Proparco is supporting the growth of innovative start-ups in Africa

Multi-country Global South Africa Egypt Kenya Nigeria
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is reaffirming its support for start-ups in Africa through a EUR 7m equity investment in AfricInvest. The objective of this pan-African venture capital fund will be to support, via a flexible and non-financial contribution (governance), twenty or so start-ups developing innovative business models in order to finance their growth and scale-up.
Client presentation

AfricInvest is a leading player in private equity dedicated to Africa and more particularly Sub-Saharan Africa. The company currently has EUR 1.5bn under management and offices in six countries. Since it was set up, the company has invested in over 150 companies in 25 African countries. 

Project description

The objective of Cathay AfricInvest Innovation Fund LLC, a pan-African venture capital fund with a target size of EUR 120m, will be to support, via a flexible financial contribution  (equity, quasi-equity), an incremental contribution (multi-rounds) and non-financial contribution (governance, ESIG), twenty or so start-ups developing innovative business models which have got through the stages of ideation (prototyping) and creation (market launch and generation of turnover) in order to finance their growth and scale-up. 

Project impact

The project’s main expected development outcomes are: 
- The diversification of the capital market, as sources of financing for start-ups are still very scarce in the region, 
- The diversification of capital allocation, as the services offered by the companies supported will include periurban and rural areas, 
- The social and societal impacts by opening up access (financial and geographical) to certain essential services, 
- Training (structuring of a venture capital industry, advice to entrepreneurs, etc.),
- Support for some 6,000 indirect jobs in fifteen or so young companies and start-ups over the next 5 years, including 650 women’s jobs and 2,350 jobs created under the impetus of the fund’s equity investments. 

18/10/2019
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global South Africa Egypt Kenya Nigeria
Location
Financing tool
7 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 7m equity investment
Financing details
Africinvest Cathay Innovation Management
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Via une prise de participation de 7 000 000 d'euros dans AfricInvest, Proparco réarffirme son soutien aux jeunes entreprises en Afrique. Ce fonds de capital risque panafricain aura pour objectif d’accompagner, via un apport financier flexible et extra-financier (gouvernance), une vingtaine de jeunes entreprises développant des business model innovants afin d’en financer la croissance et la mise à l’échelle.
Présentation du client

AfricInvest est un acteur leader du capital-investissement dédié à l’Afrique et plus particulièrement à l’Afrique Sub-Saharienne. La société compte aujourd'hui 1,5 Mds€ sous gestion, des bureaux dans six pays. Depuis sa création, la société a investi auprès de plus de 150 entreprises dans 25 pays africains.

Description du projet

Cathay AfricInvest Innovation Fund LLC, fonds de capital risque panafricain d’une taille cible de 120 MEUR, aura pour objectif d’accompagner, via un apport financier flexible (equity, quasi-equity), progressif (multi-rounds) et extra-financier (gouvernance, ESIG) une vingtaine de jeunes entreprises développant des business model innovants ayant franchi les stades idéation (prototypage) et création (mise sur le marché et génération de chiffre d’affaires) afin d’en financer la croissance et la mise à l’échelle.

Impact du projet

Les principaux effets attendus du projet sur le développement sont :
- La diversification du marché des capitaux, les sources de financement en faveur des start-ups étant encore très rares dans la région,
- La diversification de l'allocation du capital car l'offre proposée par les sociétés accompagnées intègrera les zones péri-urbaines et rurales,
- Les effets sociaux et sociétaux en déverrouillant l'accès (financier et géographique) de certains services essentiels,
- La formation (structuration d'une industrie du capital-risque, conseil aux start-upers, etc.).
- Le soutien de près de 6 000 emplois indirects au sein d’une quinzaine de jeunes entreprises et start-up d’ici 5 ans, dont 650 emplois féminins et 2350 emplois créés sous l’impulsion des prises de capitaux du fonds ; 

18/10/2019
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Etranger Afrique du Sud Egypte Kenya Nigéria
Localisation
Outils de financement
7 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 7 MEUR
Details du financement
Africinvest Cathay Innovation Management
Client
CES