• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is confirming its support for start-up fintechs via a new USD 10m (EUR 9,174,310) equity investment in the investment fund Accion Quona Inclusion Fund. It is supporting their growth on markets characterized by a lack of access to basic financial services and where the emergence of fintechs is structural for the development of financial inclusion.
Client presentation

Accion Quona Inclusion Fund (“AQIF”) is a venture capital fund dedicated to financing fintechs targeting underbanked populations in Africa, Asia and Latin America. This fund is dedicated to financial inclusion and aims to extend access to basic financial services to the most remote and most vulnerable populations by taking advantage of the latest technological innovations.
AQIF is the second fund launched by the manager Quona Capital and supported by Accion, an international NGO with headquarters in the USA that is committed to financial inclusion. With USD 155m of assets under management and about twenty fintech investments, Quona Capital is today recognized on the markets where it invests (Asia, Africa and Latin America) as one of the top fintech specialists. 

Project description

Following on from the previous fund, the Quona Capital teams aim, via AQIF, to invest in start-up fintechs that have got through the stages of ideation (prototyping) and creation and have already launched their product on the market. 
AQIF wishes to invest in 15 to 20 start-ups with an initial ticket ranging between USD 1m and USD 7m to support their growth and scale-up. They are Series A and Series B minority equity investments. The fund targets companies that take advantage of technology to tackle the bottlenecks, gaps and inefficiencies in the solutions that financial service operators currently offer.  
The fund has worldwide coverage, but focuses particularly on Asia (India, Indonesia, Malaysia and the Philippines), Latin America (Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico and Peru) and Africa (Kenya, Nigeria and South Africa).

Project impact

The project is being implemented in markets characterized by a lack of access to basic financial services and where the emergence of fintechs is structural for the development of financial inclusion.
Quona’s value creation strategy is based on three pillars: (i) the exchange of information and expertise (between Quona, its partners and its underlying companies), (ii) technical assistance and support for the underlying companies on operational, financial and strategic issues and (iii) Quona’s involvement in governance and its structuring. 
In terms of direct and indirect impacts, the project should contribute to (i) creating and maintaining employment in the funds and the companies invested in, (ii) increasing access to financial services, (iii) helping start-ups improve governance, accounting practices and reporting and (iv) improving the regulatory framework through the participation of the underlying companies in discussions with the main public decision-makers. It should be noted that Quona participated in the development of the Investor Guidelines for Responsible Digital Finance supported by Goodwell Investments and IFC.

30/08/2019
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global India Indonesia Malaysia Philippines Argentina Brazil Colombia Mexico Peru South Africa Kenya Nigeria
Location
Financing tool
9 174 310 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 10m equity investment
Financing details
Accion Quona Inclusion Fund, LP
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Via une nouvelle participation à hauteur de 10 millions de dollars (9 174 310 euros) dans le fonds d'investissement Accion Quona Inclusion Fund, Proparco confirme son soutien à des jeunes fintech et les accompagne dans leur croissance sur des marchés caractérisés par un déficit d’accès aux services financiers de base et où l’émergence des fintech est structurante pour le développement de l’inclusion financière.
Présentation du client

Accion Quona Inclusion Fund ("AQIF") est un fonds de capital-risque dédié au financement de fintech ciblant des populations sous-bancarisées en Afrique, Asie et Amérique Latine. Dédié à l’inclusion financière, ce fonds vise à étendre l’accès aux services financiers de base aux populations les plus reculées et les plus vulnérables en profitant des dernières innovations technologiques. 
AQIF est le deuxième fonds lancé par le gestionnaire Quona Capital et soutenu par Accion, une ONG globale dont le siège est aux Etats-Unis engagée en faveur de l’inclusion financière. Avec 155 MUSD d’actifs sous gestion et une vingtaine d’investissements fintech, Quona Capital est aujourd’hui reconnu sur ses marchés d’intervention (Asie, Afrique et Amérique Latine) comme l’un des meilleurs spécialistes fintech.

Description du projet

Dans la continuité du fonds précédent, les équipes de Quona Capital ont pour objectif, à travers AQIF, d’investir dans des jeunes fintech ayant franchi les stades d’idéation (prototypage) et de création et ayant déjà procédé à la mise sur le marché de leur produit.
AQIF souhaite investir dans 15 à 20 start-up avec un premier ticket compris entre 1 et 7 MUSD pour les accompagner dans leur croissance et la mise à l’échelle. Il s’agit de prises de participation minoritaire dans le cadre de Series A et Series B. Le fonds cible des entreprises qui tirent parti de la technologie pour s'attaquer aux goulots d'étranglement, aux lacunes et aux inefficacités des solutions que les opérateurs de services financiers proposent actuellement. 
Le fonds a une couverture mondiale mais se concentre particulièrement sur l'Asie (Inde, Indonésie, Malaisie et Philippines), l'Amérique Latine (Argentine, Brésil, Colombie, Mexique et Pérou) et l'Afrique (Afrique du Sud, Kenya et Nigeria).

Impact du projet

Le projet s’inscrit dans des marchés caractérisés par un déficit d’accès aux services financiers de base et où l’émergence des fintech est structurante pour le développement de l’inclusion financière.
La stratégie de création de valeur de Quona s’articule autour de trois piliers : (i) l’échange d’informations et d'expertises (entre Quona, ses partenaires et ses sous-jacents), (ii) l’assistance technique et l’accompagnement des sous-jacents sur des sujets opérationnels, financiers et stratégiques et (iii) l’implication de Quona dans la gouvernance et sa structuration.
En termes d’impacts directs et indirects, le projet devrait contribuer à (i) la création et le maintien de l'emploi au sein du fonds et des sociétés investies, (ii) le renforcement de l’accès à des services financiers, (iii) l'accompagnement de start-ups sur l’amélioration de la gouvernance, des pratiques comptables et du reporting et (iv) l'amélioration du cadre réglementaire de par la participation des sous-jacents aux discussions avec les principaux décideurs publics. A noter que Quona a participé au développement des Investor Guidelines for Responsible Digital Finance soutenues par Goodwell Investments et IFC.

30/08/2019
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Etranger Inde Indonésie Malaisie Philippines Argentine Brésil Colombie Mexique Pérou Afrique du Sud Kenya Nigéria
Localisation
Outils de financement
9 174 310 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 10 MUSD
Details du financement
Accion Quona Inclusion Fund, LP
Client
CES