• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is reiterating its commitment to support SMEs via a portfolio guarantee on Trade Finance’s operations to cover the default risk of the clients of Société Générale Côte d'Ivoire (SGCI). It is also implementing a pilot project that meets a demand from banks in the area. .
Client presentation

SGCI is SG’s main subsidiary in Sub-Saharan Africa and is a key player in international trade finance in Côte d’Ivoire. In line with SG Group’s strong ambitions and the Grow with Africa strategy, SGCI’s activity in the SME segment is experiencing rapid growth. SGCI is also the main partner of ARIZ in all AFD Group’s geographical areas of operation. 

Project description

This project involves a portfolio guarantee on short-term trade finance operations to cover the default risk of SME clients. It is a pilot project that meets a growing demand from banks in the area. This program will complement our range of SME financing by now adding solutions to it that meet their needs during their operating cycle. 

Project impact

In terms of expected impacts, this guarantee provided by Proparco will: 

  • Maintain or create jobs for over 1,500 employees over the next 5 years, including some 900 for women.
  • Support 14,500 indirect jobs related to the 50 clients that will be able to benefit from Proparco’s guarantee for their imported inputs. 
  • Develop growth in activity and the instruments made available to Ivorian SMEs by SGCI, as the guarantee allocated to the institution could cover over fifty SMEs over a 3-year period. 
  • Also have effects on the private sector by training the employees of SGCI, which earmarks an average of 2% of its payroll for training activities, i.e. some 600 executives and 800 non-executives trained by 2024.
20/12/2019
Date of signature of the project
Côte d'Ivoire
Location
Financing tool
15 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Guarantee given of EUR 15m
Financing details
SOCIETE GENERALE COTE D'IVOIRE
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Via une garantie de portefeuille sur des opérations de Trade finance pour couvrir le risque de défaut des clients de la Société Générale Côte d'Ivoire (SGCI), Proparco réitère son engagement pour soutenir les PME et met en place un projet pilote qui répond à une demande des banques de la zone.
Présentation du client

SGCI est la principale filiale de la SG en Afrique sub-saharienne et est un acteur incontournable du financement du commerce international en Côte d’Ivoire. En cohérence avec les fortes ambitions du groupe SG et la stratégie Grow with Africa, la SGCI affiche une activité en plein essor sur le segment des PME. SGCI est également le premier partenaire d’ARIZ sur l’ensemble des géographies d’intervention du groupe AFD.

Description du projet

Ce projet consiste en une garantie de portefeuille sur des opérations de court terme de trade finance pour couvrir le risque de défaut des clients PME. Il s’agit d’un projet pilote qui répond à une demande croissante des banques de la zone. Ce programme permettra de compléter notre palette d’instruments dédiés aux PME en apportant désormais à ces dernières des solutions répondant à leurs besoins durant leur cycle d’exploitation.

Impact du projet

Cette garantie apportée par Proparco se traduit, en termes d’impacts attendus, par : 

  • le maintien ou la création de plus de 1 500 employés d’ici 5 ans, dont près de 900 femmes.
  • le soutien de 14 500 emplois indirects associés aux 50 clients qui pourront bénéficier de la garantie de Proparco pour leurs intrants importés.
  • le développement de la croissance d’activité et des instruments mis à disposition par SGCI auprès des PME ivoiriennes, puisque la garantie accordée à l’institution pourrait couvrir plus d’une cinquantaine de PME sur 3 ans. 
  • des effets sur le secteur privé également à travers la formation des employés de la SGCI qui dédie 2% de sa masse salariale en moyenne aux activités de formation, soit  environ 600 cadres et 800 non-cadres formés d’ici 2024.
20/12/2019
Date de signature du projet
Côte d'Ivoire
Localisation
Outils de financement
15 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Garantie donnée de 15 MEUR
Details du financement
SOCIETE GENERALE COTE D'IVOIRE
Client
CES