• logo linkedin
  • logo email
BRITAM
PROPARCO is supporting the development of Britam’s activity by becoming a shareholder of the Group via the Africinvest III-SPV1 investment vehicle, alongside Africinvest, DEG and FMO.
Client presentation

Britam has been established in Kenya since 1965 and offers a wide range of insurance products (life, non-life and health) and financial services. Outside Kenya, the Group operates subsidiaries in Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Southern Sudan, Mozambique and Malawi, making it one of the main financial groups in East Africa. Britam is listed on the Nairobi Securities Exchange.

Project description

PROPARCO is taking part in Britam’s capital increase via the investment vehicle Africinvest III-SPV1, alongside Africinvest, DEG and FMO. The project aims to support the growth of the Group’s subsidiaries in Kenya and in the other East African countries. The Group also wants to strengthen its computer systems and develop new digital products and services (insurance by mobile phone, etc.). 

Project impact

This project will contribute to strengthening the penetration of insurance in East Africa. Britam has set out to develop microinsurance activities and digital distribution channels which will promote access to financial services for populations that are currently underserved in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Southern Sudan, Mozambique and Malawi. 
Britam also intends to develop health insurance and microinsurance for the agriculture sector, which is still not widespread. The Group has also benefited from AFD’s grant program for microinsurance companies. Finally, the project will help maintain and create jobs in the countries where the Group operates in order to support the planned growth in activity.

22/09/2017
Date of signature of the project
Kenya
Location
Financing tool
Africinvest III-SPV1
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
BRITAM
Pour accompagner Britam dans le développement de son activité, Proparco entre, à travers le véhicule d’investissement Africinvest III-SPV1, au capital du Groupe aux côtés d'Africinvest, DEG et FMO. 
Présentation du client

Britam, implantée au Kenya depuis 1965, offre un large éventail de produits d’assurance (vie, non vie et santé) et de services financiers. En dehors du Kenya, le groupe opère des filiales en Ouganda, en Tanzanie, au Rwanda, au Sud-Soudan, au Mozambique et au Malawi et constitue ainsi un des principaux groupes financiers de l’Afrique de l’Est. Britam est cotée à la bourse de Nairobi.

 

Description du projet

PROPARCO, au travers du véhicule d’investissement Africinvest III-SPV1, prend part à l'augmentation de capital de Britam,  aux côtés d'Africinvest, DEG et FMO. Le projet vise à accompagner la croissance des filiales du groupe au Kenya et dans les autres pays de l’Afrique de l’Est. Le groupe souhaite également renforcer ses systèmes informatiques et développer de nouveaux produits et services digitaux (assurance sur mobile, etc.).

Impact du projet

Ce projet contribuera à renforcer la pénétration de l’assurance en Afrique de l’Est. Britam a entrepris de développer les activités de micro-assurance et les canaux de distribution digitaux qui favoriseront l’accès aux services financiers des populations peu desservies aujourd’hui au Kenya, en Ouganda, en  Tanzanie, au Rwanda, au Sud Soudan, en Mozambique et au Malawi. 
Britam entend également développer l'assurance santé et la micro-assurance pour le secteur agricole, encore peu répandues. Le groupe a d'ailleurs bénéficié du programme de subvention des entreprises de micro-assurance proposé par l'AFD. 
Enfin, le projet permettra de soutenir et de créer des emplois dans les pays où le groupe est présent afin d’accompagner la croissance prévue de l’activité.

22/09/2017
Date de signature du projet
Kenya
Localisation
Outils de financement
Africinvest III-SPV1
Client
CES