• logo linkedin
  • logo email
By allocating a loan to a fund specialized in small-scale renewable energy and energy efficiency projects, MGM SUSTAINABLE ENERGY FUND II LP, PROPARCO is renewing its commitment in these two sectors.
Client presentation

MSEF II is a sector fund specialized in small-scale renewable energy (REN) and energy efficiency (EE) projects in Latin America. The manager is based in Miami and mainly operates in Colombia, Mexico and Brazil, where it has local offices, but also in Peru and Central America. 

Project description

MSEF II offers either a financing solution for off-balance sheet assets, or asset financing via subordinated debt. This theoretically self-liquidating structure is deployed for commercial clients (A/C systems, heating, etc., for hotels, shopping centers, real estate), industry (decentralized solar generation (DSG), heat recovery, etc.) and the municipal sector (urban street lighting). For its REN strategy, the II fund targets investments in small-scale generation projects (less than 20 MW) using photovoltaic energy, hydropower (run-of-river), biomass and biofuels. 

Project impact

Based on the performance of MSEF and the target size of MSEFII, the expected impacts are as follows: 

  • Support for some 790 indirect jobs, including some 150 held by women (jobs in the investee companies);
  • Development of an installed capacity of REN of 70.9 MW, allowing a power generation of some 121.8 GWh every year, i.e. the equivalent of the annual electricity consumption of 56,586 inhabitants in the ALC region; 
  • Support for the development of capital markets in geographical areas where access to capital for SMEs in the REN and EE sector remains limited;
  • Contribution to climate change mitigation efforts in the targeted geographical areas by reducing or avoiding GHGs. The fund estimates there is a potential to avoid/reduce emissions by some 108,000 tCO2eq a year thanks to the investments made by MSEFII and based on the performance of the predecessor fund.  
28/02/2020
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global Brazil Colombia Mexico Peru
Location
Financing tool
11 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 12m equity investment
Financing details
MGM SUSTAINABLE ENERGY FUND II, LP
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
En octroyant un prêt à un fonds spécialisé dans les petits projets d’énergie renouvelable et d’efficacité énergétique, MGM SUSTAINABLE ENERGY FUND II, LP Proparco renouvelle son engagement dans ces deux secteurs.
Présentation du client

MSEF II est un fonds sectoriel spécialisé dans des petits projets d’énergie renouvelable (« ENR ») et d’efficacité énergétique (« EE ») en Amérique Latine. Le gestionnaire est basé à Miami et opère principalement en Colombie, au Mexique et au Brésil où il détient des bureaux locaux, mais aussi au Pérou et en Amérique Centrale.

Description du projet

MSEF II propose soit une solution de financement d’actifs hors bilan, soit un financement d’actif via une dette subordonnée. Cette structure  théoriquement auto-liquidative est déployée sur des clients commerciaux (système d’A/C, chauffage etc pour les hôtels, centre commerciaux, immobilier), industriels (Génération solaire décentralisée (SDG), récupération de chaleur, etc.) ou encore municipaux (éclairage publique urbain). Pour sa stratégie ENR, le fonds II cible des investissements dans des projets de génération de petites tailles (inférieurs à 20MW) utilisant l’énergie photovoltaïque, hydroélectrique (run-of-the- river) ou la biomasse et les biocombustibles. 

Impact du projet

Sur la base des performances de MSEF et de la taille cible de MSEFII, les impacts attendus sont les suivants :

  • Soutien de près de 790 emplois indirects dont environ 150 occupés par des femmes (emplois au sein des sociétés investies) ;
  • Développement de 70,9 MW de capacité ENR installée permettant une production d’électricité de près de 121,8 GWh chaque année, soit l’équivalent de la consommation moyenne annuelle d’électricité de 56 586 habitants de la région ALC  ;
  • Soutien au développement du marché des capitaux dans des géographies où l’accès aux capitaux pour les PME du secteur des ENR et de l’EE demeure limité ;
  • Contribution aux efforts d’atténuation du changement climatique dans les géographies ciblées grâce à la réduction ou l’évitement de GES; le fonds estime un potentiel de réduction/évitement des émissions de près de 108 000 tCO2eq par an grâce aux investissements réalisés par MSEFII et sur la base des performances du fonds prédécesseur. 
28/02/2020
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Etranger Brésil Colombie Mexique Pérou
Localisation
Outils de financement
11 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 12 MUSD
Details du financement
MGM SUSTAINABLE ENERGY FUND II, LP
Client
CES