• logo linkedin
  • logo email
With a USD 50m loan to VPBank, Proparco has signed its first operation in Vietnam, which is partly dedicated to climate projects. It is also financing green and energy efficiency projects and supporting SMEs in the country.
Client presentation

VPBank (Vietnam Prosperity Joint Stock Company) is the country’s 10th largest bank in terms of assets and the 6th largest private bank, with a total balance sheet of USD 16.3bn at the end of 2019. 

Project description

USD 35m from the credit line is earmarked to support the bank’s SME lending activity, a business segment that VPBank is specialized in. USD 15m will support the development of its loan portfolio with climate co-benefits, in a country where the environmental risk is growing at a fast rate.

Project impact

The operation will have a positive impact on access to bank loans for SMEs in a context where there is a lack of financing for SMEs in the country. According to the International Finance Corporation, some 17% of the country’s SMEs have unmet financing needs, creating a financing gap of USD 21.7bn, equivalent to 11% of the country’s GDP. Based on the average loan amount for SMEs, we estimate that Proparco’s financing could allow about 350 more SMEs to benefit from a loan. 

The project will also have positive impacts on increasing financing for the fight against climate change in Vietnam, where bank financing for the climate is still relatively low for a market where there are significant needs. In this respect, 30% of Proparco’s loan will be counted as climate-related, as the eligibility list of the Common Principles for Climate Mitigation/Adaptation Finance Tracking will be applied to our loan. 

18/06/2020
Date of signature of the project
Vietnam
Location
Financing tool
45 053 162 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 50m loan with a 50% AFD subparticipation
Financing details
VIETNAM PROSPERITY JOINT STOCK COMMERCIAL BANK
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Avec un prêt de 50 millions de dollars au bénéfice de VPBank, Proparco signe sa première opération au Vietnam en partie dédiée à des projets en faveur du climat, et s'engage à financer des projets verts et d'efficacité énergétique, ainsi qu'à soutenir les PME dans le pays.
Présentation du client

VPBank (Vietnam Prosperity Joint Stock Company) est la 10ème banque du pays en termes d’actifs et 6ème banque privée avec un total bilan de 16,3 Mds USD à fin 2019.

Description du projet

La ligne de crédit mise en place est destinée à soutenir l’activité de prêts aux PME de la banque pour 35 MUSD, un segment d’entreprises sur lequel VPBank s’est spécialisée, ainsi qu’à accompagner le développement  de son portefeuille de crédits à co-bénéfices climat pour 15 MUSD, dans un pays où le risque environnemental croît fortement.

Impact du projet

L’opération aura un effet positif sur l’accès des PME aux crédits bancaires dans un contexte de déficit de financements des PME du pays. Selon la Société Financière Internationale, environ 17% des PME du pays ont des besoins de financement non satisfaits, créant un déficit de financement de 21,7 milliards USD, équivalant à 11% du PIB du pays.  Sur la base du montant du prêt moyen aux PME, nous estimons que le financement de Proparco pourrait permettre à près de 350 PME additionnelles de bénéficier d’un crédit.  

Le projet aura également des effets positifs sur l’augmentation du financement de la lutte contre le changement climatique au Vietnam, où les financements bancaires du climat sont encore relativement faibles pour un marché où le besoin est important. A ce titre, 30% du prêt de Proparco sera comptabilisé climat dans la mesure où la liste d’éligibilité des Common Principles for Climate Mitigation/Adaptation Finance Tracking sera appliquée à notre prêt. 

18/06/2020
Date de signature du projet
Vietnam
Localisation
Outils de financement
45 053 162 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 50 MUSD avec une sous-participation de 50 % de l'AFD
Details du financement
VIETNAM PROSPERITY JOINT STOCK COMMERCIAL BANK
Client
CES