• logo linkedin
  • logo email
djermaya solar
In Chad, Proparco is participating in financing the Djermaya Solar project with EUR 9.3m. This first solar power plant in the country aims to improve access to electricity for thousands of people.
Client presentation

The Djermaya Solar project has been developed by InfraCo Africa, via Anergi Africa Developments Ltd (AADL), with its partner Smart Energies. Denham Capital recently joined the project via Neo Themis as a majority long-term investor.

Project description

The Djermaya Solar project involves the design, financing, construction and operation of a 34 MWc photovoltaic solar power plant, 18 km of interconnection infrastructure and a 4 MWh battery system. It is the first solar power plant in Chad, the first electricity storage infrastructure, and also the first public-private partnership (PPP) in the form of an independent power producer (IPP) in the country.

Project impact

The project should reduce emissions by 45 ktCO2e a year, improve access to electricity for over 430,000 beneficiaries, contribute to a more resilient economy by generating 63.9 GWh of solar electricity locally every year on average, and support 20,600 indirect jobs over the next 5 years.

11/30/2021
Date of signature of the project
Climate co-benefit project
Financing tool
9 300 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 9.3m loan
Financing details
Djermaya CDEN Energy
Client
Head office country
PTD1024
Project number
CES

The content of this project information sheet falls under the sole responsibility of the Proparco and does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the European Union.


This information is given at the time of signature, without prejudice to any developments in the operation/project

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
djermaya solar
Au Tchad, Proparco participe au financement du projet Djermaya Solar à hauteur de 9,3 millions d'euros. Cette première centrale solaire du pays vise à améliorer l'accès à l'électricité pour des milliers d'habitants.
Présentation du client

Le projet Djermaya Solar a été développé par InfraCo Africa, à travers Anergi Africa Developments Ltd (AADL), avec son partenaire Smart Energies. Denham Capital est récemment entré dans le projet en tant qu'investisseur majoritaire à long terme via Neo Themis.

Description du projet

Le projet Djermaya Solar consiste en la conception, le financement, la construction et l'exploitation d’une centrale solaire photovoltaïque de 34 MWc, d'une infrastructure d'interconnexion de 18 km et d'un système de batteries de 4 MWh. Première centrale solaire au Tchad, première infrastructure de stockage d'électricité, c'est aussi le premier partenariat public-privé (PPP) sous la forme d'un producteur indépendant d'électricité (IPP) dans le pays.

Impact du projet

Le projet devrait permettre d’éviter l'émission de 45 ktCO2e par an, améliorer l’accès à l’électricité de plus de 430 000 bénéficiaires,  contribuer à une économie plus résiliente en produisant localement 68,7 GWh d'électricité solaire chaque année en moyenne et soutenir 16 700 emplois indirects d'ici 5 ans. 

30/11/2021
Date de signature du projet
Tchad
Localisation
Outils de financement
9 300 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 9,3 MEUR
Details du financement
Djermaya CDEN Energy
Client
CES

Le contenu de cette fiche projet relève de la seule responsabilité de Proparco et ne reflète pas nécessairement les opinions de l’Union européenne.

Ces informations sont données au moment de la signature et ne préjugent pas de l’évolution de l’opération/projet.