• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is confirming its support for microenterprises and SMEs through a USD 10m equity investment in the Novastar fund, a pioneer in East Africa in seed capital and venture capital investment in African start-ups and small businesses with strong economic and social impacts.
Client presentation

Novastar is a manager based in Kenya and a pioneer in East Africa in seed capital and venture capital investment in African start-ups and small businesses with strong economic and social impacts. The manager has built its investment thesis on supporting promoters that have developed operational models targeting employment for people excluded from the formal labor market and the provision of essential goods/services that are accessible to people on very low incomes.  To this end, in March 2014, the founders of Novastar raised the first USD 80m Novastar I fund dedicated to East Africa (Kenya, Ethiopia and Uganda).

Project description

The Novastar II successor fund follows the same investment thesis as the I fund, i.e. to catalyze seed capital and venture capital investments in start-ups in Africa and demonstrate that these profitable investments can generate large-scale development impacts for low-income populations. The II fund is different from the I fund in that it is extending the area of operation to English-speaking West Africa (Nigeria and Ghana) and extending the segment of beneficiaries to people on low incomes (incomes ranging between 2 and 6 dollars a day), in addition to “bottom of the pyramid” populations. 

Project impact

The Novastar II fund will promote the development of formal employment for local communities, as well as improved access to consumer goods and social and financial services. Novastar estimates that the activity of the portfolio companies will benefit 2.2 million people on low incomes and create or support 3,600 jobs by 2021. 

16/09/2019
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global Kenya
Location
Financing tool
8 778 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 10m equity investment
Financing details
Novastar ventures capital fund 2
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Grâce à une prise de participation de 10 millions de dollars dans le fonds Novastar, pionnier en Afrique de l'Est dans l’investissement en capital-amorçage et capital-risque dans des jeunes et petites entreprises africaines à fort impact économique et social, Proparco confirme son soutien aux TPE et PME
Présentation du client

Novastar est un gestionnaire basé au Kenya et pionnier en Afrique de l'Est dans l’investissement en capital-amorçage et capital-risque dans des jeunes et petites entreprises africaines à fort impact économique et social. Le gestionnaire a construit sa thèse d’investissement autour de l’accompagnement de promoteurs ayant développé des modèles opérationnels visant l’emploi des personnes exclues du marché du travail formel et la fourniture de biens/services essentiels et accessibles aux personnes à très bas revenu. Dans cet objectif, les fondateurs de Novastar ont levé en mars 2014 le premier fonds Novastar I d'une taille de 80MUSD dédié à Afrique de l’Est (Kenya, Ethiopie et Ouganda).

Description du projet

Le fonds successeur Novastar II suit la même thèse d’investissement que le fonds I, à savoir catalyser les investissements de capital-amorçage et capital-risque dans des jeunes sociétés en Afrique et démontrer que ces investissements rentables peuvent générer des impacts de développement à grande échelle en faveur des populations à faibles revenus. Le fonds II se différencie du fonds I par l’élargissement de la zone d’intervention à l’Afrique de l’Ouest anglophone (Nigéria et Ghana) et l'élargissement du segment des bénéficiaires aux personnes à bas revenus (revenus compris entre 2 et 6 dollars par jour), au-delà des populations dites « base de la pyramide ».

Impact du projet

Le fonds Novastar II favorisera le développement de l’emploi formel des populations locales ainsi qu’un accès amélioré aux biens de consommation et aux services sociaux et financiers. Novastar estime que l’activité des sociétés du portefeuille bénéficiera à 2,2 millions de personnes bas revenu et permettra de créer ou soutenir 3600 emplois d’ici 2021.

16/09/2019
Date de signature du projet
Kenya Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
8 778 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 10 MUSD
Details du financement
Novastar ventures capital fund 2
Client
CES