• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Parc photovoltaïque
The USD 60m loan allocated by Proparco is for Engie to develop 2 wind farms and 4 photovoltaic solar power plants, in partnership with Tokyo Gas. It will contribute to Mexico’s energy transition and to reducing electricity prices in the country.
Client presentation

Engie Group (formerly GDF Suez) is a global energy player and an industry leader in the gas, electricity and energy services sectors. It operates throughout the energy value chain, in electricity and natural gas, from upstream to downstream: 

  • power generation
  • overall infrastructure, particularly for gas
  • integrated solutions

Engie is listed on the Paris and Brussels stock exchanges in the main indexes and is rated A2 stable (Moody’s) / A- stable (S&P) / A stable (Fitch).

Engie is the world’s leading independent power producer with an installed capacity of 103 GW, including 23% (24 GW) of renewables (hydropower, wind energy -4.8 GW-, solar power -1.8 GW-, geothermal energy, biomass, etc.).

Project description

The USD 60m loan allocated by Proparco is for Engie to develop 2 wind farms and 4 photovoltaic solar power plants with a total capacity of 721 MW, in partnership with Tokyo Gas. These assets, whose commissioning will be spread out from early 2019 to mid-2020, benefit from power purchase agreements won in 2016 and 2017 during the second and third bid invitations organized by the Mexican authorities.

Project impact

This project contributes to the objective set by the Mexican Government to produce 35% of the country’s electricity using renewable energies by 2024, which will reduce its dependence on high-emission thermal energies and imports. This project will reduce emissions by over a million tons of CO2 a year. It is also expected to support over 8,800 jobs in Mexico and contribute EUR 181m to Mexico’s GDP during the lifespan of the project.

31/05/2019
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
53 400 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 60m loan
Financing details
BNB Villa Ahumada Solar, S. de R.L. de C.V. / ENGIE Eólica Tres Mesas 3, S.A. de C.V. / Eólica Tres Mesas 4, S. de R.L. de C.V. / ENGIE ABRIL PV, S. DE R.L. DE C.V. / Recursos Solares PV de México IV, S.A. de C.V./ Buenos días Energía, S. de R.L. de C.V.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Parc photovoltaïque
Le prêt de 60 millions de dollars accordé par Proparco porte sur le développement par Engie, associé à Tokyo Gas, de 2 parcs éoliens et 4 centrales solaires photovoltaïques. Il contribuera à la transition énergétique du Mexique et à la baisse des tarifs d’électricité dans le pays.
Présentation du client

Le groupe Engie (ex GDF Suez) est un acteur mondial de l’énergie, industriel de référence dans les métiers du gaz, de l’électricité ainsi que des services à l’énergie. Il est présent sur l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur de l’énergie, en électricité et en gaz naturel, de l’amont à l’aval :

  • production d'électricité
  • infrastructures globales, notamment gazières
  • solutions intégrées

Coté à Paris et Bruxelles, Engie est représenté dans les principaux indices, et est noté A2 stable (Moody’s) / A- stable (S&P) / A stable (Fitch).

Engie est le premier producteur indépendant d’électricité dans le monde avec une capacité installée de 103 GW, dont 23% (24 GW) de renouvelables (hydroélectricité, éolien -4,8 GW-, solaire -1,8 GW-, géothermie, biomasse, etc…). 

Description du projet

Le prêt de 60 millions de dollars accordé par Proparco porte sur le développement par Engie, associé à Tokyo Gas, de 2 parcs éoliens et 4 centrales solaires photovoltaïques d’une capacité totale de 721 MW. Ces actifs, dont la mise en service s'échelonnera de début 2019 à mi-2020, bénéficient de contrats d'achats d'électricité remportés en 2016 et 2017 lors des deuxième et troisième appels d’offres organisés par les autorités mexicaines.

Impact du projet

Ce projet participe à l’objectif fixé par le gouvernement mexicain de produire 35% de l’électricité du pays grâce aux énergies renouvelables d’ici 2024, réduisant ainsi la dépendance du pays aux énergies thermiques émissives et aux importations. Ce projet permettra d’éviter l’émission de plus d’un million de tonnes de CO2 par an, soutiendrait plus de 8 800 emplois au Mexique et participerait au PIB mexicain à hauteur de 181 millions d’euros sur la durée de vie du projet.

31/05/2019
Date de signature du projet
Mexique
Localisation
Outils de financement
53 400 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 60 MUSD
Details du financement
BNB Villa Ahumada Solar, S. de R.L. de C.V. / ENGIE Eólica Tres Mesas 3, S.A. de C.V. / Eólica Tres Mesas 4, S. de R.L. de C.V. / ENGIE ABRIL PV, S. DE R.L. DE C.V. / Recursos Solares PV de México IV, S.A. de C.V./ Buenos días Energía, S. de R.L. de C.V.
Client
CES