• logo linkedin
  • logo email
The operation involves an equity investment by Proparco in Ashmore Andean Fund III, which will support infrastructure and climate projects in Colombia and Peru.
Client presentation

Ashmore Andean Fund III (AAF III) is an infrastructure fund mainly dedicated to Colombia and Peru, but also to several Central American countries. The manager, Ashmore Colombia, which is based in Bogota and Lima, has made 19 investments since it was set up in 2009. Proparco has already invested in the previous fund, Ashmore Andean Fund II.

Project description

The project involves a USD 20m equity investment by Proparco in the AAF III fund. With a target size of USD 350m, AAF III will invest in about ten infrastructure projects in the sectors of transport, electricity, logistics, water and waste, telecommunications, health and education. AAF III will support the development and growth of this infrastructure, with a preference for majority equity investments. AAF III will thereby contribute to increasing the productivity and competitiveness of local companies, while having a positive impact on the climate.

Project impact

The project will achieve the following impacts:

  • Support for some 4,500 jobs in the fund and its underlying funds over the next 5 years, including 50% for women. 
  • A contribution to climate change mitigation and adaptation through the fund’s commitment to invest 30% of the amounts in projects classified as climate projects, such as for the development of renewable energy infrastructure (solar and hydro) in Colombia and Peru. 

This project will contribute to the achievement of SDG 8 (“Decent work and economic growth”) and SDG 13 (“Climate action”).

03/30/2022
Date of signature of the project
Colombia
Location
Financing tool
19 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 20m Equity Investment
Financing details
Ashmore Andean Fund III, LP.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
L'opération consiste en une prise de participation de Proparco dans le fonds Ashmore Andean Fund III, qui soutiendra des projets infrastructures et climats, en Colombie et au Pérou.
Présentation du client

Ashmore Andean Fund III (AAF III) est un fonds d’infrastructure dédié principalement à la Colombie et au Pérou, mais aussi à plusieurs pays d’Amérique Centrale. Le gestionnaire Ashmore Colombia, basé à Bogota et à Lima, a réalisé 19 investissements depuis sa création en 2009. Proparco a déjà investi dans le précédent fonds Ashmore Andean Fund II.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en une prise de participation de Proparco de 20 millions de dollars dans le fonds AAF III. D’une taille cible de 350 millions de dollars, AAF III, investira dans une dizaine de projets d’infrastructures dans les secteurs du transport, de l’électricité, de la logistique, de l’eau et des déchets, des télécommunications, de la santé et de l’éducation. AAF III accompagnera le développement et la croissance de ces infrastructures, avec une préférence pour des prises de participations majoritaires. Ainsi, AAF III participera à renforcer la productivité et la compétitivité des entreprises locales tout en ayant un impact positif sur le climat.

Impact du projet

Le projet permettra les impacts suivants :

  • le soutien d'ici 5 ans de près de 4 500 emplois au sein du fonds et de ses sous-jacents, dont 50% de femmes. 
  • la contribution à l'atténuation et à l'adaptation au changement climatique grâce à l'engagement pris par le fonds d'investir 30% des montants dans des projets classés climat, comme par exemple le développement d'infrastructures d'énergie renouvelable (solaire et hydraulique) en Colombie et au Pérou. 

Ce projet contribuera à la réalisation de l'ODD 8 ("Travail décent et croissance économique") et de l'ODD 13 ("Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques"). 

30/03/2022
Date de signature du projet
Colombie
Localisation
Outils de financement
19 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 20 MUSD
Details du financement
Ashmore Andean Fund III, LP.
Client
CES