• logo linkedin
  • logo email
In Ghana, Proparco’s USD 25m loan to First National Bank Ghana Limited (FNBG) is part of a financing package of USD 85m alongside DEG, FINNFUND and NORFUND. This financing will support the bank’s debt and the growth in its activity, in particular for the SME segment.
Client presentation

First National Bank Ghana (FNBG) is the subsidiary of the South African FirstRand (FRL). FRL is the leading African banking group by its market capitalization. FNBG is a young bank in Ghana: it obtained its licence in 2015 and really started its activities in 2017. As a universal bank, FNBG provides financial services to all segments of the corporate client base, from SMEs to large corporates. FNBG also serves the retail market. As part of its growth strategy on the Ghanaian market, in late 2018, FNBG decided to acquire the bank GHL. GHL is the specialist and leader in Ghana on the real estate loan market, mainly for low-income households.

Project description

The project involves setting up a USD 25m senior credit line to FNBG. The loan provided by Proparco is part of a financing package of USD 85m alongside DEG, FINNFUND and NORFUND. The financing will be firstly earmarked to support GHL’s debt, which is now carried by FNBG, and, secondly, to support the growth in the bank’s activity, especially for the SME segment, in line with France’s strategy via the Choose Africa initiative. 

Project impact

We estimate that Proparco’s support for this operation will: 

  • Maintain 55 direct jobs and create 15 additional jobs, for a total of 70 direct jobs “attributable” to Proparco’s financing out of FNBG’s 699 direct employees over the next 5 years, including 280 women, and support 4,170 indirect jobs associated with the 85 SMEs and midcaps which may benefit from Proparco’s financing. 
  • Develop the growth of GHL’s  SME activity at FNBG. The institution plans to serve 425 SMEs over the next 5 years and develop its network of branches to better meet the needs of its clients.  
30/04/2020
Date of signature of the project
Ghana
Location
Financing tool
22 864 459 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 25m senior loan
Financing details
First National Bank Ghana Limited
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Au Ghana, le prêt de 25 M USD apporté par Proparco à la First National Bank Ghana Limited (FNBG) s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un financement global de 85 M USD aux côtés de la DEG, FINNFUND et NORFUND. Ce financement soutiendra l’endettement de la banque et accompagnera la croissance de son activité, notamment en faveur du segment des PME.
Présentation du client

First National Bank Ghana (FNBG) est la filiale du Sud-Africain FirstRand (FRL). FRL est le premier groupe bancaire africain par sa capitalisation boursière. FNBG est une banque jeune au Ghana : elle a obtenu sa licence en 2015 et a réellement commencé ses activités en 2017. En tant que banque universelle, FNBG offre des services financiers à tous les segments de la clientèle entreprises allant des PMEs au grands corporates. FNBG sert également le marché retail. Dans le cadre de sa stratégie de croissance sur le marché Ghanéen, FNBG a décidé d'acquérir, fin 2018, la banque GHL. GHL est le spécialiste et leader au Ghana sur le marché du prêt immobilier principalement aux près des ménages modestes.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en la mise en place d’une ligne de crédit sénior d’un montant de 25 millions USD en faveur de FNBG. Le prêt apporté par Proparco s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un financement global de 85 M USD aux côtés de la DEG, FINNFUND et NORFUND. Le financement sera destiné d’une part  à soutenir l’endettement de GHL, dorénavant porté par FNBG et d’autre part à accompagner la croissance de l'activité de la banque, notamment en faveur du segment des PME en cohérence avec la stratégie française à travers l'initiative Choose Africa. 

Impact du projet

Nous estimons que le soutien de Proparco à cette opération permettra :

  • Le maintien de 55 emplois directs et la création de 15 emplois supplémentaires pour un total de 70 emplois directs « attribuables » au financement de Proparco sur les 699 employés directs de FNBG d’ici 5 ans, dont 280 femmes, ainsi que le soutien de 4 170 emplois indirects associés aux 85 PMEs et ETI qui pourront bénéficier du financement de Proparco.
  • Le développement de la croissance d’activité de GHL au sein de FNBG auprès des PME. L’institution prévoit de servir 425 PME d’ici 5 ans et de développer son réseau d’agences pour mieux couvrir les besoins de ses clients.
30/04/2020
Date de signature du projet
Ghana
Localisation
Outils de financement
22 864 459 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt senior de 25 MUSD
Details du financement
First National Bank Ghana Limited
Client
CES