• logo linkedin
  • logo email
To support the growth of the association EDFI MC and strengthen its position as a key partner of the European Union (EU), Proparco and its counterpart members of the association (EDFIs) have participated in the capital increase and are now shareholders of the company. This strengthening of EDFI MC consolidates its role with the EU, allowing it to act on behalf of EDFI member institutions and increase their capacity to deploy the EU’s blended finance.
Client presentation

Based in Brussels and set up in 2016, the EDFI (EDFI MC) management company promotes partnerships and closer cooperation with the EU. It manages and coordinates financing facilities allocated to EDFIs by the European Commission, particularly in sectors such as renewable energies and agriculture, for example, via ElectriFI* and AgriFI** programs or, more recently, guarantee instruments. It also manages ICCF (Interact Climate Change Facility) and EFP (European Financing Partners) instruments. This allows EDFIs to increase the impact of their actions and scale up investments in projects more upstream or with a higher risk which they could not do alone.  

Proparco has been a key partner of EDFI MC since it was set up, including as a member of its Board of Directors and ElectriFI and AgriFI Investment Committees. 

Project description

Proparco recently acquired a 12.5% stake in the capital of the EDFI (EDFI MC) management company which manages concessional funds in the name of and on behalf of 15 European Development Finance Institutions (EDFIs), including Proparco. This strategic investment has increased operational cooperation between EDFIs and strengthened their partnership with the European Union. To support the growth of EDFI MC and strengthen its position as a key partner of the European Union, it was essential for more members of the EDFI association to be shareholders of the company. It is for this reason that Proparco, alongside its European counterparts, participated in the capital increase of EDFI MC. Proparco and five other EDFIs now each have a 12.5% shareholding, with the EDFI association holding the remaining 25%. 
The strengthening of EDFI MC consolidates its role among European institutions, allowing it to act on behalf of EDFI member institutions and increase their capacity to deploy the EU’s blended finance.  
    
It is a strategic investment, as it will both increase our capacity to support sectors and activities that DFIs are generally less able to finance alone and further strengthen our partnership with the European Union. EDFI MC is certainly an excellent illustration of what we are able to do at European level to pool capacities and harmonize practices to increase the effectiveness of European external aid and have a greater impact on development.     

Project impact
10/09/2020
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global
Location
Financing tool
160 520 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 160,520.22 equity investment
Financing details
European Development Finance Institutions Mgmt cpy
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Pour soutenir la croissance de l’association EDFI MC et renforcer sa position de partenaire clé de l'Union européenne (UE), Proparco et ses homologues (EDFI) membres de l’association, ont participé à l’augmentation de capital et sont désormais actionnaires de la société. Ce renforcement d’EDFI MC consolide son rôle auprès de l'UE pour lui permettre d’agir au nom des institutions membres de l'EDFI et d'améliorer leur capacité à déployer du financement mixte de l’UE
Présentation du client

Basée à Bruxelles et créée en 2016, la société de gestion EDFI (EDFI MC) promeut les partenariats et une coopération plus étroite avec l'UE. Elle gère et coordonne des facilités de financement accordées par la Commission européenne aux EDFI, notamment sur des secteurs tels que les énergies renouvelables ou l’agriculture via par exemple les programmes ElectriFI* et AgriFI** ou plus récemment des instruments de garantie. Elle gère également les instruments ICCF (Interact Climate Change Facility) ou EFP (European Financing Partners). Cela permet aux EDFI d'accroître l'impact de leurs actions, d'investir davantage et dans des projets plus amonts ou à plus haut risque qu'ils ne pourraient faire seuls. 

Proparco est un partenaire clé d’EDFI MC depuis sa création, notamment en tant que membre de son conseil d'administration et des comités d’investissement d'ElectriFI et d'AgriFI. 

Description du projet

Proparco a récemment pris une participation de 12,5% au capital de la société de gestion EDFI (EDFI MC) qui gère des fonds concessionnels au nom et pour le compte des 15 institutions européennes de financement du développement (EDFI), dont Proparco. Un investissement stratégique qui permet d’accroître la coopération opérationnelle entre les EDFI et de renforcer leur partenariat avec l’Union européenne. Pour soutenir la croissance d’EDFI MC et renforcer sa position de partenaire clé de l'Union européenne, il était essentiel que davantage de membres de l’association EDFI soient actionnaires de la société. C’est pourquoi, Proparco, aux côtés de ses homologues européens, a participé à l'augmentation de capital d’EDFI MC. Désormais, Proparco et cinq autres EDFI sont actionnaires à hauteur de 12,5 % chacun, l'association EDFI détenant les 25 % restants. 
Le renforcement d’EDFI MC consolide son rôle auprès des institutions européennes pour lui permettre d’agir au nom des institutions membres de l'EDFI et d'améliorer leur capacité à déployer du financement mixte de l’UE.

Cet investissement est stratégique car il permettra à la fois d'accroître nos capacités à soutenir des secteurs et des activités que les DFI sont généralement moins à même de pouvoir financer seules, et de renforcer encore notre partenariat avec l'Union européenne. EDFI MC est sans aucun doute une excellente illustration de ce que nous pouvons faire au niveau européen pour mutualiser les capacités et harmoniser les pratiques pour une meilleure efficacité de l’aide extérieure européenne et un plus grand impact sur le développement.

Impact du projet
09/10/2020
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Etranger
Localisation
Outils de financement
160 520 Euros
Montant du financement
prise de participation de 160 520,22 EUR
Details du financement
European Development Finance Institutions Mgmt cpy
Client
CES