• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Workers maintain the thermal power station at Takoradi, Ghana
This USD 30m loan marks PROPARCO’s 5th operation with the Ghanaian bank CAL Bank. This new financing will increase the bank’s capacity to meet the needs of Ghana’s private sector. At least a third of this credit line will be earmarked to finance renewable energy and energy efficiency projects.
Client presentation

CAL Bank is a Ghanaian commercial bank set up in 1990. It obtained a universal bank license in 2004. It plays a major role in Ghana’s financial sector by offering corporate and investment banking services to large companies. It also has retail banking and asset management activities.

Project description

This USD 30m loan aims to support CAL’s growth. At least a third of this credit line will be earmarked to finance renewable energy and energy efficiency projects.

Project impact

In Ghana, despite a well-established regulatory framework for the development of the renewable energy sector, the implementation of projects comes up against a major barrier: the lack of local access to long-term credit. However, the first solar projects have been coming into being since 2016, in a context of (i) political impetus following the Paris Agreement and (ii) the reduction in the cost of solar production compared to costly thermal energy.
About a third of PROPARCO’s credit line is earmarked to finance climate, renewable energy and energy efficiency projects. Two pilot projects will be eligible for this dedicated credit line: (i) a solar power plant project (ii) an industrial energy efficiency project. This is one of the first financing operations for renewable energy and energy efficiency projects conducted by Cal Bank.
In the context of the development of CAL’s activity, PROPARCO’s support could allow the bank to maintain 755 jobs and create an additional 60% of positions by 2022.

29/05/2018
Date of signature of the project
Ghana
Location
Financing tool
25 800 858 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 30m
Financing details
CAL BANK
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Workers maintain the thermal power station at Takoradi, Ghana
Ce prêt de 30 millions de dollars marque la 5ème opération de Proparco avec la banque ghanéenne CAL Bank. Ce nouveau financement permettra de renforcer la capacité de la banque à répondre aux besoins du secteur privé ghanéen. Au moins un tiers de cette ligne de crédit sera dédiée au financement de projets d’énergie renouvelable et d’efficacité énergétique.
Présentation du client

CAL Bank est une banque commerciale ghanéenne fondée en 1990. Elle a obtenu une licence de banque universelle en 2004. Elle joue un rôle important dans le secteur financier ghanéen, en offrant des services de banque de financement et d’investissement aux grandes entreprises. Elle exerce également des activités de banque de détail et de gestion d'actifs.

Description du projet

Ce prêt de 30 millions de dollars a pour objectif d’accompagner CAL dans sa croissance. Au moins un tiers de cette ligne sera destinée à financer des projets d'énergie renouvelable et d'efficacité d'énergétique.

Impact du projet

Au Ghana, malgré un cadre réglementaire bien établi en termes de développement de la filière des énergies renouvelables, le déploiement de projets se heurte à un obstacle majeur : le manque d'accès local au crédit long terme. Néanmoins, les premiers projets solaires voient le jour depuis l'année 2016, dans un contexte (i) d'impulsion politique suite à l'Accord de Paris et de (ii) baisse du coût de production solaire par rapport à une énergie thermique coûteuse.
Environ un tiers de la ligne de crédit de Proparco est dédié au financement de projets climat, d'énergie renouvelable et d'efficacité énergétique. Deux projets pilotes seraient éligibles à cette ligne dédiée: (i) un projet de centrale solaire (ii) un projet industriel d'efficacité énergétique. Il s'agit d'un des premiers financements de projets d'énergie renouvelable et d'efficacité énergétique de Cal Bank.
Au titre du développement de l'activité de CAL, le soutien de Proparco pourrait permettre à la banque de maintenir 755 emplois et de créer 60% de postes en plus d'ici 2022.

29/05/2018
Date de signature du projet
Ghana
Localisation
Outils de financement
25 800 858 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 30 MUSD
Details du financement
CAL BANK
Client
CES