• logo linkedin
  • logo email
By signing a partnership with the Tanzanian bank CRDB, Proparco is contributing to increasing its capacity to finance the country’s micro, small and medium-sized enterprises (MSMEs), with a focus on MSMEs run by women or affected by the Covid-19 crisis.
Client presentation

CRDB is a leading bank in Tanzania. It was set up in 1996 and has been listed on the Dar es Salaam Stock Exchange since 2009. Its main shareholders are the Danish fund DANIDA and Tanzania’s Public Service Social Security Fund. The bank has the most extensive network of branches in Tanzania and is the first bank in the country to be eligible for the Green Climate Fund.

Project description

The project involves supporting the bank’s development of its SME loans, via a USD 50m senior credit line and a EUR 18.5m EURIZ guarantee, as well as a technical assistance grant to assist the bank with its loans for women entrepreneurs. A EUR 8m Choose Africa Resilience guarantee will also support companies affected by the health crisis.

Project impact

The main expected impacts of the project are: 

  • Support for the economic development of Tanzania by financing CRDB’s corporate clients, mainly made up of SMEs and microenterprises, which are historically unserved or underserved by the country’s banking sector;
  • A contribution to formal employment in Tanzania, with some 4,800 jobs maintained;
  • Support for private initiatives led by women entrepreneurs and “green” projects (renewable energies, water and sanitation, energy efficiency, green buildings…) through the EURIZ guarantee;
  • Support for companies hard hit by the health crisis through the Choose Africa Resilience guarantee.
03/17/2022
Date of signature of the project
Tanzania
Location
Financing tool
44 626 918 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 50m loan
Financing details
financing program
CRDB BANK TANZANIE
Client
CES

The content of this project information sheet falls under the sole responsibility of the Proparco and does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the European Union and the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP Group).


This information is given at the time of signature, without prejudice to any developments in the operation/project

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
En signant un partenariat avec la banque tanzanienne CRDB, Proparco contribue au renforcement de sa capacité de financement des très petites, petites et moyennes entreprises (TPME) du pays, avec un focus pour les TPME dirigées par des femmes et celles impactées par la crise du Covid-19.
Présentation du client

CRDB est une banque majeure de Tanzanie. Créée en 1996, elle est depuis 2009 cotée à la bourse de Dar es Salaam. Ses actionnaires principaux sont le fonds danois DANIDA et le Fonds de sécurité sociale du service public tanzanien. La banque a le plus important réseau d'agences tanzanienne, et elle est la première banque du pays éligible au Fonds vert pour le climat.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste à accompagner la banque dans le développement de son offre PME, à travers une ligne de crédit senior de 50 M$ et une garantie de portefeuille EURIZ de 18,5 millions d'euros ainsi qu'une subvention d'acompagnement technique pour accompagner la banque dans son offre à destination des femmes entrepreneurs. Une garantie Choose Africa Résilience de 8 millions d'euros permettra également de soutenir les entreprises affectées par la crise sanitaire. 

Impact du projet

Les principaux impacts attendus du projet sont : 

  • le soutien au développement économique de la Tanzanie à travers le financement de la clientèle entreprise de CRDB, constituée majoritairement de PME ainsi que de TPE, historiquement peu ou mal servies par le secteur bancaire du pays ;
  • la contribution à l’emploi formel en Tanzanie, avec près de 4 800 emplois maintenus ;
  • le soutien des initiatives privées portées par les femmes entrepreneurs et des projets « verts » (énergies renouvelables, eau et assainissement, efficacité énergétique, green building, …) grâce à la garantie EURIZ ;
  • l'appui aux entreprises ayant été particulièrement impactées par la crise sanitaire grâce à la garantie Choose Africa Resilience.
17/03/2022
Date de signature du projet
Tanzanie
Localisation
Outils de financement
44 626 918 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 50 MUSD
Details du financement
financing program
CRDB BANK TANZANIE
Client
CES

Le contenu de cette fiche projet relève de la seule responsabilité de Proparco et ne reflète pas nécessairement les opinions de l’Union européenne et du Groupe des Etats d’Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique (Groupe ACP).

Ces informations sont données au moment de la signature et ne préjugent pas de l’évolution de l’opération/projet.