• logo linkedin
  • logo email
By financing the extension of the Port of Tanger Med, Proparco is contributing to job creation in the country’s North region and to the development of a major African port.
Client presentation

CIB-Offshore is a subsidiary of Banque Centrale Populaire (BCP) Group in Morocco. Operating in 32 countries and with a total balance sheet of EUR 40.8bn and EUR 1.8bn of NBI at the end of 2020, Banque Centrale Populaire Group is one of the top ten African banks. BCP is one of PROPARCO’s main partners in Africa.

Project description

The project involves the allocation of a EUR 35m loan to CIB Offshore to finance the extension of the Port of Tanger, which is a real bridge between Europe and Africa. 

The Port of Tanger Med was launched in 2007 and has gradually become the main port facility in the Mediterranean and Africa. Tanger Med is connected to over 180 ports and 70 countries. It has state-of-the-art facilities which ensure the continuity of supply chains with port hubs such as Singapore, Rotterdam and Hamburg.

The Port of Tanger Med is currently in full expansion through the construction and operation of Tanger Med II and its Container Terminal n° 3 (CT3). This terminal has been financed by a consortium of Moroccan banks, including CIB Offshore. Proparco is refinancing CIB Offshore’s loan to CT3 with EUR 35m with a 16-year maturity.

Project impact

The Port of Tanger Med has 6 activity areas and over 1,000 companies. It supports Morocco’s growth and the development of its North region. Africa and Europe account for the bulk of the container activity (36% and 35% of traffic, respectively).

The project will support more than 2,000 jobs over the next 5 years, including 1,300 job creations. It will contribute EUR 48.2m to Morocco’s GDP every year. This project will thereby contribute to the achievement of SDG 8 (Decent work and economic growth) and SDG 9 (Industry, innovation and infrastructure).

03/18/2022
Date of signature of the project
Morocco
Location
Financing tool
35 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 35m loan
Financing details
CHAABI INTERNATIONAL BANK OFFSHORE
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
En finançant l'extension du port Tanger Med, Proparco participe à la création d'emplois dans la région Nord du pays et au développement d'un port majeur du continent africain.
Présentation du client

CIB-Offshore est une filiale du groupe Banque Centrale Populaire (BCP) au Maroc. Présent dans 32 pays et avec 40,8 Mrd d'euros de total bilan et 1,8 Mds d'euros de PNB à fin 2020, le Groupe Banque Centrale Populaire figure dans le top 10 des banques africaines. La BCP est l’un des principaux partenaires de Proparco sur le continent africain. 

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en un prêt de 35 millions d’euros accordé à CIB-Offshore afin de financer l’extension du port de Tanger, véritable trait d’union entre l’Europe et l’Afrique. 

Lancé en 2007, le port de Tanger Med s’est progressivement imposé comme la première infrastructure portuaire de Méditerranée et d’Afrique. Connecté à plus de 180 ports et 70 pays, Tanger Med possède des infrastructures ultra-modernes qui garantissent la continuité des chaînes logistiques avec des hubs portuaires tels que Singapour, Rotterdam ou Hambourg.

Le port de Tanger Med est aujourd’hui en pleine expansion, via la construction et l’exploitation de Tanger Med II et de son Terminal à Conteneurs n°3 (TC3). Ce dernier 
a été financé par un consortium de banques marocaines, incluant CIB Offshore. Proparco refinance le prêt de CIB Offshore au TC3 à hauteur de 35 millions d’euros, sur une durée de 16 ans. 

Impact du projet

Le port de Tanger Med compte 6 zones d’activités et plus de 1 000 entreprises, et soutient la croissance marocaine et le développement de la région Nord du Maroc. L'essentiel de l'activité conteneurs repose sur l'Afrique et l'Europe (respectivement 36% et 35% du trafic).

Le projet soutiendra plus de 2 000 emplois d'ici cinq ans, dont plus de 1 300 emplois créés. Il permettra une contribution au PIB marocain de 48,2 millions d'euros par an. Ce projet contribuera ainsi à la réalisation des ODD8 (Travail décent et croissance économique) et ODD9 (Industrie, innovation et infrastructure).

18/03/2022
Date de signature du projet
Maroc
Localisation
Outils de financement
35 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 35 MEUR
Details du financement
CHAABI INTERNATIONAL BANK OFFSHORE
Client
CES