Contributing to the development of essential infrastructure in Africa

Burkina Faso Ethiopia Gabon Uganda Multi-country Africa
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco has invested EUR 30m in the MIAF II fund of the investment company Meridiam.
Client presentation

Meridiam is an independent investment company specialized in the development, financing and long-term management of sustainable public infrastructure in three sectors of activity: the mobility of goods and people, the energy transition and the environment, and social infrastructure. Meridiam currently manages USD 17.8bn of assets and over 100 projects to date.

Project description

MIAF II is Meridiam’s second fund dedicated to the development, construction and operation of infrastructure projects in Africa. PROPARCO has invested EUR 30m in the MIAF II fund, alongside private investors and other development finance institutions.

MIAF II aims to repeat the success of Meridiam’s first African fund, MIAF, which closed in 2019 at EUR 546m, in which FISEA invested EUR 20m. It is today fully deployed in 13 projects in Sub-Saharan Africa. With MIAF II, Meridiam is strengthening its position as a leading investment platform in Africa for greenfield infrastructure.

Project impact

The main expected impacts of the MIAF II project are the following:

  • Support for some 7,200 jobs in the underlying companies over the next 5 years
  • Support for the development of essential infrastructure in the sectors of clean energy, transport, logistics and digital technologies in Africa. This infrastructure will improve access to essential services for people and will contribute to increasing clean energy generation.
02/11/2022
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Burkina Faso Ethiopia Gabon Uganda Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
30 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 30m Equity Investment
Financing details
Meridiam Infrastructure Africa Parallel Fund II
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco a investi 30 millions d'euros dans le fonds MIAF II de la société d'investissement Meridiam.
Présentation du client

Meridiam est une société d’investissement indépendante spécialisée dans le développement, le financement et la gestion à long terme d'infrastructures publiques durables dans trois secteurs d’activités : la mobilité des biens et des personnes, la transition énergétique et l’environnement, et les infrastructures sociales. Meridiam gère actuellement 17,8 milliards de dollars d’actifs, et plus de 100 projets à ce jour. 

Description du projet

MIAF II est le second fonds de Meridiam dédié au développement, à la construction et à l'exploitation de projets d'infrastructures sur le continent africain. Proparco a investi 30 millions d'euros dans le fonds MIAF II, aux côtés d'investisseurs privés et d'autres institutions de financement de développement.

MIAF II vise à répliquer le succès du premier fonds africain de Meridiam, MIAF, clôturé en 2019 à 546 millions d’euros dans lequel FISEA a investi 20 millions d'euros, aujourd'hui entièrement déployé dans 13 projets en Afrique sub-saharienne. Grâce à MIAF II, Meridiam consolide sa position de plateforme d’investissement de premier plan sur le continent africain pour les infrastructures greenfield. 

Impact du projet

Les principaux impacts attendus du projet MIAF II sont les suivants :

  • Soutien à près 7 200 emplois au sein des entreprises sous-jacentes d'ici 5 ans  
  • Appui au développement d’infrastructures essentielles dans le domaine de l'énergie propre, des transports, de la logistique ou encore du numérique en Afrique ; ces infrastructures permettront d'améliorer l'accès des populations à des services essentiels et contribueront à renforcer la production d'énergie propre. 
11/02/2022
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Burkina Faso Ethiopie Gabon Ouganda Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
30 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 30 MEUR
Details du financement
Meridiam Infrastructure Africa Parallel Fund II
Client
CES