• logo linkedin
  • logo email
In South Africa, Proparco, via a USD 50m loan to FirstRand Bank, is supporting the “agriculture transformation" by promoting access to land for non-white farmers. The agriculture transformation helps reduce inequalities and contributes to ensuring food security.
Client presentation

FirstRand Bank Ltd (FRB) is the second largest South African bank by the size of its balance sheet (equiv. to USD 88bn at 30/06/2019). FirstRand holds a leading position in financing the agricultural sector thanks to its FNB and WesBank brands. 

Project description

The project involves supporting FirstRand’s development in agriculture transformation via a USD 50m senior credit line with a 12-year maturity. Agriculture transformation, a national priority, aims to extend farmland ownership to non-white populations. The stated objective is to strengthen the country’s stability by reducing the acute inequalities in access to land inherited from the country’s history, as well as food security and rural development. 

Project impact

The project will support the development of a recent FRB activity, agriculture transformation, which is dedicated to Black Economic Empowerment (BEE). It aims to finance agricultural joint ventures (JV) set up and owned by commercial farmers, its employees or other “emerging” farmers. FRB’s agriculture transformation loans finance the acquisition of land, the purchase of livestock, the expansion of production sites, improvements in production unit infrastructure and working capital financing. On the economic front, the project will support the creation and development of small and medium-sized farm businesses jointly owned by emerging and commercial farmers in South Africa. 

14/08/2019
Date of signature of the project
South Africa
Location
Financing tool
44 931 703 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 50m loan
Financing details
FIRSTRAND BANK LIMITED REG.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
En Afrique du sud, Proparco via un prêt de 50 Millions de dollars à la banque Firstrand, soutient la "transformation agricole" en favorisant l'accès à la terre à des agriculteurs non blancs. La transformation agricole participe à la réduction des inégalités et contribue à assurer la sécurité alimentaire.
Présentation du client

FirstRand Bank Ltd (FRB) est la seconde banque sud-africaine par la taille de bilan (équiv. 88 Mds USD au 30/06/2019).FirstRand dispose d’une position de premier plan dans le financement du secteur agricole grâce à ses marques FNB et WesBank.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste à accompagner le développement de FirstRand dans l’« Agriculture transformation » au travers d’une ligne de crédit senior de 50 M USD sur 12 ans. L’ « agriculture transformation », priorité nationale, vise à élargir la détention des terres agricoles aux populations non blanches avec l’objectif affirmé de renforcer la stabilité du pays en réduisant les inégalités très fortes en matière d’accès à la terre héritées de l’histoire du pays, la sécurité alimentaire et le développement rural.

Impact du projet

Le projet viendra soutenir le développement d’une activité récente de FRB, l’activité « transformation agricole », dédiée au Black Economic Empowerment (BEE), laquelle vise à financer des joint-venture (JV) agricoles mises en place et détenues par des fermiers commerciaux, ses salariés ou d’autres agriculteurs « émergents ». Les crédits « transformation agricole » de FRB financent l’acquisition de terres, l’achat de bétail, l’extension de sites de production, l’amélioration des infrastructures des unités de production ou le financement de fonds de roulement. Sur le plan économique, le projet soutiendra la création et le développement de petites et moyennes entreprises agricoles codétenues par des agriculteurs émergents et commerciaux en Afrique du Sud.

14/08/2019
Date de signature du projet
Afrique du Sud
Localisation
Outils de financement
44 931 703 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 50 MUSD
Details du financement
FIRSTRAND BANK LIMITED REG.
Client
CES