• logo linkedin
  • logo email
With this EURIZ guarantee allocated to Ecobank Ghana, PROPARCO is supporting a project which aims to increase access to financing for small and medium-sized enterprises in Ghana.
Client presentation

Ecobank Ghana Ltd. (EBG) is an affiliate of the pan-African bank Ecobank Transnational Incorporated (ETI) which is headquartered in Lomé (Togo). EBG was set up in Ghana in 1990 and is the leading bank in the local banking system, with about 12% of assets and 13% of deposits. This commercial bank is already very active in financing SMEs and is a key partner for the deployment of AFD Group’s ARIZ guarantee mechanisms. It aims to accelerate its growth in this segment with this new guarantee.  

Project description

The operation involves the allocation of an EURIZ portfolio guarantee for an amount equivalent in GHS to EUR 10m. It will cover loans ranging between EUR 10k and EUR 1m (equivalent in GHS). This project aims to promote sustainable and inclusive growth in Ghana by helping a leading local bank support job-creating SMEs operating in high-impact sectors: agriculture, financial inclusion, health, education and the green economy, as well as SMEs run by women and young people. 

Project impact

The project will support 300 SMEs, help create or maintain 900 jobs and mobilize the equivalent of a total of EUR 18m of financing.  

Launched in May 2019 with the support of the European Union and the European Development Fund, as well as the African, Caribbean and Pacific (OACPS) Group of States, the EURIZ guarantee aims to facilitate access to credit for SMEs, particularly in high-impact development sectors, in order to help them play their essential role in economic growth and job creation. It is also part of Choose Africa, a French initiative targeting African SMEs. 

03/23/2022
Date of signature of the project
Ghana
Location
Financing tool
10 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
GHS 70,921,000 guarantee
Financing details
financing program
ECOBANK Ghana
Client

The content of this project information sheet falls under the sole responsibility of the Proparco and does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the European Union and the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP Group).


This information is given at the time of signature, without prejudice to any developments in the operation/project

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Avec cette garantie EURIZ octroyée à Ecobank Ghana, Proparco soutient un projet qui vise à accroître l'accès au financement des petites et moyennes entreprises au Ghana.
Présentation du client

Ecobank Ghana ltd. (EBG) est la filiale de la banque panafricaine Ecobank Transnational Incorporated (ETI), dont le siège est à Lomé (Togo). Elle est installée au Ghana depuis 1990. EBG est la 1ère banque du système bancaire local, avec environ 12% des actifs et 13% des dépôts. Banque commerciale déjà très active en termes de financement des PME et partenaire d'importance dans le déploiement des dispositifs de garanties ARIZ, elle entend accélérer sa croissance sur ce segment grâce à cette nouvelle garantie.  

Description du projet

L'opération consiste en l'octroi d'une garantie de portefeuille EURIZ d'un montant équivalent GHS de 10 M EUR. Elle couvrira des prêts entre 10 K et 1 M  EUR (équivalent GHS). Ce projet vise à promouvoir une croissance durable et inclusive au Ghana en aidant une banque locale de premier niveau à soutenir les PME créatrices d'emplois opérant dans les secteurs à fort impact : agriculture, inclusion financière, santé, éducation et économie verte, ainsi que des PME dirigées par des femmes et des jeunes. 

Impact du projet

Le projet permettra d'accompagner 300 PME, de créer ou maintenir 900 emplois ainsi que l'équivalent de 18 millions d'euros de financement mobilisés au total.

Lancée en mai 2019 avec le soutien de l'Union européenne et du Fonds européen de développement, ainsi que du groupe d'États d'Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique (OACPS), la garantie EURIZ vise à faciliter l'accès au crédit des PME, notamment dans les secteurs de développement à fort impact, afin de les aider à jouer leur rôle essentiel dans la croissance économique et la création d'emplois. Elle s'inscrit également dans le cadre de Choose Africa, une initiative française destinée aux PME africaines.

23/03/2022
Date de signature du projet
Ghana
Localisation
Outils de financement
10 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Garantie de 70 921 000 GHS
Details du financement
financing program
ECOBANK Ghana
Client

Le contenu de cette fiche projet relève de la seule responsabilité de Proparco et ne reflète pas nécessairement les opinions de l’Union européenne et du Groupe des Etats d’Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique (Groupe ACP).

Ces informations sont données au moment de la signature et ne préjugent pas de l’évolution de l’opération/projet.