• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Mini-réseaux hybrides de Nuru en RDC
Proparco has invested EUR 1m in this innovative company to support its growth and improve access to clean and affordable electricity in the eastern region of the Democratic Republic of Congo.
Client presentation

Nuru was set up in August 2015 and develops and operates urban solar hybrid mini-grids in eastern DRC, in North Kivu.
Nuru specializes in commercial and industrial (C&I) clients and households, by developing reliable and clean energy that is comparatively more affordable than existing private solutions based on diesel generators. The proposed tariffs per kWh are 30 to 50% cheaper than the average cost of diesel generators in the region.

Project description

In 2018, Nuru concluded an initial fundraising which allowed it to commission a first 55 kW site in Ben, in North Kivu, and a second 1.35 MW site in Goma which is, by its size, one of the main mini-grids in Sub-Saharan Africa.
Building on these initial successes, the company has developed a pipeline of mini-grid projects in eastern DRC. Nuru has launched an operation to raise equity to finance these projects. In this context, in February 2021, Proparco signed a EUR 1m convertible bond tranche.

Project impact

The expected impacts of the Nuru project are as follows:

  • Over 330,000 people should benefit from reliable electricity over the next 5 years through the solar hybrid mini-grids, i.e. about 335,000 additional beneficiaries. The mini-grids will supply electricity to some 140 schools and health centers and 420 small businesses.
  • The project will support some 5,400 jobs over the next 5 years. Women account for about 44% of Nuru’s employees. Specific actions have been included in the E&S action plan to improve gender equality and formalize Nuru’s policies.
  • The project should reduce annual CO2 emissions by 21,700 teq. 

The project should thereby contribute to SDG 7 (Clean energy), SDG 8 (Decent work and economic growth), SDG 9 (Infrastructure), SDG 10 (Reduced inequalities) and SDG 13 (Climate action).

03/04/2021
Date of signature of the project
Democratic Republic of Congo
Location
Financing tool
1 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 1m Loan
Financing details
Congo Energy Solution Limited
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Mini-réseaux hybrides de Nuru en RDC
Proparco a investit 1 million d'euros dans cette entreprise innovante pour accompagner sa croissance et améliorer l'accès à une électricité propre et abordable dans la région Est de la République Démocratique du Congo.
Présentation du client

Fondée en aout 2015, Nuru développe et opère des mini-grids hybrides solaires urbains dans l’Est de la RDC, au Nord Kivu. 
Nuru se spécialise sur les clients dits commerciaux & industriels (« C&I ») et les ménages, en développant une énergie fiable, propre et comparativement plus abordable que les solutions privées existantes fondées sur des générateurs diesels. Les tarifs proposés par kWh sont entre 30 et 50% moins chers que le coût moyen des générateurs diesels de la région.

Description du projet

En 2018, Nuru a conclu une première levée de fonds lui permettant le commissionnement, dans le Nord-Kivu, d’un premier site de 55 kW à Ben et  d’un second de 1.35 MW à Goma, qui est, par sa taille, l’un des principaux mini-grids d’Afrique Sub-Saharienne.
Forte de ces premiers succès, la société a développé un pipeline de projets mini-grid dans l'est de la RDC. Afin de financer ces projets, Nuru a engagé une levée de fonds propres. Dans ce cadre, Proparco a signé en février 2021 une tranche d'obligation convertible d'1 million d'euros. 

Impact du projet

Les impacts attendus du projet Nuru sont les suivants :  

  • Plus de 330 000 personnes devraient bénéficier d'ici cinq ans d'une électricité fiable grâce aux mini-grids hybrides solaires, soit près de 335 000 bénéficiaires supplémentaires. Les mini-grids fourniront de l'électricité à près de 140 écoles et centres de santé et 420 petites entreprises. 
  • Le projet permettra de soutenir près de 5 400 emplois d’ici cinq ans. Les femmes représentent près de 44 % des employés de Nuru ; des actions spécifiques ont été intégrées dans le plan d'action E&S pour améliorer l'égalité des sexes et formaliser les politiques au niveau de Nuru. 
  • Le projet devrait permettre d’éviter l’émission de 21 700 tCO2eq par an.

Ainsi, le projet devrait contribuer aux ODD 7 (énergie propre), ODD 8 (croissance économique et emplois décents), ODD 9 (infrastructures), ODD10 (réduction des inégalités) et ODD13 (changement climatique). 

04/03/2021
Date de signature du projet
République Démocratique du Congo
Localisation
Outils de financement
1 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 1 MEUR
Details du financement
Congo Energy Solution Limited
Client
CES