• logo linkedin
  • logo email
symbiotcs green bonds armenia ararat bank
Proparco has subscribed to a green and social bond issued by Symbiotics. The proceeds will be transferred to the Armenian bank Araratbank to finance SMEs, microenterprises and green projects.
Client presentation

Araratbank is an Armenian bank set up in 1991 which mainly targets small and medium-sized enterprises. With a total balance sheet of USD 475.3m in 2020, it accounts for 5% of total assets in the banking sector.

Project description

Proparco has made a USD 5m subscription to a social and green bond for a total amount of USD 14.5m issued by the innovative MSME Bonds platform of Symbiotics, a Swiss asset management company specialized in impact investment. The proceeds of the bond will be transferred as a loan to Araratbank with the objective of financing MSMEs and green projects in Armenia: renewable energies (solar power plants), energy efficiency (upgrading and retrofitting of buildings and houses) and clean mobility (electric and hybrid vehicles). 

Project impact

This project should contribute to the growth of some 70 MSMEs in Armenia, which will promote job creation and contribute to financial inclusion in the country. Some 60 microentrepreneurs should have access to a loan through Proparco’s financing. 

This project should also support some 1,400 jobs in the local economy, mainly through the financing for MSMEs.

Finally, the financing should have positive impacts on the climate, as part of the funds will be used to finance projects with climate co-benefits, in line with the Common Principles for Climate Mitigation Finance Tracking.

This project should thereby contribute to SDGs n° 8 (“Decent work and economic growth”) and n° 13 (“Climate action”).

05/25/2021
Date of signature of the project
Armenia
Location
Financing tool
4 157 312 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 5m loan
Financing details
Araratbank
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
symbiotcs green bonds armenia ararat bank
Proparco a souscrit à une obligation verte et sociale émise par Symbiotics dont le produit sera retrocédé à la banque arménienne Araratbank pour financer des PME, des microentreprises et des projets verts.
Présentation du client

Fondée en 1991, Araratbank est une banque arménienne ciblant principalement les petites et moyennes entreprises. Avec un bilan total de 475,3 MUSD en 2020, elle représente 5% du total des actifs du secteur bancaire. 

Description du projet

Proparco a souscrit pour 5 MUSD à une obligation sociale et verte d’un montant total de 14,5 MUSD émise par la plateforme innovante MSME Bonds de Symbiotics, une société de gestion d'actifs suisse spécialisée dans l'investissement à impact. Le produit de l'obligation sera rétrocédé sous forme de prêt à Araratbank avec pour objectif de financer en Arménie les PMEs, les microentreprises et les projets verts : énergies renouvelables (centrales solaires), efficacité énergétique (amélioration et mise aux normes de bâtiments et maisons), ou encore mobilité propre (véhicules électriques ou hybrides).  

Impact du projet

Ce projet devrait contribuer à la croissance de près de 70 microentreprises et PME en Arménie, favorisant ainsi la création d'emplois et contribuant à l'inclusion financière dans le pays. Près de 60 microentrepreneurs devraient avoir accès à un crédit grâce au financement de Proparco. 

Aussi, ce projet devrait soutenir près de 1 400 emplois dans l'économie locale, essentiellement grâce au financement des microentreprises et PME.

Enfin, le financement devrait avoir des effets positifs sur le climat, puisqu'une partie des fonds sera utilisée pour financer des projets à co-bénéfices climat en accord avec les "Common Principles for climate mitigation finance tracking".

Ce projet devrait ainsi contribuer aux ODD n°8 (« Travail décent et croissance économique ») et n°13 (« Lutte contre le changement climatique »).

25/05/2021
Date de signature du projet
Arménie
Localisation
Outils de financement
4 157 312 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 5 MUSD
Details du financement
Araratbank
Client
CES