Proparco is supporting digital inclusion in Africa via an equity investment in the Convergence Partners Digital Infrastructure Fund

Multi-country Global South Africa Cameroon Ghana Nigeria
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is contributing to the development of technological infrastructure in Sub-Saharan Africa via a USD 15m equity investment in the Convergence Partners Digital Infrastructure Fund (CPDIF).
Client presentation

Convergence Partners, which was set up in 2006, is an investment management company focused on the TMT sector in Africa. Convergence Partners has a proven track record in developing new investment opportunities and creating added value for investments throughout the asset life cycle.

As an impact investor, Convergence Partners provides its expertise, experience and capital to accelerate access to communications and develop ITC infrastructure in Africa, by focusing on initiatives that increase access to communications for African people.

Project description

Convergence Partners Digital Infrastructure Fund (CPDIF) is an investment fund focused on investments in technological infrastructure throughout Sub-Saharan Africa. CPDIF is a USD 250m vehicle that aims to generate returns by capitalizing on the investment opportunity resulting from the digital transformation and fourth industrial revolution in Africa.

The Fund will seek to acquire strategic minority holdings with trusted and aligned partners with which it will exercise an effective joint control, or significant controlling interests, as the case may be. Convergence Partners anticipates that the Fund will invest in 8 to 12 companies with a standard investment size ranging between USD 20m and USD 30m.

Project impact

The CPDIF project will contribute to digital inclusion in Sub-Saharan Africa by supporting the growth of  8 to 12 companies operating in the ITC sector. CPDIF will mainly focus on investments in digital infrastructure (fiber, 4G/5G, deployment of IoT/sensor networks, data centers, etc.), with a secondary objective of investing in data-based economic models (services using AI and big data).

The project is expected to support some 3,000 direct jobs from now until 2025 in the companies the Fund has invested in. A few years ago, Convergence introduced the Convergence Partners Sira impact model which measures investment performance via four pillars: Capital contribution, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and activities, Location and people and, finally, the Financial impact factor. The project will thereby contribute to SDG 8 (Decent work and economic growth) and SDG 9 (Industry, innovation and infrastructure).

06/14/2021
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Multi-country Global South Africa Cameroon Ghana Nigeria
Location
Financing tool
12 720 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 15m equity subscription
Financing details
Convergence Partners Digital Infrastructure Fund
Client
CES

Via une prise de participation dans Convergence Partners Digital Infrastructure Fund, Proparco soutient l'inclusion numérique en Afrique

Multi-Pays Etranger Afrique du Sud Cameroun Ghana Nigéria
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco, à travers une prise de participation de 15 millions USD dans Convergence Partners Digital Infrastructure Fund (CPDIF), participe au développement des infrastructures technologiques en Afrique subsaharienne.
Présentation du client

Convergence Partners, fondée en 2006, est une société de gestion d'investissement axée sur le secteur TMT en Afrique. Convergence Partners a fait ses preuves dans le développement de nouvelles opportunités d'investissement ainsi que dans la création de valeur ajoutée aux investissements tout au long du cycle de vie des actifs.

En tant qu'investisseurs d'impact, Convergence Partners apporte ses compétences, son expérience et son capital pour accélérer l'accès aux communications et le développement des infrastructures TIC sur le continent, en se concentrant sur des initiatives qui augmentent l’accès aux communications pour les populations africaines.

Description du projet

Convergence Partners Digital Infrastructure Fund (CPDIF) est un fonds d'investissement axé sur l'investissement dans les infrastructures technologiques dans toute l'Afrique subsaharienne. Le CPDIF est un véhicule de 250 millions de dollars qui vise à générer des rendements en capitalisant sur l'opportunité d'investissement résultant de la transformation numérique et de la quatrième révolution industrielle en Afrique.

Le Fonds cherchera à acquérir des participations minoritaires stratégiques avec des partenaires de confiance et alignés avec lesquels il exercera efficacement un contrôle conjoint, ou des intérêts significatifs de contrôle, le cas échéant. Convergence Partners prévoit que le Fonds investira dans huit à douze sociétés avec une taille d'investissement standard allant de 20 à 30 millions de dollars US.

Impact du projet

Le projet CPDIF contribuera à l'inclusion numérique en Afrique subsaharienne en soutenant la croissance de 8 à 12 entreprises opérant dans le secteur des TIC. CPDIF se concentrera principalement sur l'investissement dans les infrastructures numériques (fibre, 4G/5G, déploiements de réseaux IoT/capteurs, centres de données, etc.) avec un objectif secondaire d'investir dans des modèles économiques basés sur les données (services utilisant l'IA et le big data).

Le projet devrait soutenir près de 3 000 emplois directs d'ici 2025 au niveau des entreprises dans lesquelles le Fonds aura investi. Convergence a mis en place il y a quelques années le modèle d'impact Convergence Partners Sira qui mesure les résultats des investissements à travers quatre piliers : Contribution en capital, Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) et activités, Lieux et personnes et enfin Facteur d'impact financier. Le projet contribuera ainsi à l'ODD 8 (Travail décent et croissance économique) et à l'ODD 9 (Industrie, innovation et infrastructure).

14/06/2021
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Multi-Pays Etranger Afrique du Sud Cameroun Ghana Nigéria
Localisation
Outils de financement
12 720 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Souscription en fonds propres de 15 MUSD
Details du financement
Convergence Partners Digital Infrastructure Fund
Client
CES