• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Centrale solaire Neoen
By financing a solar power plant with a USD 20m loan, Proparco is contributing to improving access to green electricity in a country marked by a low electrification rate.
Client presentation

Neoen is an independent developer and producer of exclusively renewable energy, with a current capacity in operation or under construction of some 3 GW. The company operates in France, Australia, Mexico, El Salvador, Argentina, Finland, Ireland, Zambia, Jamaica and Portugal. Neoen is listed on compartment A of the Euronext Paris regulated market.

Project description

The project involves building and operating for 25 years a photovoltaic power plant with a capacity of 41 MWp. It will be located on land with a total surface area of 138 hectares in northern Mozambique. The investments to be made by the project company, Central Solar Metoro, include the construction of the photovoltaic plant, a 100 m-long transmission line and an electrical substation, which will be transferred to EDM, the offtaker. 

Project impact

The project should have significant impacts on development:

  • Strengthening of the country’s energy infrastructure, with 62.5 GWh of green electricity injected into Mozambique’s grid every year.
  • Access to electricity for some 135,000 people.
  • Contribution to the fight against climate change, with a reduction of 49,000 tons of CO2 a year, i.e. a reduction of 1,221 ktons of CO2 during the lifespan of the project.
  • Indirect support to Mozambique’s economy via an annual contribution to the country’s GDP, support for employment (an estimated 70 jobs supported every year), the transfer of skills to some 400 Mozambican workers employed by the project and positive impacts on the development of the local industry, which will benefit from the increase in the capacity and reliability of the power grid. 
10/10/2019
Date of signature of the project
Mozambique
Location
Financing tool
18 340 210 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 20m loan
Financing details
METORO SOLAR SPV
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Centrale solaire Neoen
Via un prêt de 20 millions de dollars, Proparco contribue au financement d'une centrale solaire, à l’amélioration de l’accès à une électricité verte dans un pays marqué par un faible taux d’électrification.
Présentation du client

Neoen est un développeur et producteur indépendant d’énergie exclusivement renouvelable, avec une capacité en opération ou en construction de près de 3 GW à ce jour. La société est active notamment en France, en Australie, au Mexique, au Salvador, en Argentine, en Finlande, en Irlande, en Zambie, en Jamaïque et au Portugal. Neoen est cotée sur le compartiment A du marché réglementé d’Euronext Paris. 

Description du projet

Le projet consiste à construire et exploiter pendant 25 ans une centrale photovoltaïque d’une capacité de 41 MWp. Celle-ci sera située sur un terrain d’une surface totale de 138 hectares situé dans le Nord du Mozambique  Les investissements à réaliser par la société de projet, Central Solar Metoro, incluent la construction de la centrale photovoltaïque ainsi que celle d’une ligne de transmission de 100 mètres et d’une sous-station électrique, qui sera rétrocédée à EDM, l'Offtaker.

Impact du projet

Le projet devrait avoir des impacts significatifs sur le développement : 

  • Renforcement de l’infrastructure énergétique du pays, avec 62.5 GWh d’électricité verte injectée chaque année dans le réseau mozambicain ;
  • Accès à l'électricité pour environ 135 000 personnes ;
  • Contribution à la lutte contre le changement climatique, avec 49 000 tonnes de CO2 évitées par an, soit 1 221 ktonnes CO2 évitées sur la durée de vie du projet ;
  • Soutien indirect à l'économie du Mozambique  à travers une contribution annuelle au PIB du pays, le soutien à l'emploi (environ 70 emplois soutenus estimés par an), le transfert de compétences à près de 400 travailleurs mozambicains employés par le projet et des effets positifs sur le développement de l'industrie locale qui bénéficiera de l'amélioration de la capacité et de la fiabilité du réseau électrique.
10/10/2019
Date de signature du projet
Mozambique
Localisation
Outils de financement
18 340 210 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 20 MUSD
Details du financement
METORO SOLAR SPV
Client
CES