• logo linkedin
  • logo email
The project involves an equity investment by Proparco in MFX to strengthen the impact investment company’s solvency and liquidity.
Client presentation

MFX Currency Risk Solutions (MFX) supports an underserved segment of the development finance industry, by helping remove a fundamental barrier to local development: the problem of foreign exchange risk management. MFX was set up in 2009 and helps impact investors and recipients of development finance, such as microfinance institutions, effectively hedge their foreign exchange risk. Since it was set up, MFX has worked with international financial institutions to hedge over USD 4.5bn of loans to microenterprises and small businesses in developing countries, in over 55 currencies.

Project description

Proparco will strengthen MFX’s solvency and liquidity through a USD 7m direct equity investment. FinDev Canada will provide financing of up to USD 50m alongside an existing USD 100m guarantee issued by the US International Development Finance Corporation (DFC). The financing comprises an innovative USD 45m guarantee facility, including USD 30m which will be guaranteed by a major private sector insurance company, AXA XL.

Project impact

MFX’s unique proposition is essential to increase local currency funding to local financial institutions, in particular microfinance institutions, thereby benefiting countless microentrepreneurs in emerging and developing countries. PROPARCO’s support will allow MFX to serve high-growth impact sectors, such as clean energy and housing, which increasingly need to lend in local currency. The equity provided by Proparco will make it possible to provide additional microcredits for over 160,000 people (or microenterprises) over the next 5 years.

12/21/2021
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Multi-country Global
Location
Financing tool
6 200 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 7m Equity Investment
Financing details
MFX Solutions, LLC
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Le projet consiste en une prise de participation de Proparco dans la société MFX visant à renforcer la solvabilité et la liquidité de la société d'investissement à impact.
Présentation du client

MFX Currency Risk Solutions (MFX) soutient un segment mal desservi de l'industrie du financement du développement, en aidant à résoudre un obstacle fondamental au développement local : le problème de la gestion du risque de change. Créé en 2009, MFX aide les investisseurs d'impact et les bénéficiaires de financement du développement, tels que les institutions de microfinance, à couvrir efficacement leur risque de change. Depuis sa création, MFX a travaillé avec des institutions financières internationales pour couvrir plus de 4,5 milliards de dollars de prêts aux micro et petites entreprises des pays en développement, dans plus de 55 devises. 

Description du projet

Proparco renforcera la solvabilité et la liquidité de MFX par une prise de participation directe de 7 millions de dollars US. FinDev Canada fournira un financement allant jusqu'à 50 millions de dollars US en parallèle d'une garantie existante de 100 millions de dollars US émise par la société américaine International Development Finance Corporation (DFC). Le financement comprend une facilité de garantie innovante de 45 millions de dollars US, dont 30 millions de dollars US seront garantis par une importante compagnie d'assurance du secteur privé, AXA XL.

Impact du projet

La proposition unique de MFX est essentielle pour augmenter le financement en monnaie locale des institutions financières locales, en particulier les institutions de microfinance, bénéficiant ainsi à d'innombrables micro-entrepreneurs dans les pays émergents et en développement. Le soutien de Proparco permettra à MFX de servir les secteurs d'impact à forte croissance tels que l'énergie propre et le logement qui ont de plus en plus besoin de prêter en monnaie locale. Les fonds propres apportés par Proparco permettront de débloquer des microcrédits supplémentaires pour plus de 160 000 personnes (ou micro-entreprises) dans les 5 années à venir.

21/12/2021
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Multi-Pays Etranger
Localisation
Outils de financement
6 200 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Pirse de participation de 7 MUSD
Details du financement
MFX Solutions, LLC
Client
CES