Cameroon: PROPARCO is supporting the development of the 1st shopping center with an environmental certification

Cameroon
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Douala Grand Mall
Proparco and Société Générale Cameroun are providing EUR 30m to support the development of unique facilities in Central Africa. The development of this business park will improve the city’s attractiveness, develop the surrounding areas and strengthen the fabric of the formal economy of the Cameroonian capital.
Client presentation

Actis (www.act.is) is a British investment fund and leader on emerging markets, with over USD 15bn invested in Asia, Africa and Latin America.
With over 70 years of experience in financing businesses on emerging markets, Actis has developed and strengthened a responsible investment approach, which is now definitively an integral part of the company’s culture. Actis is a signatory to the “Principles for Responsible Investment”, a compact supported by the United Nations and prepared under the United Nations Environment Programme Financial Initiative (UNEP FI).
Actis is the most experienced real estate investor in Sub-Saharan Africa, as it has conducted over 11 A-Grade development operations in 8 cities, including a number of assets in the hotel sector. 
Actis also has a long track record in private equity investment in Africa, as it has already invested USD 5bn in the region over the past 15 years.

Project description

Douala Grand Mall (“DGM”) is a shopping center where a supermarket, 160 shops and boutiques, 22 restaurants and a cinema will open on 18,500 m2 of rental space. DGM has been designed as a destination mall, meaning both a place of consumption and center of attraction. It will open in September 2020 and will be the first major shopping center in Central Africa. The project is located near the airport, in an urban area with 4 million inhabitants. It will have a capacity to receive up to 300,000 visitors a month.

Project impact

The project should create or maintain the equivalent of 1,700 direct and indirect full-time jobs over the next 5 years. The opening of DGM is contributing to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals: #SDG 8 Decent work and economic growth, by creating over 3,500 direct and indirect jobs, #SDG 9 Industry, innovation and infrastructure, by developing unique facilities in Central Africa, #SDG 11 Sustainable cities and communities, by developing facilities that meet high environmental standards (EDGE certification) and #SDG 12 Responsible consumption and production, by developing a business park to improve the city’s attractiveness and develop the surrounding areas. In terms of access, the Douala Grand Mall project is positioned in the “modern” distribution sector, mainly for the middle and upper classes, and could benefit 1 million residents. 

19/05/2020
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Cameroon
Location
Financing tool
15 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 15m loan
Financing details
DOUALA RETAIL AND CONVENTION CENTER
Client
CES

Au Cameroun, Proparco accompagne le développement du 1er centre commercial bénéficiant d'une certification environnementale

Cameroun
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Douala Grand Mall
Proparco et Société Générale Cameroun soutiennent à hauteur de 30 millions d’euros le développement d’une infrastructure unique en Afrique Centrale. Le développement de ce pôle d’activité améliorera l’attractivité de la ville, viabilisera les zones environnantes et renforcera le tissu de l’économie formelle de la capitale camerounaise.
Présentation du client

Actis (www.act.is) est un fonds d'investissement britannique, leader sur les marchés émergents avec plus de 15 milliards de dollars investis en Asie, en Afrique et en Amérique latine. 
Avec plus de 70 ans d'expérience dans le financement des entreprises sur les marchés émergents, Actis a su développer et consolider une approche responsable de l’investissement, aujourd’hui définitivement intégrée dans la culture de l'entreprise. Actis est signataire des "Principes pour l'investissement responsable" (PRI), pacte soutenu par les Nations Unies et rédigé dans le cadre de l'Initiative financière du Programme des Nations unies pour l'environnement (UNEP FI). 
Actis est l’investisseur le plus expérimenté dans l’immobilier en Afrique subsaharienne, ayant réalisé plus de 11 développements « A-Grade » à travers 8 villes, y compris de nombreux actifs dans l’hôtellerie.
Actis a également une longue tradition d'investissements en private equity en Afrique, ayant déjà investi $5.0 milliards dans la région au cours des 15 dernières années.

Description du projet

Douala Grand Mall ("DGM"), est un centre commercial où ouvriront un supermarché, 160 magasins et boutiques, 22 restaurants ainsi qu’un cinéma sur 18 500 m² de surface locative. Conçu comme une destination Mall,  il est un lieu de consommation autant qu'un pôle d’attractivité. DGM ouvrira ses portes dès septembre 2020 et sera le premier centre commercial de cette ampleur en Afrique centrale. Le projet est situé à proximité de l’aéroport, dans une zone urbaine de 4 millions d’habitants. Il pourra accueillir jusqu’à 300 000 visiteurs par mois.

Impact du projet

Le projet devrait créer ou maintenir l’équivalent de 1 700 emplois directs et indirects à temps plein d’ici 5 ans. L’ouverture du DGM participe à la réalisation des objectifs de développement durable : #ODD 8 Travail décent et croissance économique via la création de plus de 3500 directs et indirects, #ODD 9 Industrie, innovation et infrastructures grâce au développement d’une infrastructure unique en Afrique Centrale, #ODD 11 Villes et communautés durables grâce au développement d’une infrastructure respectant des standards environnementaux élevés (certification EDGE) et  #ODD 12 Consommation et production responsables via le développement d’un pôle d’activité permettant d’améliorer l’attractivité de la ville et de viabiliser les zones environnantes. En termes d’accès, le projet Douala Grand Mall se positionne dans le secteur de la distribution « moderne », principalement destiné aux classes moyennes et supérieures à Douala, et pourrait profiter à 1 million de Doualais.

19/05/2020
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Cameroun
Localisation
Outils de financement
15 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 15 MEUR
Details du financement
DOUALA RETAIL AND CONVENTION CENTER
Client
CES