• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is providing access to financing for SMEs in Nigeria and Ghana through a EUR 13.5m equity investment in the “Verod Capital Growth Fund III” fund.
Client presentation

Verod Capital Growth Fund III is a USD 200m capital development/transfer fund based in Lagos. It has been raised by the manager Verod Capital Management Limited. Building on its experience of the two previous funds (USD +120m invested), Verod is today continuing its strategy by mainly targeting two countries (Nigeria and Ghana). A pioneering player and leader in equity investment in Nigeria, Verod stands out for its local footprint, with an office in Lagos opened in 2008 and another in Accra, and a strategy to support SMEs, whereas many Nigerian managers target larger companies more.

Project description

The fund is planning over a dozen investments to finance the external growth and development of the productive assets of the target companies. Despite its generalist position, the fund will target industries facing domestic demand where its team’s experience will allow it to replicate its successes, such as in FMCG, education, health, agribusiness, financial institutions and insurance.  

Project impact

Based on the 2 predecessor funds (VCG I and VCG II) and the project pipeline, positive impacts are expected in terms of economic and social development for the III fund:

  • On the economic front, the fund should support access to financing for local SMEs, as 80% of the commitments of VCG III should target SMEs, a large proportion of which are located in rural areas. The companies invested in will also contribute to the tax revenues of Nigeria and Ghana.
  • On the social front, the project should create or maintain over 1,200 direct and indirect jobs. 33% of these jobs should be held by women and, more generally, the project could have a positive impact in terms of gender via the support to women’s entrepreneurship and leadership. Support and training should be provided to employees of the underlying companies at the initiative of the fund. 
29/03/2019
Date of signature of the project
Ghana Nigeria
Location
Financing tool
13 500 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 15m Equity investment
Financing details
Verod Capital Growth Fund III
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Grâce à une participation de 13,5 millions d'euros dans le fonds "Verod Capital Growth Fund III", Proparco s'engage pour l’accès aux financements de PMEs au Nigeria et au Ghana.
Présentation du client

Verod Capital Growth Fund III est un fonds de capital développement / transmission d'une taille de 200 MUSD basé à Lagos levé par le gestionnaire Verod Capital Management Limited. Fort de son expérience de deux précédents fonds (120+ MUSD investis), Verod poursuit aujourd’hui sa stratégie en ciblant prioritairement deux pays (Nigéria et Ghana). Acteur pionnier et leader du capital-investissement au Nigéria, Verod se distingue par son empreinte locale avec un bureau à Lagos ouvert en 2008 et un autre à Accra, et une stratégie de soutien aux PME, là où de nombreux gestionnaires nigérians ciblent d’avantage des entreprises de taille plus importante. 

Description du projet

Le fonds prévoit plus d'une dizaine d’investissements dont les fonds seront dédiés à la croissance externe et au développement des actifs productifs des sociétés cibles. Malgré son positionnement généraliste, le fonds visera des industries exposées à la demande domestique où l’expérience de son équipe lui permettra de répliquer les succès connus, comme le FMCG, l’éducation, la santé, l’agrobusiness ou encore les institutions financières et assurances.

Impact du projet

Sur la base des 2 fonds prédécesseurs (VCG I et VCG II) et du pipeline de projets, des impacts positifs sont attendus en termes de développement économique et social concernant le fonds III:

  • - Sur le plan économique, le fonds soutiendrait l’accès aux financements de PMEs locales, puisque 80% des engagements de VCG III devraient cibler des PMEs dont une part importante est implantée en zones rurales ; par ailleurs, les entreprises investies contribueront aux recettes fiscales du Nigéria et du Ghana.
  • - Sur le plan social, le projet devrait permettre la création ou le maintien de plus de 1 200 emplois directs et indirects. 33% de ces emplois seraient occupés par des femmes et le projet pourrait avoir, plus largement, un effet positif sur le plan du genre via le soutien à l’entreprenariat et au leadership féminin. Un accompagnement et des formations seraient proposés, à l'initiative du fonds, aux employés des sociétés sous-jacentes. 
     
29/03/2019
Date de signature du projet
Nigéria
Localisation
Outils de financement
13 500 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 15 MUSD
Details du financement
Verod Capital Growth Fund III
Client
CES