Sub-Saharan Africa: Proparco is supporting the development of entrepreneurial initiatives with a strong social purpose

Cameroon Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Senegal Multi-country Africa
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is reiterating its commitment to the private sector with strong inclusive impacts via a EUR 7m equity investment in the Investisseurs & Partenaires Afrique Entrepreneurs 2 (IPAE2) fund. This includes local food production, the social sectors (health, education), the clean energy sector and sanitation projects and, finally, inclusive financial services.
Client presentation

Investisseurs et Partenaires, which was set up in 2002 by Patrice Hoppenot and taken over in 2011 by Jean-Michel Sévérino, is part of the family of “impact investors”. Convinced that sustainable African growth requires developing profitable and responsible microenterprises and SMEs, I&P’s mission involves supporting the development of entrepreneurial initiatives with a strong social purpose. 

Project description

The Investisseurs & Partenaires Afrique Entrepreneurs 2 (IPAE2) fund, which has a target size of EUR 90m, will make equity and quasi-equity investments via tickets ranging between EUR 0.3m and EUR 3m in sectoral thematic areas with strong inclusive impacts. This includes food production and the local agribusiness value chain, the social sectors (health, education), clean energy and sanitation projects, and inclusive financial services. 

Project impact

Based on the results achieved by the first fund, we estimate that the project will contribute to supporting over 4,000 decent jobs and will allow some 2,500 employees to benefit from training in the fields of HR, information systems, marketing, ESG and governance. 

The project will also develop the private sector, as 32 of the 38 planned transactions will concern social purpose SMEs (with 70% being start-ups). 

Finally, it will have environmental and social impacts, with 11% of the fund’s investments focusing on activities that contribute to the fight against climate change and about 20% of investments focusing on the social sectors, some of which will support women entrepreneurs. 

12/12/2017
Date of signature of the project
Cameroon Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Senegal Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
7 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 7m Equity investment
Financing details
I&P Afrique Entrepreneurs 2
Client
CES

En Afrique sub-saharienne, Proparco accompagne le développement d’initiatives entrepreneuriales à forte vocation sociale

Cameroun Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Sénégal Multi-Pays Afrique
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Grâce à une prise de participation de 7 millions d'euros dans le fonds Investisseurs & Partenaires Afrique Entrepreneurs 2 (IPAE2), Proparco réitère son engagement en faveur du secteur privé à fort impact inclusif, comme la production alimentaire locale, les secteurs sociaux (santé, éducation), le secteur de l'énergie propre et les projets d’assainissement et enfin, les services financiers inclusifs.
Présentation du client

La société Investisseurs et Partenaires, créée en 2002 par Patrice Hoppenot et reprise en 2011 par Jean-Michel Sévérino, fait partie de la famille des « impact investors ». Convaincue qu’une croissance africaine durable passe par le développement de TPME rentables et responsables, la mission d’I&P consiste à accompagner le développement d’initiatives entrepreneuriales à forte vocation sociale.

Description du projet

Le fonds Investisseurs & Partenaires Afrique Entrepreneurs 2 (IPAE2), d’une taille cible de 90 MEUR, interviendra en fonds propres et quasi-fonds propres via des tickets compris entre 0,3 MEUR et 3 MEUR au service de thématiques sectorielles à fort impact inclusif : comme la production alimentaire et chaîne de valeur agro-industrielle locale, les secteurs sociaux (santé, éducation), mais aussi l' énergie propre et projets d’assainissement, ou encore les services financiers inclusifs.

Impact du projet

Sur la base des résultats atteints par le premier fonds, nous estimons que le projet contribuera au soutien de plus de 4 000 emplois décents et permettra à environ 2 500 employés de bénéficier d’une formation notamment dans les domaines des RH, des systèmes d’information, du marketing, l’ESG et la gouvernance. 

Le projet permettra également le développement du secteur privé puisque 32 des 38 transactions prévues concerneront des PME à vocation sociale (dont 70 % de jeunes entreprises). 

Enfin, le projet permettra des effets environnementaux et sociaux, avec 11% des investissements du fonds orientés vers des activités contribuant à la lutte contre le changement climatique et environ 20 % des investissements orientés vers les secteurs sociaux dont certains soutiendront les femmes en tant qu’entrepreneurs.
 

12/12/2017
Date de signature du projet
Cameroun Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Sénégal Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
7 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 7 MEUR
Details du financement
I&P Afrique Entrepreneurs 2
Client
CES