• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco has signed its first Trade Finance operation with the pan-African banking group Ecobank, a longstanding partner. By guaranteeing documentary credits opened by four Ecobank subsidiaries in Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea Conakry and Mali, PROPARCO will facilitate the international trade operations financed by the group and is enhancing its range of financial instruments.
Client presentation

Ecobank Group is one of the main pan-African banking groups. The bank came about through the will of African businessmen to establish a bank that would support the economic growth of the continent and started its activities by opening a first subsidiary in Togo in March 1988. It subsequently developed in West Africa in the 1990s (opening of subsidiaries in Nigeria, Benin, Ghana and Burkina Faso).  
Ecobank is today an integrated regional commercial bank which employees over 19,500 people and has over 1,280 branches and offices in 39 countries in Africa, the Middle East, Asia and Europe.

Project description

The project involves guarantees given in the context of documentary credit operations. Ecobank will be the final beneficiary of the guarantee scheme: PROPARCO will guarantee four Ecobank subsidiaries in West African LDCs (Burkina Faso, Guinea Conakry, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali) in the context of the opening of documentary credits. These four subsidiaries are active in countries emerging from crisis (or still in crisis) and suffer constraints in the development of their activities to fund trade finance operations, as they experience difficulties in finding confirming banks for the documentary credits they issue.

Project impact

This operation has a twofold interest: 
1- Positive impacts on the economies of the four countries concerned: 
- support for the growth of beneficiary countries and especially in the current macroeconomic and political context characterized by post-crisis situations (Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea Conakry) or security tensions (Mali and, to a lesser extent, Burkina Faso). The project should contribute to creating or maintaining employment. Over the next 5 years, over 1,860 jobs will be created or maintained, including 44% held by women. 
- increase in the resources available to issuing banks due to the reduction, allowed by a guarantee, of the level of collateral deposits they need to make with confirming banks.

2- A new product which complements PROPARCO’s range of products and meets its clients’ needs. These guarantee operations, which historically have low loss ratios, are often considered by the development finance institutions that propose them as a useful tool to establish a business relationship with new banking clients, a relationship which can subsequently be expanded with other types of longer-term financing.

09/10/2017
Date of signature of the project
Burkina Faso Côte d'Ivoire Guinea Mali Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
50 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Guarantees given by Proparco to EBI S.A in the context of documentary credits issued by Ecobank Côte d'Ivoire, Ecobank Mali, Ecobank Guinea Conakry, Ecobank Burkina Faso and confirmed by EBI S.A. Maximum budget of USD 50,000,000 to be divided
Financing details
Ecobank Côte d'Ivoire, Ecobank Mali, Ecobank Guinea Conakry, Ecobank Burkina Faso (issuing banks of the instruments eligible for the guarantee)
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco a signé avec le groupe bancaire panafricain Ecobank, partenaire de longue date, sa première opération de Trade Finance. En garantissant les crédits documentaires ouverts par quatre filiales d’Ecobank au Burkina Faso, en Côte d'Ivoire, en Guinée Conakry et au Mali, Proparco facilitera les opérations de commerce international financées par le groupe et enrichit sa palette d’instruments financiers.
Présentation du client

Le groupe Ecobank est l’un des principaux groupes bancaires panafricains. Fruit de la volonté d’hommes d’affaires africains de fonder une banque qui accompagnerait la croissance économique du continent, la banque a débuté ses activités en ouvrant une première filiale au Togo en mars 1988 puis s’est développée en Afrique de l’Ouest dans les années 1990 (ouverture de filiales au Nigeria, au Bénin, au Ghana, au Burkina Faso). 
Le groupe Ecobank est aujourd’hui une banque commerciale régionale intégrée qui emploie plus de 19 500 personnes et compte plus de 1 280 agences et bureaux dans 39 pays d’Afrique, du Moyen-Orient, d’Asie et d’Europe.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en des garanties données dans le cadre d’opérations de crédits documentaires. Ecobank sera le bénéficiaire final du schéma de garantie : Proparco garantira quatre filiales d’Ecobank dans des PMA d’Afrique de l’Ouest (Burkina Faso, Guinée Conakry, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali) dans le cadre d’ouvertures de crédits documentaires. Ces quatre filiales sont actives dans des pays en sortie de crise (ou toujours en crise) et sont contraintes dans le développement de leurs activités de financement d’opération de trade finance car elles rencontrent des difficultés pour trouver des banques confirmantes pour les crédits documentaires qu’elles émettent. 

Impact du projet

L’intérêt de cette opération est double : 

1- Des impacts positifs sur l’économie des quatre pays concernés :

  • soutien à la croissance des pays bénéficiaires et plus particulièrement dans le contexte macro-économique et politique actuel caractérisé par des situations de sorties de crise (Côte d’Ivoire, Guinée Conakry) ou des tensions sécuritaires (Mali, et dans une moindre mesure Burkina Faso). Le projet devrait contribuer à créer ou maintenir  l'emploi. D'ici 5 ans, plus de 1 860 emplois seront créés ou maintenus, dont 44% occupés par des femmes. 
  • accroissement des ressources disponibles pour les banques émettrices en raison de la réduction, permise par l’existence d’une garantie, du niveau de dépôts de nantissement qu’elles doivent constituer auprès des banques confirmantes. 

2- Un nouveau produit qui complète l’offre de Proparco et permet de répondre aux besoins de ses clients. Ces opérations de garantie, qui historiquement présentent des niveaux de sinistralité faible, sont souvent vues par les institutions de financement du développement qui les proposent comme un outil intéressant pour nouer une relation d’affaires avec de nouveaux clients bancaires, relation qui peut ensuite s’étoffer avec d’autres types de financement plus long terme.

09/10/2017
Date de signature du projet
Burkina Faso Côte d'Ivoire Guinée Mali Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
50 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Garanties données par Proparco à EBI S.A dans le cadre de crédits documentaires émis par Ecobank Côte d'Ivoire, Ecobank Mali, Ecobank Guinée Conakry, Ecobank Burkina Faso et confirmés par EBI S.A de 50 000 000 USD à répartir
Details du financement
Ecobank Côte d'Ivoire, Ecobank Mali, Ecobank Guinée Conakry, Ecobank Burkina Faso (banques émettrices des instruments éligibles à la garantie)
Client
CES