Cambodia: Providing technical assistance to the microfinance sector for the implementation of good lending practices

Cambodia
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
femme, microfinance, cambodge
Proparco is financing Technical Assistance to develop and implement common lending guidelines for microfinance players in Cambodia to prevent the risk of over indebtedness. This financing is also supporting the implementation of a monitoring and accountability mechanism.
Client presentation

The Cambodia Microfinance Association (CMA) is a non-profit association set up in 2004, whose purpose is to represent the interests of microfinance institutions (MFIs) and offer them various services (training, technical assistance, networking, etc.) in order to ensure the prosperity and sustainability of the microfinance sector in Cambodia. It plays a crucial role in the development of a local and international network of MFIs, the search for equity and loans, the application of new technologies and the supervision of conflicts between microfinance operators. 

Project description

In 2016, faced with a rapid growth in loans, CMA alerted players in the banking and microfinance sector to signs of a credit boom and the risk of an overindebtedness crisis. CMA set up a special working group to draft a memorandum of understanding on the lending guidelines which will be adopted by all the members of CMA. The donors FMO, BIO, INCOFIN, ADA and Proparco have set up a joint Technical Assistance project to assist CMA with the definition of these lending guidelines and the implementation of a monitoring and accountability mechanism.  

Project impact

This project would appear to be the first attempt in the microfinance sector to develop detailed guidelines which aim to prevent the risk of overindebtedness by defining specific  terms for loans that are most likely to lead to this risk. The expected impacts are structural and could have an effect on the microfinance sector in the long term with a securing of loans. The adoption of these common guidelines and these indicators by all players in the microfinance sector would considerably strengthen the stability of the sector and thereby ensure its growth. 

13/12/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Cambodia
Location
Financing tool
20 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 20,000 for technical assistance
Financing details
Cambodia Microfinance Association
Client

Au Cambodge, accompagner techniquemement le secteur de la microfinance dans la mise en place de bonnes pratiques en matière de prêts

Cambodge
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
femme, microfinance, cambodge
Proparco finance un Accompagnement Technique pour élaborer et mettre en place des directives communes aux acteurs du secteur de la microfinance au Cambodge permettant de prévenir le risque de surendettement (lending guidelines). Ce financement permet également d'accompagner la mise en place d'un mécanisme de surveillance et de redevabilité.
Présentation du client

Créée en 2004, la Cambodia Microfinance Association (CMA) est une association à but non lucratif dont l’objet est de représenter les intérêts des institutions de microfinance (IMF) et de leurs offrir divers services (formation, assistance technique, mise en réseau etc.) afin d’assurer la prospérité et la durabilité du secteur de la microfinance au Cambodge. Elle joue un rôle essentiel dans le développement d’un réseau local et international d’IMFs, la recherche de fonds propres et de prêts, l’application des nouvelles technologies ou bien encore la supervision des conflits entre les opérateurs de microfinance.

Description du projet

En 2016  face à une croissance rapide des prêts, la CMA alerté les acteurs du secteur bancaire et de la microfinance face aux signes d’un emballement du crédit, et le risque  d'une crise de surendettement.  La CMA a constitué un groupe de travail spécial afin de rédiger un mémorandum d'entente sur les lignes directrices à adopter en matière de prêts (« lending guidelines ») qui seront adoptées par tous les membres de la CMA.  Les bailleurs FMO, BIO, INCOFIN, ADA et PROPARCO ont mis en place un projet conjoint d’Accompagnement Technique destiné à appuyer la CMA dans la définition de ces lending guidelines  et la mise en place d'un mécanisme de surveillance et de redevabilité. 

Impact du projet

Ce projet semble être la première tentative dans le secteur de la microfinance d’élaborer des directives détaillées qui visent à prévenir le risque de surendettement en définissant les modalités de prêts spécifiques qui sont les plus susceptibles d'entraîner ce risque. Les impacts attendus sont d’ordre structurel, susceptibles d’affecter à terme le secteur de la microfinance avec une sécurisation des prêts. L’adoption, par l’ensemble des acteurs du secteur de la microfinance, de ces lignes directrices communes et de ces indicateurs consoliderait  fortement la stabilité de secteur pour en assurer la croissance. 
 

13/12/2018
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Cambodge
Localisation
Outils de financement
20 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Accompagnement technique de 20 000 EUR
Details du financement
Cambodia Microfinance Association
Client