USD 20m out of the USD 100m loan will be earmarked to finance projects with climate co-benefits. This project will thereby contribute to AFD’s climate objective and the implementation of the Paris Agreement.

Project impact

The project will support the development of loans for SMEs in the country. Based on the average loan and maturity allocated to Kenyan SMEs by Equity Bank, Proparco’s financing is expected to support some 2,100 additional SMEs. Proparco will support the substantial growth in the FI’s volume of SME financing, which will increase to some EUR 1.6m over the next five years. 

09/17/2020
Date of signature of the project
Kenya
Location
Financing tool
83 731 055 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 100m loan
Financing details
EQUITY BANK
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Signature du prêt accordé à Equity Bank
Equity Bank, leader sur le financement des PME et deuxième plus grande banque du Kenya est engagée en faveur des petites et moyennes entreprises, des femmes entrepreneures et des zones rurales grâce à des offres et des produits qui leur sont adaptés. Le prêt de Proparco permettra de soutenir en particulier l'agriculture, ainsi que les entreprises contribuant au programme de développement "Big 4" du pays : industrie, logement abordable, santé et sécurité alimentaire. Ce projet s'inscrit dans l'initiative française Choose Africa. 20 millions de dollars sur les 100 millions du prêt seront consacrés au financement de projets ayant des co-bénéfices climat.
Au total, ce projet devrait soutenir près de 240 TPME et plus de 5 000 emplois directs et indirects au cours des prochaines années.
Présentation du client

Equity Bank, la deuxième plus grande banque du Kenya, se distingue par son soutien continu au secteur privé et son engagement en faveur des petites et moyennes entreprises, des femmes entrepreneures et des zones rurales grâce à des offres et des produits qui leur sont adaptés. Elle est aujourd’hui leader sur le financement des PME au Kenya.

Description du projet

L'opération permettra à la banque de renforcer son soutienans aux PMEs, de soutenir des projets d'adaption au changement climatique et de de lutter contre les inégalités de genre. Elle permettra en outre de venir financer des secteurs à fort impacts sociaux tels que définis par le programme gouvernemental Kenyan "Big 4 agenda" (industrie, logement abordable, santé et sécurité alimentaire).

Ce projet contribuera ainsi à l'initiative française Choose Africa, mise en œuvre par le groupe AFD et sa filiale consacrée au secteur privé Proparco, qui a pour objectif de consacrer 2,5 millions d'euros au financement des start-ups, TPE et PME en Afrique sur la période 2018-2022.

20 millions de dollars sur les 100 millions d’euros du prêt seront consacrés au financement de projets ayant des co-bénéfices climat. Ce projet contribuera ainsi à l’ambition climat du Groupe AFD et à la mise en œuvre de l'Accord de Paris.

Impact du projet

Le projet soutiendra notamment le développement de l’offre de crédits aux PME du pays.  Sur la base du prêt et de la maturité moyens accordés aux PME kenyanes par Equity Bank, le financement de Proparco soutiendrait près de 2 100 PME supplémentaires. Proparco accompagnera une croissance importante du  volume de financement PME de l'IF à près de 1.6 MEUR d’ici 5 ans.

17/09/2020
Date de signature du projet
Kenya
Localisation
Outils de financement
83 731 055 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 100 MUSD
Details du financement
EQUITY BANK
Client
CES