• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Chine
China Water Affairs Group Limited (“CWA”) is one of the main Chinese actors in the water and sanitation sector. PROPARCO is assisting CWA in improving access to drinking water and sanitation in China, one of the countries the most concerned by water shortages.
Client presentation

China Water Affairs Group Limited (“CWA”) is one of the main operators in the water and sanitation sector in China. CWA has a highly diversified portfolio of activities covering the entire value chain: 
- water supply (raw & drinking water), 
- wastewater collection and treatment,
- the installation of water pipes and electronic meters and,
- water resources management. 
CWA has become one of the most integrated players in the sector. This currently allows it to deploy a capacity of 13 million m³, supplying over 10 million people with drinking water in rural and peri-urban areas (3 & 4 tier cities).

Project description

The project will increase the provision of water and sanitation services. PROPARCO’s financing will contribute to the production of an additional 200,000 m3 of water a day and to the development of an additional sanitation capacity of 100,000m3 a day. It will also improve the connection to water supply networks and sanitation services in the targeted provinces, which will promote more balanced development. 

Project impact

The project will also contribute to improving social well-being as the three concessions targeted by PROPARCO’s financing are part of a more general development program, which will eventually provide some 10 million people with access to a drinking water service meeting WHO standards and with affordable tariffs (block tariffs increasing depending on consumption bands), which will directly result in people being less exposed to water-borne diseases. 

On the environmental level, the project will contribute to biodiversity conservation and the management of natural environments and resources, by reducing pollution caused by the discharge of effluents for wastewater treatment projects. Indeed, the project will improve wastewater treatment, in particular sludge collection. It will also contribute to reducing CO2 emissions, as CWA aims to achieve a 28% rate for the use of solar energy by 2020.

In terms of job creation, the operator will employ some 12,000 people over the next 5 years, i.e. 4,100 more than at present. Women will account for 40% of this growth in employment.

Finally, the project will have a positive impact on resilience to climate change. Indeed, this financing of DWS and sanitation systems in China aims to meet drinking water needs in the region of Jiangxi, a region where there is a high prevalence of water-borne diseases, whose risks are set to further increase due to climate change. PROPARCO’s financing consequently has a 74% Adaptation dimension (USD 36.7m), as two of the concessions targeted by the project will significantly improve the quality of water distributed to residents in Jiangxi Province. 

06/11/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
China
Location
Financing tool
44 216 484 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 50m
Financing details
China Water Affairs Group Ltd
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Chine
China Water Affairs Group Limited (« CWA ») est l'un des principaux acteurs chinois du secteur de l'eau et de l'assainissement. Proparco soutient CWA pour améliorer l'accès à l'eau potable et à l'assainissement en Chine, l’un des pays les plus concernés par les pénuries d’eau.
Présentation du client

China Water Affairs Group Limited (« CWA ») est l’un des principaux opérateurs du secteur de l’Eau et de l’Assainissement en Chine.  CWA dispose d’un portefeuille d'activités très diversifié couvrant l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur : 
- l'approvisionnement en eau (brute & potable), 
- la collecte et le traitement des eaux usées, 
-  l'installation de conduites d'eau et de compteurs électroniques et 
- la gestion des ressources en eau. 
CWA s’est imposé comme l'un des opérateurs les plus intégrés du secteur ce qui lui permet de déployer actuellement une capacité de 13 millions de m³ permettant de servir en eau potable plus de 10 millions de personnes dans les zones rurales et péri-urbaines (villes Tiers 3 & 4). 

Description du projet

Le projet permettra d'accroÏtre l’offre de services d’eau et d’assainissement. Le financement de Proparco participera à la production de 200 000 m3 d’eau/ jour supplémentaires et au développement d'une capacité d’assainissement additionnelle de 100 000m3/jour. Il permettra également une meilleure connexion aux réseaux d’adduction d’eau potable et aux services d’assainissements dans les provinces ciblées, favorisant un développement plus équilibré.

Impact du projet

Le projet contribuera également à améliorer le bien-être social puisque les trois concessions ciblées par le financement de Proparco entrent dans le cadre d’un programme de développement plus global qui permettra à terme à près 10 millions de personnes d’accéder à un service d’eau potable aux normes OMS et à des tarifs abordables (tarification progressive selon les tranches de consommation), avec pour conséquence directe une exposition moins importante des populations aux maladies hydriques. 

Sur le plan environnemental, le projet contribuera à la préservation de la biodiversité et à la gestion des milieux et des ressources naturelles, à travers la réduction de la pollution due au rejet d'effluents pour les projets de traitement des eaux usées. Le projet permettra en effet d’améliorer le traitement des eaux usées et notamment la collecte des boues de vidange. Il contribuera également à réduire les émissions de CO2 puisque CWA a pour objectif d’atteindre d’ici 2020 un taux d’utilisation de 28% d’énergie solaire. 

En termes de créations d'emplois, l’opérateur emploiera près de 12 000 personnes d’ici 5 ans, soit 4 100 personnes de plus qu’actuellement. Les femmes représenteront 40% de cette croissance de l’emploi. 
 
Enfin, le projet aura un effet positif sur le plan de la résilience au changement climatique. Ce financement des systèmes d’AEP et d’assainissement en Chine vise en effet à répondre à des besoins en eau potable dans la région de Jiangxi, région qui présente une forte prévalence de maladies hydriques et dont les risques vont croitre encore sous l’effet du changement climatique. Le financement de Proparco présente donc une dimension Adaptation à hauteur de 74% (36,7MUSD) puisque deux des concessions ciblées par le projet permettront d’améliorer de manière significative la qualité de l’eau distribuée aux habitants de la province de Jiangxi. 
 

06/11/2018
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Chine
Localisation
Outils de financement
44 216 484 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 50 MUSD
Details du financement
China Water Affairs Group Ltd
Client
CES