Supporting financial inclusion in Côte d'Ivoire and strengthening the microfinance institution Advans for the long term.

Côte d'Ivoire
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
advans CI, bâtiments
For the second time, FISEA is participating in the capital increase of Advans Côte d'Ivoire, the country’s 2nd largest microfinance institution. This renewed support will allow the MFI to develop its activities, in particular outside Abidjan, in regions where the poorest communities and MSMEs are still too often excluded from banking services.
Client presentation

Advans Côte d'Ivoire is a Sub-Saharan African microfinance institution (MFI) with a mission to provide financial services to microenterprises, small and medium-sized enterprises and other economic agents, which are not sufficiently served by traditional banking players. 
Since the start of its operations in March 2012, Advans CI has managed to deploy a wide range of financial services that are not confined to credit and savings products, but also include money transfer services, a withdrawal card, microinsurance products and mobile banking services. 
At the end of 2017, the MFI had 14,100 active borrowers and is today the 2nd largest microfinance institution in Côte d'Ivoire with a portfolio of EUR 91m.


The institution also focuses on financial inclusion for cocoa producers, a segment often perceived as being too risky by the other financial institutions. In 2017, Advans CI financed input loans for over 200 cooperatives. 12,000 producers have had access to an Advans bank account via mobile banking. 

Project description

FISEA is a longstanding partner of Advans Côte d'Ivoire, as it became a shareholder when it was set up in 2010, alongside Advans SA (holding company), FMO and SGBCI, which were joined by IFC in 2012.
This is the 2nd capital increase in which the historical shareholders of Advans CI are participating. It will support the growth in the MFI’s activity, in particular outside Abidjan, in regions of the country where poor communities and microenterprises, small and medium-sized enterprises (MSMEs) are still largely underserved by banks and microfinance institutions. 

Project impact

The project to finance Advans CI will support local economic activity and financial inclusion by developing loan services for Ivorian rural and urban MSMEs, which are currently insufficiently served in the country.
Over the next 5 years, Advans CI should be able to provide loan services to some 167,800 entrepreneurs. By 2022, the institution’s capital increase operation should allow over 160 MSMEs to benefit from Advans CI loans for a total amount of some EUR 1.6m. 
The project will also support direct and indirect local employment. Advans CI is planning to recruit 215 people by 2021.

10/07/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Côte d'Ivoire
Location
Financing tool
405 514 Euros
Amount of funding
FCFA 266m capital increase (i.e. EUR 405,514)
Financing details
ADVANS COTE D'IVOIRE
Client
CES
Projet Advans ci

FISEA participated in the capital increase of Advans Côte d’Ivoire in 2015

This operation had supported the microfinance institution’s development, particularly outside of Abidjan, in regions where poor populations and SMEs are still largely underserved by banks and microfinance institutions. The technical assistance project helped Advans CI improve and develop on a large scale its “cocoa loan” for cocoa smallholders in Côte d’Ivoire.

Soutenir l'inclusion financière en Côte d'Ivoire et renforçant dans la durée l'institution de microfinance Advans

Côte d'Ivoire
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
advans CI, bâtiments
Pour la seconde fois, FISEA participe à l'augmentation de capital d'Advans Côte d'Ivoire, 2ème institution de microfinance du pays. Ce soutien renouvellé permettra à l'IMF de développer ses activités notamment hors d’Abidjan, dans des régions où les populations les plus démunies et les MPME sont encore trop souvent exclues des services bancaires.
Présentation du client

Advans Côte d'Ivoire est une institution de microfinance («IMF») d’Afrique subsaharienne ayant comme mission de fournir des services financiers aux micros, petites et moyennes entreprises et d'autres agents économiques, insuffisamment desservis par les acteurs bancaires classiques.
Depuis le démarrage de ses opérations en mars 2012, Advans CI est parvenue à déployer une large gamme de services financiers qui ne se limite pas à des produits de crédit et d’épargne mais qui inclut également des services de transferts d’argent, une carte de retrait, des produits de micro-assurance et des services de banque à distance (mobile banking).
A fin 2017, l'IMF comptait 14 100 emprunteurs actifs et est aujourd’hui la 2ème institution de microfinance ivoirienne avec un portefeuille de 91 millions d'euros.

L’institution se focalise également sur l’inclusion financière des producteurs de cacao, un segment souvent perçu comme trop risqué par les autres institutions financières. En 2017, Advans CI a financé des crédits d’intrants auprès de plus de 200 coopératives. 12 000 producteurs ont eu accès à un compte bancaire Advans via le mobile banking.

Description du projet

FISEA est un partenaire historique d'Advans Côte d'Ivoire puisqu'elle est entrée au capital à sa création en 2010 aux côtés d'Advans SA (holding), du FMO et de la SGBCI, rejoints en 2012 par la SFI.
Il s'agit aujourd'hui de la 2eme augmentation de capital à laquelle participent les actionnaires historiques d'Advans CI. Elle permettra de soutenir la croissance de l'activité de l'IMF, notamment hors d’Abidjan, dans des régions du pays où les populations pauvres et les micros, petites et moyennes entreprises (MPME) sont toujours très peu servies par les banques et institutions de microfinance. 

Impact du projet

Le projet de financement d’Advans CI soutiendra l’activité économique locale et l’inclusion financière via le développement de l'offre de crédits aux MPME ivoiriennes rurales et urbaines, aujourd'hui insuffisamment desservies dans le pays. 
D’ici 5 ans, Advans CI devrait pouvoir fournir des services de crédits à près de 167 800 entrepreneurs. L’opération d’augmentation du capital de l’institution devrait permettre, d’ici 2022,  à plus de 160 MPME de bénéficier de crédits d’Advans CI pour un montant total d’environ 1.6 million d’EUR. 
Le projet soutiendra également l’emploi local direct et indirect. Advans CI prévoit d’embaucher 215 personnes d’ici 2021.

10/07/2018
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Côte d'Ivoire
Localisation
Outils de financement
405 514 Euros
Montant du financement
Augmentation de capital de 266 millions FCFA (soit 405 514 EUR)
Details du financement
ADVANS COTE D'IVOIRE
Client
CES

FISEA a participé à l’augmentation de capital d’Advans Côte d’Ivoire en 2015

FISEA a participé à l’augmentation de capital d’Advans Côte d’Ivoire dont il est actionnaire depuis 2010. Cette opération a permis de soutenir le développement de l’institution de microfinance notamment hors d’Abidjan, dans des régions où les populations pauvres et les PME sont toujours très peu servies par les banques et les institutions de microfinance. Le projet d'accompagnement technique a permis d'accompagner Advans CI dans l'amélioration et le développement à grande échelle de son offre de "crédit cacao" destinée aux petits producteurs de cacao en Côte d’Ivoire.