• logo linkedin
  • logo email
People using computers
DFCU Bank, Uganda’s second leading commercial bank, mainly supports SMEs and is highly active with informal entrepreneurs, smallholders and women. This loan will allow the bank to meet the major financing needs in USD of SMEs in the country.
Client presentation

DFCU Bank was set up as a development bank in 1964 by the UK’s CDC and the Government of Uganda. It is now the country's second largest commercial bank with total assets exceeding USD 800m at 31 December 2017, 67 branches and 100 ATMs. DFCU Banks offers a wide range of banking services to a clientele of over 450,000 individuals, SMEs and corporates.

Project description

This new financing jointly allocated by PROPARCO and its Dutch partner FMO will allow DFCU Bank to meet the high demand from USD-generating SMEs that need long-term financing in US dollars for their long-term investments.

Project impact

DFCU Bank aims to finance Ugandan SMEs (65% of its portfolio) and develop its network of branches by opening over 1,500 new branches in rural areas. This project will thereby contribute to financial inclusion and the diversification of the financial sector. 

In terms of economic impact, the project should support or create over 1,100 local jobs at DFCU Bank and Crane Bank, which DFCU recently acquired. 

Furthermore, the bank is very active with informal entrepreneurs and smallholders, for which it has developed specific “save for loan” products and technical assistance services. DFCU Bank also offers products and services to women via its “Women in Business” program, which reaches 8,000 women, and its “Business Women Advisory Council”. It thereby contributes to reducing gender inequalities in Uganda. 
 

05/06/2018
Date of signature of the project
Uganda
Location
Financing tool
12 855 674 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 15m
Financing details
DFCU BANK LIMITED
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
People using computers
Deuxième banque commerciale d'Ouganda, DFCU Bank accompagne majoritairement des PME et est très présente auprès des entrepreneurs informels, des petits planteurs et des femmes. Ce prêt permettra à la banque de répondre aux importants besoins de financements en dollars des PME du pays.
Présentation du client

Créée en 1964 en tant que banque de développement par la CDC britannique et le gouvernement ougandais e DFCU Bank est aujourd’hui la deuxième banque commerciale du pays, avec un total de bilan de plus de 800 millions de dollars au 31 décembre 2017, 67 succursales et 100 distributeurs automatiques de billets. DFCU Bank propose une large palette de services bancaires à une clientèle composée de plus de 450 000 particuliers, PME et entreprises. 

Description du projet

Ce nouveau financement,  octroyé conjointement par PROPARCO et par le FMO, son homologue néerlandais, permettra à DFCU Bank de répondre à l’importante demande émanant des PME qui génèrent des revenus en dollars et qui ont besoin de financements à long terme en dollars pour leurs investissements de long terme.

Impact du projet

DFCU Bank a pour projet de financer les PME ougandaises (65% du portefeuille) et de développer son réseau d'agences en ouvrant plus de 1500 nouvelles agences dans des zones rurales. Ce projet contribuera ainsi à l'inclusion financière et à la diversification du secteur financier.

En termes d'impact économique, le projet devrait permettre de soutenir ou créer plus de 1100 emplois locaux au sein de DFCU Bank et de Crane Bank dont DFCU a récemment fait l'acquisition.

De plus, la banque est très présente auprès des entrepreneurs informels et des petits planteurs pour lesquels elle a développé des produits de "save for loan" spécifiques et des services d'assistance technique. DFCU Bank offre également des produits et services à destination des femmes à travers son programme "Women in Business" qui touche 8000 femmes, et son "Business Women Advisory Council" et participe ainsi à la réduction des inégalités hommes-femmes en Ouganda.

05/06/2018
Date de signature du projet
Ouganda
Localisation
Outils de financement
12 855 674 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 15 MUSD
Details du financement
DFCU BANK LIMITED
Client
CES