• logo linkedin
  • logo email
visite d'une usine de crevettes
Proparco is financing companies via a loan of some EUR 26m (USD 30m) allocated to the bank “Banco Bolivariano”, with a focus on shrimp production and export. This is a strategic sector for Banco Bolivariano and is experiencing strong growth in the country.
Client presentation

The Ecuadorian bank “Banco Bolivariano” was set up in 1979 and started its operations as a financial institution the following year, in March 1980. Starting in the 2000s, the bank extended its services to fund management, stock portfolio administration, bond debt structuring on the capital market and auxiliary services related to issuing and managing credit cards. It is currently the country’s 6th largest bank with nationwide coverage through its presence in 23 of the country’s 24 provinces, via 107 branches. It has 1,489 employees and focuses on financing the country’s productive sectors.

Project description

This operation aims to support growth in the bank’s loan portfolio, with a focus on the development of its lending activity to the agribusiness sector. It involves a USD 30m loan that will mainly be used to finance shrimp production and export companies. These are strategic sectors for Banco Bolivariano and are experiencing strong growth in the country. The shrimp sector has indeed become the country’s leading export sector.

Project impact

Based on the average loan allocated to Ecuadorian companies by Banco Bolivariano, we estimate that PROPARCO’s operation could help finance some 200 additional companies. The project will also support employment for local communities: 

  • Banco Bolivariano currently has some 1,500 employees, 58% being women. The project should contribute to creating 500 additional direct jobs for a total of some 2,000 jobs by 2023. All employees follow mandatory training in banking activities and talent retention programs are set up. 
  • In addition, the project should support some 14,500 jobs in Banco Bolivariano’s client companies.
15/11/2019
Date of signature of the project
Ecuador
Location
Financing tool
26 915 485 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 30m loan
Financing details
Banco Bolivariano C.A.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
visite d'une usine de crevettes
Via un prêt d'environ 26 millions d'euros (30 millions de dollars) octroyé à la banque "Banco Bolivariano", Proparco finance des entreprises, notamment dans la production et l'exportation de crevettes, un secteur stratégique pour Banco Bolivariano et qui connait une forte croissance dans le pays.
Présentation du client

La banque équatorienne, "Banco Bolivariano" a été fondée en 1979  et a commencé ses opérations en tant qu’institution financière l’année suivante, en mars 1980. A partir des années 2000, la banque a étendu ses services à la gestion de fonds, l’administration de portefeuilles boursiers, la structuration de dette obligataire sur le marché des capitaux et à des prestations de services auxiliaires en relation avec l’émission et la gestion de cartes de crédit. A ce jour, elle est la 6ème banque du pays avec une couverture nationale par sa présence dans 23 des 24 provinces du pays, via 107 agences, elle compte 1 489 employés et s'attache à financer les secteurs productifs du pays.

Description du projet

Cette opération vise à soutenir la banque dans la croissance de son portefeuille de crédits et plus particulièrement dans le développement de son activité de prêts au secteur agro-industriel. Il s’agit d’un prêt de 30 M USD, qui sera en majeure partie utilisé pour financer des entreprises de production et d'exportation de crevettes, qui sont des secteurs stratégiques pour Banco Bolivariano et connaissent une forte croissance dans le pays, le secteur de la crevette étant devenu le premier secteur exportateur du pays.

Impact du projet

Sur la base du prêt moyen accordé aux entreprises équatoriennes par Banco Bolivariano, nous estimons que l’opération de Proparco pourrait soutenir le financement de près de 200 entreprises supplémentaires. Le projet soutiendra également l'emploi des populations locales : 

  • Banco Bolivariano compte aujourd'hui près de 1 500 employés, dont 58% de femmes. Le projet devrait contribuer à créer 500 emplois directs supplémentaires pour un total de près de 2 000 emplois d’ici 2023. Tous les employés suivent des formations obligatoires sur les métiers de la banque et des programmes de rétention des talents sont mis en place. 
  • En complément, le projet devrait soutenir environ 14 500 emplois au sein des entreprises clientes de Banco Bolivariano. 
15/11/2019
Date de signature du projet
Equateur
Localisation
Outils de financement
26 915 485 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 30 MUSD
Details du financement
Banco Bolivariano C.A.
Client
CES